Customer Reviews for

Bowery Songs

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    All This Amazing Grace

    On this live recording (New York City at the Bowery Ballroom 11/06/04) Joan Baez sings Greg Brown’s composition “Rexroth’s Daughter”, a song full of a lifetime’s worth of insightful lyrics. One phrase that stood out specifically to me as I listened to it on this particular recording was: “If you try to swallow what they shove at us you run out of tears to cry I heard a man speak quietly I listened for awhile He spoke from his heart to my woe then he bowed and smiled What is real but compassion as we move from birth to death?” Compassion is woven throughout Joan’s performance here, as she sings quietly, sweetly, sadly, and strongly, of age-old woes, dreams, hopes, and the desire for peace, both personal and political. What is most central to the success of this record is Joan’s voice. It is up front & center in the mix, where it rightfully belongs. Joan has now lived 64 of those years “from birth to death”, and her vast amount of experiences (personal and musical) is reflected in her knowing interpretations of these achingly beautiful songs. As Greg Brown also writes in “Rexroth’s Daughter” “…pray that we will find a way to get with all this amazing grace.” Listen to Joan Baez’s “Bowery Song’s” awhile, and you’ll find that it’s a great place to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Baez Still Shines

    On her latest live recording -- a document of her fall 2004 concert tour -- Joan Baez handily retains her legendary status as she works her way beautifully through a well- chosen repertoire of both old classics and recent compositions. Baez's voice still amazes and thrills, as she demonstrates an upper register that continues to raise goose bumps in its fifth decade -- and that now coexists alongside an amazingly enhanced lower range. From the revisiting of her first album via "Silver Dagger," through pulse-quickening social statements such as "Joe Hill" and "Deportee," up to new gems "Finlandia" and "Jerusalem," this is Joan Baez at her age-defying best. A must- have for existing Baez fans and any lovers of classic musical talent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1