BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Boxcar Children (The Boxcar Children Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 387 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(294)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

The Boxcar Children is a story that will stay with the reader for years!

I read this book as a child - only the first in the series - but it has been a favorite book for 40 years plus now! It delightfully engages the reader's imagination and holds you captive till the outcome. It was a must read for my children and they equally loved it. ...
I read this book as a child - only the first in the series - but it has been a favorite book for 40 years plus now! It delightfully engages the reader's imagination and holds you captive till the outcome. It was a must read for my children and they equally loved it. We highly recommend it.

posted by EclecticReader50 on November 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This is a good book!

The book makes you feel like you are really there.

posted by 10478824 on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Boxcar Children is a story that will stay with the reader for years!

    I read this book as a child - only the first in the series - but it has been a favorite book for 40 years plus now! It delightfully engages the reader's imagination and holds you captive till the outcome. It was a must read for my children and they equally loved it. We highly recommend it.

    39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    classic

    this is a classic and still one of my most favorite kids books i have ever read. i have never read the rest of the series. if you have never read this one, you should. it is a great story!

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    myOWNperson55

    Dear reader, If you are asking yourself " should I really buy this book?", don't hesitate... buy it! It has excitement, adventure, and it's original. But, it is a pretty, short book. But it is very cheap too. What is it... 4 bucks? You make the decision yourself but I recommend you read it A NOTE FROM ME: Be you! Express YOUR inner character and find ways You can change the world! P.S. If you like my reviews( which have special "feel good" quotes) go to Nancy Drew books. I write reviews there.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Boxcat children

    This is really amazing book.I could not stop reading it.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    The Boxcar Children

    The Boxcar Children is a great book. My sister hates to read, but she likes these books.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    Great!

    Great! Wonderful read!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    So good i cant even put it into words...kinda

    I have literley read this 12 times it is so good

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Hey I

    I love these books there awesome:)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Aweome book... one of my favorites

    Anyone who wants a good read should try this. Is not too expensive or to long, would recommend age 7-10/11 maybe. It's hard to keep track of all the books though, there are so many. Hope this helps!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Love This book

    If you like a good mystery yoy will LOVE The Boxcar Children i love it soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much thanks Merissa

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    The best mystery book The best mystery series ever.

    You should really read this book. It shows a lot of detail surprises. It may seem like its not but it really is a fantastic book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    The boxcar children

    Love it!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Go boxcar children

    Boxcar children rock

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    What's next

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Fountain

    Shockfang:
    Good day to you. I am a she-cat called Starfall. I want you to join my clan.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Hi

    Rwgh

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    K.s.c.

    It ROCKS!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Skylers revew

    I love this book:) its the first boxcar children book i read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    The box cart children

    I love this book i read it in third grade

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15