Customer Reviews for

The Boxcar Children (The Boxcar Children Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 410 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(309)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

The Boxcar Children is a story that will stay with the reader for years!

I read this book as a child - only the first in the series - but it has been a favorite book for 40 years plus now! It delightfully engages the reader's imagination and holds you captive till the outcome. It was a must read for my children and they equally loved it. ...
I read this book as a child - only the first in the series - but it has been a favorite book for 40 years plus now! It delightfully engages the reader's imagination and holds you captive till the outcome. It was a must read for my children and they equally loved it. We highly recommend it.

posted by EclecticReader50 on November 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This is a good book!

The book makes you feel like you are really there.

posted by 10478824 on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 412 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Boxcar Children is a story that will stay with the reader for years!

    I read this book as a child - only the first in the series - but it has been a favorite book for 40 years plus now! It delightfully engages the reader's imagination and holds you captive till the outcome. It was a must read for my children and they equally loved it. We highly recommend it.

    38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    classic

    this is a classic and still one of my most favorite kids books i have ever read. i have never read the rest of the series. if you have never read this one, you should. it is a great story!

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    myOWNperson55

    Dear reader, If you are asking yourself " should I really buy this book?", don't hesitate... buy it! It has excitement, adventure, and it's original. But, it is a pretty, short book. But it is very cheap too. What is it... 4 bucks? You make the decision yourself but I recommend you read it A NOTE FROM ME: Be you! Express YOUR inner character and find ways You can change the world! P.S. If you like my reviews( which have special "feel good" quotes) go to Nancy Drew books. I write reviews there.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Good book

    I loved these books as a child and now i'm reading them as an adult.

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Boxcat children

    This is really amazing book.I could not stop reading it.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Awesome

    One of the best books iv ever read, and i have read lots of books. It was sooooooooooooooooooo good. Im gald he leant me that book!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    The Boxcar Children

    The Boxcar Children is a great book. My sister hates to read, but she likes these books.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    Great!

    Great! Wonderful read!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Awsome

    It is like they went back in time for this. The rest are more modern.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    So good i cant even put it into words...kinda

    I have literley read this 12 times it is so good

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Hey I

    I love these books there awesome:)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    They should make these books into a MOVIE!!

    I remember my sister and I reading these books when we were younger... I loved the adventure in it. I hope they make these books into a movie!! I would be thrilled to see this on the big screen!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Awesome

    I like all the adventure

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Buddha

    This book was amazing! It was so real!!! I read it in one day. I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN!!!!!! Please consider this affordable and wonderful book by my favorite childrens author.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Aweome book... one of my favorites

    Anyone who wants a good read should try this. Is not too expensive or to long, would recommend age 7-10/11 maybe. It's hard to keep track of all the books though, there are so many. Hope this helps!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Love This book

    If you like a good mystery yoy will LOVE The Boxcar Children i love it soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much thanks Merissa

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    it was a great book

    its good because there are these 4 children that go on an adventure .
    there always trying to solve a mystery .

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Always good!

    I still love the boxcar children and will never forget what they mean to me. A must read for any young child, don't doubt this quartet of children and teir dog, they are alwats ready for adventure! -Teenreviews

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    The best mystery book The best mystery series ever.

    You should really read this book. It shows a lot of detail surprises. It may seem like its not but it really is a fantastic book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Boxcar children

    Iloved the book. I am a big mystery fan. My first grade teacher read them to us. And since I have been reading them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 412 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21