Customer Reviews for

The Boy I Loved Before

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thoughtful!

    I really enjoyed this book! It is definitely a different spin on going back in time! I love the way things fit together, and the author really makes you think about your own life- things to be happy about, and things you might could change. Definitely a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not A Fan Of TIme Travel

    I really have enjoyed reading her books lately. This one was a "go back in time" book which are not my favorite. It was a little campy and parts were definitely "flippy flippy" worthy but it was easy and light to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not A Good Book.

    As I read this book, my opinion of it continually changed. First, at the beginning I didn't like it, then I began to like it a little, then again I didn't like it, then I really began to like it, and then at the end I hated it. This book is crazy and kind of sick. I mean, Flora supposedly cares about and maybe still loves Clelland and then she uses and takes advantage of his little brother (SICK!!! AND SO VERY, VERY WRONG). And I don't like the ending because it seems like the author just tied up the loose ends carelessly, just threw whatever characters together. Some parts of this book were okay and funny so I don't really regret reading it, but I still don't like this book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you!

    I read this book on a cruise I took my senior year in college. Because this book was all about living life the way you want, not the way you think you should, I took a chance with a guy I met onboard and now, four years later, we're married with two amazing children. Seroiusly, if I hadn't been reading this book, who knows? Anyway, it's great escapism, but has a good message. Great book, easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    a good read

    This book was not exactly what i expected, but i thought it was wonderful non-the-less. I would recommend it to anyone of my [female] friends. Flora & Tashy are women that a lot of single thirty somethings could relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    So Funny!

    I loved this book as I have loved all of Jenny Colgan's books. Great humor, dailogue and wit with a story anyone can relate to and has surely fantasized about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A charmer

    Thirty something accountant Flora Scurrison seems to have it all making plenty of money though the hours seem endless and having a nice boyfriend Oliver who treats her well. So Flora wonders why life seems unfulfilling and tasteless......................... At the wedding of her best friend Tashy, Oliver proposes. Instead of leaping for joy, Flora wishes she could start over again. To her shock, something magical or a curse occurs; Flora finds herself as a high school sixteen year old, but not back in time. It is still the Bush Junior period, not the Reagan era and Tashy is still getting married next month. Tashy and Oliver are in their thirties though they recognize the sixteen years old Flora. Over the next month Flora relives her teens, but will need to decide between thirty-two and sixteen when Tashy says I do............................. THE BOY I LOVED BEFORE is a refreshing chick lit tale with a few twists that bring an entertaining uniqueness to the story line. Similar in some respects to Peggy Sue Got Married with a Fountain of Youth twist as Jenny Colgan¿s heroine does not go back in time only in age; Flora¿s reliving her school days is amusing to follow as she brings adult knowledge with her. Chick lit fans will enjoy this humorous entry that is based on something many people dream of: a second chance at youth with the knowledge of experience..................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    LOVE IT!

    I absolutley adored this book. I am not a big reader and I read this in 3 days! It simply is a well written exciting novel and I would suggest it to anyone old enough to handle the at times provocative and crude humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1