Customer Reviews for

Boy Meets Boy

Average Rating 4.5
( 298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(193)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

ew at the person below me.

As much as you hate "homosexuality thrown at children" i hate people shoving their beliefs down other peoples throats. i dont care how you feel or what your religous background is...dont read these books if it offends your prude self. this book was amazing i wish everyo...
As much as you hate "homosexuality thrown at children" i hate people shoving their beliefs down other peoples throats. i dont care how you feel or what your religous background is...dont read these books if it offends your prude self. this book was amazing i wish everyone was as accepting as most of the characters in this novel.

posted by SuzieCullen on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Poor Translation

I bought the book on my Nook and was very disappointed by the quality of it. Many grammatical errors though out the book. Exclamation marks replaced with "I", end quotes replaced with letters, and spelling errors, ex: whateveV. Book is good, not the translation to th...
I bought the book on my Nook and was very disappointed by the quality of it. Many grammatical errors though out the book. Exclamation marks replaced with "I", end quotes replaced with letters, and spelling errors, ex: whateveV. Book is good, not the translation to the Nook. Whoever published this for Nook, should re-check their work.

posted by MiniAussie on January 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    I'm not gay.

    However, i LOVED this book.<BR/>I'm 15, if you wanted to know about what older age range it was in.<BR/>It's about a kid's choices and how he deals with everything in his life.<BR/>and in this book its not a lot of.... FAG GAY type slander being thrown around. They are somewhat excepted. :D

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Conflicted Response

    I read this book because I sincerely believe that I was the sole gay teenager in the country who hadn't read it yet. So, even though I hate with a passion the glossy-covered forgettable wad that is mass-printed teen-targeted pulp fiction, I relented and bought it.

    The book itself completely skips the awkward, sappy clich&#233;s that gay teen literature goes over again and again and again. Because of this, (however much I despise the unoriginality of gay lit.) there was nothing I could relate to. The protagonist, Paul, comes out at a very young age and grows up in an unrealistically tolerant hometown, meets the boy of his dreams, does something stupid and looses him, and then through sheer will-power and help from friends, wins him back.

    I too came out at a very young age (I was never really "in"), but to an unbelievable homophobic town in the Midwest. I do not have the luxury of dating or winning then loosing then re-winning my dream guy. Instead I face physical harm outside my home every time I leave it. And I am one of the lucky ones- my parents accept me and I have friends who do as well. How anyone in my position or in a worse-than one could find anything but an escape in this I do not know.

    On a more positive note, the writing was stellar, and some of the characters were truly unforgettable. And I genuinely laughed a few times as I read it.

    And honestly, every other gay boy I know absolutely adores this book, so it must have something about it I do not realize. Perhaps it offers people real, hard-to-come-by comfort, in which case the author should be given extraordinary praise; it's not easy being gay in this country. Maybe in time Paul's world will become our world.

    On another note, a guy I'm talking to said that the "Rainbow Boys" was also very good, and dealt with the real problems that LGBT teens across the world while avoiding the schmuck that so many other books provide. I suppose then that I'd recommend it, although my two favorite gay literature classics will always be "De Profundis" by Oscar Wilde and "The Naked Civil Servant" by Quentin Crisp.

    Please take my review with a grain of salt, though- if you're looking at this book odds are you will like it. I just hope I can meet a real-life Noah one day...

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Verry good book, I love it!

    Boy Meets Boy is interesting book that everyone can read. It¿s a story about a crazy town were it seems that almost every one is gay, lesbian or bi-sexual and almost no one is straight. The main character Paul has a great life and good friends but everything just starts changing for the worse. The only good this in his life is Noah a really great guy he likes but will mess up the relationship soon after it starts. I really like the way Paul interacts with his friends and also the way he always keeps thoughts inside because he doesn¿t want to loose anyone as a friend. Your sexuality doesn¿t really matter when you¿re reading this book because it seems that that isn¿t the main focus of the story. Teenagers can really get lost in this story because it talks about most situations that teenagers can go through in their lives I enjoy the drama and intensity that is in the story. I think that anyone who really loves reading these kinds of books should read Boy Meets Boy.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    A cute story!

    I enjoyed reading this story, especially because I love David Levithan books! Every Day is one of my favorite books ever written and I was eager to read more of his novels. Although it definitely does not compare to that story I still liked this one. It's a nice blend of humor and romance. The subject of sexuality, acceptance, and coming out was written in an articulate way. I would recommend this book to a friend who wants a quick read and is interested in gender and sexuality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Without a doubt a literary achievement, David Levithan┬┐s, Boy Me

    Without a doubt a literary achievement, David Levithan’s, Boy Meets Boy, not only discusses the trials and tribulations of being a gay adolescent but also deals with self-discovery, tolerance, and what love should and shouldn’t be. It is short and sweet, a romance at its core, but with several different threads interwoven around its central storyline. The protagonist of the novel, Paul, has known since he was young that he is gay and never encountered any obstacles growing up. He is surrounded by a supportive family and friends in a small town that ultimately accepts and embraces its LGBT community. This unidentified town presents itself as some utopian and this may very well be Levithan’s point in creating this novel: to challenge society to change its ways. At Paul’s high school, cliques do not exist and everybody just blends in. Paul even states in the book, “There isn’t really a gay scene or a straight scene in our town. They all got mixed up a while back, which I think is for the best.” What is deemed out of the ordinary in the real world seems to be the norm in this town. The cheerleaders ride Harley’s and the star quarterback of the football team, Infinite Darlene, is a drag queen who has to juggle the duties of football and her duties as homecoming queen. Paul is incredibly comfortable in his own skin and never has to deal with parental rejection. He meets Noah, the new boy in town, and immediately falls head over heels for him. Simultaneously, Paul’s best friend, Joni, gets a new boyfriend, his ex-boyfriend decides he wants him back, and Tony’s extremely religious parents put him on a lockdown. Although the main plot of this novel is the romance between Noah and Paul, every reader is left hoping that society will one day embrace the true meaning of tolerance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Great book so far

    Only read the sample but its a well written book so far

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reader meets wonderful book.

    Boy Meets Boy is a wonderful story about Paul, his friends and classmates, and the boy he falls in love with, set in an a sort of gay utopia where the homecoming queen and captain of the football team are one and the same. A place where sexuality is accepted, where the Boy Scouts become Joy Scouts after the boy scouts decided gays weren't accepted, and where acceptance is unconditional. This is the first of David Levithan's book that I've read and I will definitely be reading more! His writing is witty and humorous, and the characters just came to life off the page. Boy Meets Boy is just a really fun teen romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    my first gay book :))

    My good friend told me about this book .. OMG !! i love every word of these book and how to author make it funny and also romantic

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cute and entertaining

    Though this book is stretching the realism, it is very cute, and well worth your time. It's a short read, but it'll keep you entertained. Well written; highly recommended.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Definite Must

    This is by far, one of the greatest books i've ever read. It's heart warming, compassionate, and has all the realities of the gay sexuality.
    How ever, I am straight but, I do know that gay's don't have life as easy as this book makes it out to be. Overall, It is a definite must read. Suspence and Curiosity will have you flipping pages continueously!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    A book everyone should read

    This book is great. It is a great read and is a wonderful story. The love story told in this book makes you feel good. Every one should read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Boy Meets Boy

    I give Boy Meets Boy a 4 stars because it was not all that it was truth but not that truth. So the book Boy Meets Boy it¿s about a group of teenagers that are going to school. So all the teenagers are going out of town to go party. Then Paul found out that he was gay and wanted to tell his parents so he told his parents. But his parents said that he had learned a new word. So then a girl name joins had come over to play. Then they were going to play under the bed. Next they started to kiss each other. But Paul said stop im gay. Then weeks had past then Paul had met this guy name Tony. So they were doing bad thing to each other than they found out so they had left each other. Last is that Paul was sad and was gay for the rest of his life. I recommend this book to people that are gay and to people that are not gay because you will know how they live there life after people make fun of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    this book is great

    I give the book Boy Meets Boy four out of five stars. I give it this rating because the book caught my attention at first but then it started to get too long. What I like about the book was how everyone in the book talked about how they felt towards people they appreciated. In Boy Meets Boy there is a group of friends that aren¿t like any other friends they are special in the sense that some of them are gay. Unlike other teenagers they have trouble in school mainly with their crushes. I recommend this book too young people who have gay friends or that want to understand clearly how gay people feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    R3AD iT!!

    I give ¿Boy Meets Boy¿ 4 stars. This book is real good for the people that aren¿t straight. Even tough I don¿t like people from my same sex don¿t mean I cant read this book. I really liked this book it talks about friendship & love mostly about what teenagers talk and what¿s going on in the lives now in this days. People make thing this book in a sin but if you read it I know you would get something different from this book. So read it soon it¿s a good book especially if you¿re a guy that doesn¿t like girls READ IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    It was purely by accident that I found Lethinan¿s novel, Boy Meets Boy. I was on Amazon.com looking for some good books I could maybe read. I had remembered a book that a friend recommended and attempted to type in what I thought was the title. As result, I got a butt-load of books that weren¿t anything of what I was looking for. I scrolled down on the page anyway just in case, and the title, Boy Meets Boy easily caught my eye. I realized this was the first book I ever encountered that came from a gay person¿s point of view, I immediately decided read out of curiosity. Boy Meets Boy is an average teen-novel that anybody can pick up at a local bookstore. It touches on nearly all the basics that interest teenagers: friendship, fighting, crushes, learning, and of course, love. It¿s very fast paced and you immediately start feeling compassion and empathy for the main character, Paul, and some of his high school boyfriends. Paul is like any guy I¿ve ever met, except gay. Although this is an average teen-novel, what makes it so atypical is the fact that it¿s set completely in a town that accepts homosexuals or transsexuals or whatever the case may be. The ways the love scenes are written are very much like other teen-novels. It makes you feel as though homosexuals aren¿t so different after all. The reader (may they be straight or gay) can feel like they relate to the situations Paul goes though. This novel is amazing to read for those who feel the need to broaden their horizons. Homophobes may have huge problems with this book, but all in all, I think it would be a great chance to try something new and see that people are people no matter what their sexual orientation. This book makes you feel like all the trouble about gay marriages in the states is really not worth getting troubled about. Sometimes in life you¿re going to meet someone who you think is living in a different world, when really, they¿re not that different from you at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    So Hard

    I love this book so much. It has life and a really great showing of romance that is hard to find. I love all the characters and liked the writing in this book. The only thing i would change is how less the reader gets to know tony and the ending is a little shaky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    GOOD BOOK

    I am straight, but reading about gay people is interesting and gives you a greater knowledge of ALL people. The main character is very realistic, even though I was surprised at how little the highschool thought being gay was weird. But in other senses, it was nice to have a book that seemed as if gay was normal, which I guess it can be. Anyway, this book was just very funny, easy to read, and something you want to finish, just to see what happens to the main character Paul and his love, Noah. There are also many other characters that really make a great addition to the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    horrible??.... NO Outstanding??.... NO

    I thought the book was good. It was a good read, and kept me entertained. I would and HAVE recommended it to many of many friends, either because they are homophobic or they love to read as well. I would read this again, and I have.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Excellent !!!!

    My best friend gave me this book to me as a birthday present...as soon as i came out to her...this was the best gift a friend could have gotten me. This book leaves you on edge and it isnt one of those typical gay love stories...this story is actually realistic and you get into touch with all of the characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    very fantasy-like

    this book is very cute and heartfelt. i know that some of the plots in the story is almost fake in a way. but thats ok, atleast it did have some realistic to it. but it was had some funny chareters like darlene. teenagers of all ages need to read it if they want to get a kick out of reading a good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3