Customer Reviews for

The Bourne Identity (Bourne Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Praise for The Bourne Identity

The Bourne Identity


The book begins as a half-dead man with his body bloodied and ridden with five bullets expertly placed in his back, is dragged from somewhere in the Mediterranean Sea onto an old trawler in the middle of one of the largest storms ...
The Bourne Identity


The book begins as a half-dead man with his body bloodied and ridden with five bullets expertly placed in his back, is dragged from somewhere in the Mediterranean Sea onto an old trawler in the middle of one of the largest storms seen in a long time. Less than three hours earlier he was shot and thrown into the sea by people intent on killing him for reasons he does not know or remember. Their mistake is in believing him to be dead. The man eventually finds himself in Zurich and discovers three things. One, his name is Jason Bourne; two, he works for a covert company called Treadstone; and three, he is being hunted down by an international assassin named Carlos for reasons he does not know. Names, pictures, and places trigger flashbacks and memories as he tries to figure out his identity. Throughout the book, Jason sees traps before they happen. When necessary he dismantles and kills people it seconds. He does things that one would never expect or believe possible for a man with amnesia. This book is a book of survival, instinct and skill. And it¿s about one man that has lost his memory and can do unnatural things. This book is about Jason Bourne finding his identity.
I immensely enjoyed this book, it is mature, exciting, and nothing in comparison to the movie that came out in 2002 by Universal Studios. I highly recommend it for young adults of 14 and up, but only if they are mature and knowledgeable readers. The book is an advanced read that is fast-paced and action-packed. But before reading this book, please remember it was written in 1980. Therefore, it is not as technologically advanced as what you see in the movie. Universal ¿revamped¿ the whole series to make it more appealing to a modern audience. I give this novel a ¿two thumbs up¿. If you choose to read this amazing work by Robert Ludlum, I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

Ludlum, Robert. The Bourne Identity. New York: Bantam, 1980.

posted by CommanderTuvok on October 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

how in the hell are the 1st 3 books not on nook is beyond me.

how in the hell are the 1st 3 books not on nook is beyond me.

posted by wdawg on April 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Review

    Really adventurous. A good read. I really enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Adventure, mystery, fun

    Entertaining read. I wish I could think my way out of a bad situation like he does. Looking forward to reading more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    amazing

    amazing

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Will either love it or hate it

    The Bourne Identity is a book that you will either love or hate. It may start out as a bit slow, but as soon as you get into it, you will have a hard time putting it down. All the time I had to choose between going to bed and reading another chapter. Easily my favorite book that I have ever read, and I highly recommend it. It is entirely different from the movies, but it is just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Very, Very, Good- Good book for big Suspense readers!!!

    Yes, This book was very good. I'm putting it out plain and bold to everyone who reads this! Yes this story has an amazing plot with a series of connections going out like tree limbs into different parts of the story. Some ending, some still growing. It comes with many twists in the story. This book has a precise line of events. But with there series of big and complicated words makes it hard to understand what is happening to them. And with every twist it sucks you into the book. It brings you into the book as each character life goes. you can always tell the difference because some people in the story have their story go on for a short time unlike the main characters who have there's going on for quite a while with there story. Overall the story of Bourne Identity is actually two different stories. But as the story progress's they come together. But i would say that with the adult content, complicated words and switching of stories. It is a very hard one to read and requires that you follow along and read every part. All in all, still the best book i have read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    Very thrilling-it will keep you on the edge the entire time!

    If you love action, conspiracy, and a little love mixed in, this is the book for you. Jason Bourne takes you on an adventure around the world that will make it hard for you to put the book down. Tough read, and it makes you think but the twists and turns will suck you right in like a tractor beam. The movies are good but the book is incredible. It has so much more conspiracy and is very compelling. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Top-Notched, Thrilling Story.

    From Robert Ludlum, Jason Bourne, the hero is brought to life. The author has a gift to bring this character to a stage that you can almost live his life with him, feel his distress and his agony. The story was very captivating and it was a thrilling read.
    When it comes to the "spy" novel, there are few writers that exceed Robert Ludlum's talents. When I finished reading this book I came to this conclusion that most "thriller" writers fall way short.


    The book is fairly long, so set back and enjoy several evenings of an exciting, wonderful story.
    Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Too long

    At the beginning of the novel, a man is shot on a boat and goes overboard into the ocean. He ends up with serious amnesia. A doctor brings him back to health, and realizes that he has had surgery to change his appearance. He knows nothing about himself, and goes to Zurich in search of some clues. He goes by Jason Bourne, and realizes that many people are out to kill him, especially this one man, Carlos. As the book goes on, Bourne begins to remember things about his past and who he is. Jason has machine-like skills in killing, and spends his time running and killing.
    The book is definitely a thriller, but way too long. I saw the movies, so I thought the book would be a good one. Turns out they are not very similar. I was not disappointed though. The book is good and capturing, with Jason Bourne never to disappoint.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Lots Better than the movie!

    As a friend of mine and I talked about the "Bourne" movies he told me to consider reading the books. He said the storyline and plot was much better. Having read the Bourne Identity, I am amazed at how much different the stories are. Besides a few of the characters sharing the same names as the movie version, the two renditions are not similar at all. In this book, Jason Bourne has amnesia and the woman he partners with is named Marie but he ends up in a battle of wits with the most accomplished assassin in the world (Carlos) and not so much with Treadstone. The moves and counter moves of the two men trying to draw each other into a trap are fascinating.
    If you're a fan of spy novels, of mystery and intrigue, I highly recommend The Bourne Identity to you. I plan on reading the "Supremacy" and the "Ultimatum" as soon as I can get my hands on them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    Bourne Identity

    After watching the movies I started reading the books. I am usually a fantasy reader but this book has really got me started on a whole different kind of reading. This book is fast paced, originall, and very well written. The plot is fantastic and will have you surprised at every turn. I highly recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best book ever

    This is a fantastic book for when you need a change in writing styles, story line, and genre. Best action spot ever written is in the very beginning and somehow Robert Ludlum keeps you hooked until the very last word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bourne Idenity

    I have read quite a few of Robert Ludlum's Books. My all time favorite was the Bourne Idenity. I was really excited to see the movie when it came out. I was really disappointed. The movie didn't follow the book at all. I walked out of the theatre about half way through the movie. I do like Robert Ludlum's books. The Bourne trilogy was my favorite three of all his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Bourne Identity

    Let me start off by saying that many movies that are based on novels, with a few exceptions, are very different and the novel in most cases is much better. However, in this case, the book and the movie were so opposite from each other that they are almost completely different. I saw all three of the movies before I read this book and I love all of them and I expected to know everything that would happen in the book before it happened. Boy was I wrong. There are maybe a handful of characters that are in both the book and the movie (in the book there is another antagonist, the rival assasin Carlos). I absolutley loved this book and the writing stly was very good considering it's a spy novel and not a Cormac McCarthy novel. Not that I thought that spy novelists are bad writers, it's just that I wasn't expecting it to be this good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Great Book

    A real page turner.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Too Convoluted

    As an aspiring author of fiction, I found this book extremely convoluting. The movie is so far away from the book. The book was very difficult for me to get through. I had to force myself to get to the end because I paid for the book. I had planned on getting the remaining two novels but will pass.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Great Read

    Really bored one day, so I picked it up, and read it in hours. Facinated me with the detail he wrote with. I suggest it to readers with an interest in action / suspense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    Slow read

    I personally felt this book took forever to get into. It was slow and repetitive 'especially the 'Cain is for Charlie and Delta is for Cain' line'. My Wife ended up buying me the other two from Ludlum, I read about a chapter and haven't picked it up again yet.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was a good book and it did exactly what it was supposed to do and that is be entertaining. The book is a fast read that keeps the pages turning. I enjoyed this book and would suggest it to anyone who wants a fast paced action/ thriller to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2008

    A reviewer

    i am very strict about what i read and i stick to the classics. stuck in another country, though, you take what english books you get. needless to say i was reluctant to start on spy novels, especially after the movies came out and didnt phase me. however, this series CHANGED MY LIFE. I was excited for the entire period of time over which i read this trilogy and read even walking to the bathroom. This, and the next two in the series, are great books to read with friends and get really into, try to read Ultimatum if you're in Moscow. If you really love the series stay away from the newer non-Ludlum variety

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    the bourne identity

    Personally I believe this novel is outstanding. This book had excitement,action,and adventure everywhere inside. I'm one of those people who saw the movie first, but the books are just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12