Customer Reviews for

The Bourne Identity (Bourne Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

So much better than the movie...

I used to hate reading. My philosophy was why take days/weeks to read a book when I could watch a movie in about 2.5 hours?

I have owned the Bourne Trilogy DVDs since The Bourne Ultimatum came out. I love the movies, but the book is so much better. Mr. Ludlum, God...
I used to hate reading. My philosophy was why take days/weeks to read a book when I could watch a movie in about 2.5 hours?

I have owned the Bourne Trilogy DVDs since The Bourne Ultimatum came out. I love the movies, but the book is so much better. Mr. Ludlum, God rest his soul, is a great writer! There were times I literally could not put the book down and could not wait to pick it up again. It is action packed and suspenseful. I just finished The Bourne Identity and bought The Bourne Supremacy today. I plan on reading the entire series.

Take it from someone who used to love to watch the movie instead of reading the book...BUY THE BOOK! I do have to admit that watching the movie helped me visualize the fighting moves that are mentioned in the book.

posted by vstrother on September 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

how in the hell are the 1st 3 books not on nook is beyond me.

how in the hell are the 1st 3 books not on nook is beyond me.

posted by wdawg on April 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    So much better than the movie...

    I used to hate reading. My philosophy was why take days/weeks to read a book when I could watch a movie in about 2.5 hours?

    I have owned the Bourne Trilogy DVDs since The Bourne Ultimatum came out. I love the movies, but the book is so much better. Mr. Ludlum, God rest his soul, is a great writer! There were times I literally could not put the book down and could not wait to pick it up again. It is action packed and suspenseful. I just finished The Bourne Identity and bought The Bourne Supremacy today. I plan on reading the entire series.

    Take it from someone who used to love to watch the movie instead of reading the book...BUY THE BOOK! I do have to admit that watching the movie helped me visualize the fighting moves that are mentioned in the book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    Praise for The Bourne Identity

    The Bourne Identity<BR/><BR/><BR/> The book begins as a half-dead man with his body bloodied and ridden with five bullets expertly placed in his back, is dragged from somewhere in the Mediterranean Sea onto an old trawler in the middle of one of the largest storms seen in a long time. Less than three hours earlier he was shot and thrown into the sea by people intent on killing him for reasons he does not know or remember. Their mistake is in believing him to be dead. The man eventually finds himself in Zurich and discovers three things. One, his name is Jason Bourne; two, he works for a covert company called Treadstone; and three, he is being hunted down by an international assassin named Carlos for reasons he does not know. Names, pictures, and places trigger flashbacks and memories as he tries to figure out his identity. Throughout the book, Jason sees traps before they happen. When necessary he dismantles and kills people it seconds. He does things that one would never expect or believe possible for a man with amnesia. This book is a book of survival, instinct and skill. And it¿s about one man that has lost his memory and can do unnatural things. This book is about Jason Bourne finding his identity. <BR/> I immensely enjoyed this book, it is mature, exciting, and nothing in comparison to the movie that came out in 2002 by Universal Studios. I highly recommend it for young adults of 14 and up, but only if they are mature and knowledgeable readers. The book is an advanced read that is fast-paced and action-packed. But before reading this book, please remember it was written in 1980. Therefore, it is not as technologically advanced as what you see in the movie. Universal ¿revamped¿ the whole series to make it more appealing to a modern audience. I give this novel a ¿two thumbs up¿. If you choose to read this amazing work by Robert Ludlum, I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.<BR/><BR/>Ludlum, Robert. The Bourne Identity. New York: Bantam, 1980.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Bourne Identity By Robert Ludlum Off a small island in the

    The Bourne Identity
    By Robert Ludlum

    Off a small island in the Mediterranean a man is found floating in the ocean. The man has no memory of who he is and how he came to be floating in the ocean clinging to a plank. He is taken to a doctor who has been tending to him upon his awakening the doctor tries to help him remember the man has had extensive facial reconstruction and something implanted in his hip that has a bank account number on it. The man follows the bank account lead and begins to discover very odd things about himself, that he has an uncanny knowledge of how to kill without being detected, how to blend in to his surroundings and even how to change his appearance so thoroughly no one will recognize him, but how does he know these things?

    I have never seen any of the Bourne movies and this is my first spy novel so I had no idea what to expect. I guess I didn&rsquo;t expect there to be so much discussion on every little thing and I had thought there would be a lot more action. There were times when I desperately wanted to tell the author to get to the point, or at least back to the fun action parts, but when it did come to the action it was so well written and intense I would feel even more irritated when I had to sit through more debate. Not only was this novel a brilliant action packed story but also a love story, Jason Bourne meets takes a woman hostage but then the hostage begins to be his only ally and the bond they form is remarkable. This was a well written and thoroughly addictive story.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    I am a highschool student who has never enjoyed or finished an a

    I am a highschool student who has never enjoyed or finished an assigned book from my school, and my senior english class, allows the student to choose any book they want to read. After watching the entire Bourne Trilogy over the summer, and having loved the movies, i decided i was going to give the book a chance. I finished this book, and it was amazing. It was difficult for me to put it down, and i even had some teachers tell me to stop reading during class and pay attention to their lectures. The Bourne Identity novel is taking the movie and adding so much more to the plot and characters. What i am saying is that Jason Bourne from the movie is just a scratch of the surface to what Jason Bourne from the book is. I will most definitely be picking up the next book in this series as soon as i can,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Carmen

    Love the action in the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Jason

    He died...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    frist

    Greet frist book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Jason

    Gtg bbl

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Bjorn

    Hey connie i will be on soon <3

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    One ofLudlum's best

    This is one of my favorate books. Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Movies are awesome

    Epic movies

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Review

    Really adventurous. A good read. I really enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    amazing

    amazing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Will either love it or hate it

    The Bourne Identity is a book that you will either love or hate. It may start out as a bit slow, but as soon as you get into it, you will have a hard time putting it down. All the time I had to choose between going to bed and reading another chapter. Easily my favorite book that I have ever read, and I highly recommend it. It is entirely different from the movies, but it is just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    Very thrilling-it will keep you on the edge the entire time!

    If you love action, conspiracy, and a little love mixed in, this is the book for you. Jason Bourne takes you on an adventure around the world that will make it hard for you to put the book down. Tough read, and it makes you think but the twists and turns will suck you right in like a tractor beam. The movies are good but the book is incredible. It has so much more conspiracy and is very compelling. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    Bourne Identity

    After watching the movies I started reading the books. I am usually a fantasy reader but this book has really got me started on a whole different kind of reading. This book is fast paced, originall, and very well written. The plot is fantastic and will have you surprised at every turn. I highly recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best book ever

    This is a fantastic book for when you need a change in writing styles, story line, and genre. Best action spot ever written is in the very beginning and somehow Robert Ludlum keeps you hooked until the very last word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bourne Idenity

    I have read quite a few of Robert Ludlum's Books. My all time favorite was the Bourne Idenity. I was really excited to see the movie when it came out. I was really disappointed. The movie didn't follow the book at all. I walked out of the theatre about half way through the movie. I do like Robert Ludlum's books. The Bourne trilogy was my favorite three of all his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Bourne Identity

    Let me start off by saying that many movies that are based on novels, with a few exceptions, are very different and the novel in most cases is much better. However, in this case, the book and the movie were so opposite from each other that they are almost completely different. I saw all three of the movies before I read this book and I love all of them and I expected to know everything that would happen in the book before it happened. Boy was I wrong. There are maybe a handful of characters that are in both the book and the movie (in the book there is another antagonist, the rival assasin Carlos). I absolutley loved this book and the writing stly was very good considering it's a spy novel and not a Cormac McCarthy novel. Not that I thought that spy novelists are bad writers, it's just that I wasn't expecting it to be this good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7