Customer Reviews for

Boy Meets Boy

Average Rating 4.5
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

ew at the person below me.

As much as you hate "homosexuality thrown at children" i hate people shoving their beliefs down other peoples throats. i dont care how you feel or what your religous background is...dont read these books if it offends your prude self. this book was amazing i wish everyo...
As much as you hate "homosexuality thrown at children" i hate people shoving their beliefs down other peoples throats. i dont care how you feel or what your religous background is...dont read these books if it offends your prude self. this book was amazing i wish everyone was as accepting as most of the characters in this novel.

posted by SuzieCullen on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Poor Translation

I bought the book on my Nook and was very disappointed by the quality of it. Many grammatical errors though out the book. Exclamation marks replaced with "I", end quotes replaced with letters, and spelling errors, ex: whateveV. Book is good, not the translation to th...
I bought the book on my Nook and was very disappointed by the quality of it. Many grammatical errors though out the book. Exclamation marks replaced with "I", end quotes replaced with letters, and spelling errors, ex: whateveV. Book is good, not the translation to the Nook. Whoever published this for Nook, should re-check their work.

posted by MiniAussie on January 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 297 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ew at the person below me.

    As much as you hate "homosexuality thrown at children" i hate people shoving their beliefs down other peoples throats. i dont care how you feel or what your religous background is...dont read these books if it offends your prude self. this book was amazing i wish everyone was as accepting as most of the characters in this novel.

    45 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Poor Translation

    I bought the book on my Nook and was very disappointed by the quality of it. Many grammatical errors though out the book. Exclamation marks replaced with "I", end quotes replaced with letters, and spelling errors, ex: whateveV. Book is good, not the translation to the Nook. Whoever published this for Nook, should re-check their work.

    30 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I wish I could give this book more than 5 stars!

    I've never felt compelled to post a review until now. I discovered this wonderful story while reading two articles in the 2/09 issue of School Library Journal - David Levithan was quoted in "A Dirty Little Secret", an article about self-censorship (where books are being quietly kept from their target audience because of issues that others - parents, teachers, librarians, even booksellers - deem inappropriate for whatever reason ... although as a parent and a middle school library volunteer, I feel that Boy Meets Boy is totally appropriate for middle school+ libraries, and I will be purchasing an extra copy for our library.) It was also mentioned in another article featuring an author's ten favorite romantic YA novel moments as the book with the "Headiest Falling In (and out of) Love Scenes". Okay, so it's mentioned twice in the same magazine, so I had to read it! Love it, love it, love it! Boy Meets Boy is a coming of age love story first and foremost (and let me emphasize love - it is remarkably chaste, in my official parental opinion). More importantly, it is brilliantly written and filled with some important messages about self discovery, tolerance, what love should be and what it should not be. It made me think, and that's one of the top reasons why I read. Will it offend some? Of course - it already has, just read some of the one star reviews here, but their main complaint is that it features gay characters. This is a book for any open minded person, male or female, gay or straight, teen or adult. Thank you, David Levithan - you are a truly gifted storyteller!

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    go person below me, boo person 2 below me

    what are you talking about "homosexual agenda is being thrown at children???!!!" 1.No one is throwing this book (or gays for that matter) at anybody and 2. Why do gays need to go "talk to a pastor" if they feel that way?! You have rights to your beliefs on religion but so do gays they dont need it molded out of them!!!! Isnt America supposed to be "the melting pot" and "the land of the free"? it doesnt sound like you want them free!!

    19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    I'm not gay.

    However, i LOVED this book.<BR/>I'm 15, if you wanted to know about what older age range it was in.<BR/>It's about a kid's choices and how he deals with everything in his life.<BR/>and in this book its not a lot of.... FAG GAY type slander being thrown around. They are somewhat excepted. :D

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Inspiring!

    When i first saw this book, i thought that it was a good idea and a good eye-opener for teens to accept same-sex relationships. i loved it. it described exactly what i was going through!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    Absolutely Mind Opening and Fantastic

    I found this book in my local library and thought I'd give it a try. A day later I was at Barnes and Noble buying it. It was the most fantastic book that I have ever read. It was real for me. I felt like I understood what gays have to go through with homophobics and that they feel the same way about the person they are attracted to that I do, only it's for the same gender. It was very well written, the characters were awesome, and it just seemed so real. I highly recommend it. It isn't inappropriate at all and it truly can open one's mind. I really think more people should read this book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    AMAZING!

    omg! this was one of the BEST books i have ever read! i loved it! i could not put it down, i read for like 6 hours in one day! its a must read

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    Best book I've read this year!

    Boy Meets Boy kept me wanting to read more.The title is what caught me in the beginning. I never thought i would read a book like this, but i actually enjoyed it.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    i read it twice.

    first of all, im straight. this book was seriously one of the best books ive read in a really long time. i fell in love with the idea of love from reading this. this book shows how no matter who your attracted to, the love shared is still one of a kind.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Conflicted Response

    I read this book because I sincerely believe that I was the sole gay teenager in the country who hadn't read it yet. So, even though I hate with a passion the glossy-covered forgettable wad that is mass-printed teen-targeted pulp fiction, I relented and bought it.

    The book itself completely skips the awkward, sappy clich&#233;s that gay teen literature goes over again and again and again. Because of this, (however much I despise the unoriginality of gay lit.) there was nothing I could relate to. The protagonist, Paul, comes out at a very young age and grows up in an unrealistically tolerant hometown, meets the boy of his dreams, does something stupid and looses him, and then through sheer will-power and help from friends, wins him back.

    I too came out at a very young age (I was never really "in"), but to an unbelievable homophobic town in the Midwest. I do not have the luxury of dating or winning then loosing then re-winning my dream guy. Instead I face physical harm outside my home every time I leave it. And I am one of the lucky ones- my parents accept me and I have friends who do as well. How anyone in my position or in a worse-than one could find anything but an escape in this I do not know.

    On a more positive note, the writing was stellar, and some of the characters were truly unforgettable. And I genuinely laughed a few times as I read it.

    And honestly, every other gay boy I know absolutely adores this book, so it must have something about it I do not realize. Perhaps it offers people real, hard-to-come-by comfort, in which case the author should be given extraordinary praise; it's not easy being gay in this country. Maybe in time Paul's world will become our world.

    On another note, a guy I'm talking to said that the "Rainbow Boys" was also very good, and dealt with the real problems that LGBT teens across the world while avoiding the schmuck that so many other books provide. I suppose then that I'd recommend it, although my two favorite gay literature classics will always be "De Profundis" by Oscar Wilde and "The Naked Civil Servant" by Quentin Crisp.

    Please take my review with a grain of salt, though- if you're looking at this book odds are you will like it. I just hope I can meet a real-life Noah one day...

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Very unrealistic portrayal of characters

    This book was terrible, but was cliche and unrealistic. No matter where you live some kids at school are going are going to be completely against homosexuality. This book also was very homophobic. Two guys will always go farther than a peck on the lips. A straight author shouldn't write about gays. This guy had no idea what gays think or how they act or feel.

    5 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    I have something to say

    Anyone who wants to say ANYTHING negitive about gay people, wait one moment an i will gladly fight u in the parking lot. Im not gay, but if thats what the bible says, well lets just say God didnt write the bible. Some guy a long time ago decided to write the un-offical worship guide lines. I hav gay friends and relitives and i take great offence to gay jokes and comments.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A Gay Boy

    Wow, after I read this book I was speechless. It was so enticing I could always bearly stop at the end of a chapter and go to bed. I recommend this book to anybody, no matter who are.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    Kayla, A proud Bi teen

    This book is great! I ran across it just by chance and bought it because I had never read a book written in a gay persons point of view. As I was reading it I couldnt help but wish that people in real life could be so accepting. A truly great novel

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    The Random Library Book

    I've always enjoyed reading about gay men and one day a friend of mine brought 'boy meets boy' into math class. I asked her if I could read it after her. Obviously she said yes. I began to read the book and thought, 'okay. this is pretty good' but by the time you're done with this book you're thinking, 'wow' and you're speechless. Or at least I was. I found it an adorable story and ended up reading it again. I also ended up memborizing part of the book and suggesting it to all my friends. I even had a friend who isn't gay tell me he thought it was a great book and would like to borrow it again. This story was truly remarkable, spectacular, and what ever other words that can go with that.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    changing

    this book gives you an insight to a world we all wish we could have, a world full of love. it will change your point of view on different. it was amzing

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    .....

    Excuse me, but if everyone who is wrting terrible homophobic things stop now!? This book is about acceptance, not about prejudice! I personally loved this book. So, please stop!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Verry good book, I love it!

    Boy Meets Boy is interesting book that everyone can read. It¿s a story about a crazy town were it seems that almost every one is gay, lesbian or bi-sexual and almost no one is straight. The main character Paul has a great life and good friends but everything just starts changing for the worse. The only good this in his life is Noah a really great guy he likes but will mess up the relationship soon after it starts. I really like the way Paul interacts with his friends and also the way he always keeps thoughts inside because he doesn¿t want to loose anyone as a friend. Your sexuality doesn¿t really matter when you¿re reading this book because it seems that that isn¿t the main focus of the story. Teenagers can really get lost in this story because it talks about most situations that teenagers can go through in their lives I enjoy the drama and intensity that is in the story. I think that anyone who really loves reading these kinds of books should read Boy Meets Boy.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Hey--Hey you. Yea im talking to u

    For the girls: Gay guys r the BEST to go shopping with and they understand u unlike straight guys do!!! I have a gay guy friend and hes a sweetheart and For the haters: people for real! Quit bringing the bible into this. Have some positive to say or just shut the f*ck up

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 297 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15