Customer Reviews for

Boy Meets Boy

Average Rating 4.5
( 299 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(194)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

ew at the person below me.

As much as you hate "homosexuality thrown at children" i hate people shoving their beliefs down other peoples throats. i dont care how you feel or what your religous background is...dont read these books if it offends your prude self. this book was amazing i wish everyo...
As much as you hate "homosexuality thrown at children" i hate people shoving their beliefs down other peoples throats. i dont care how you feel or what your religous background is...dont read these books if it offends your prude self. this book was amazing i wish everyone was as accepting as most of the characters in this novel.

posted by SuzieCullen on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Poor Translation

I bought the book on my Nook and was very disappointed by the quality of it. Many grammatical errors though out the book. Exclamation marks replaced with "I", end quotes replaced with letters, and spelling errors, ex: whateveV. Book is good, not the translation to th...
I bought the book on my Nook and was very disappointed by the quality of it. Many grammatical errors though out the book. Exclamation marks replaced with "I", end quotes replaced with letters, and spelling errors, ex: whateveV. Book is good, not the translation to the Nook. Whoever published this for Nook, should re-check their work.

posted by MiniAussie on January 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ew at the person below me.

    As much as you hate "homosexuality thrown at children" i hate people shoving their beliefs down other peoples throats. i dont care how you feel or what your religous background is...dont read these books if it offends your prude self. this book was amazing i wish everyone was as accepting as most of the characters in this novel.

    51 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I wish I could give this book more than 5 stars!

    I've never felt compelled to post a review until now. I discovered this wonderful story while reading two articles in the 2/09 issue of School Library Journal - David Levithan was quoted in "A Dirty Little Secret", an article about self-censorship (where books are being quietly kept from their target audience because of issues that others - parents, teachers, librarians, even booksellers - deem inappropriate for whatever reason ... although as a parent and a middle school library volunteer, I feel that Boy Meets Boy is totally appropriate for middle school+ libraries, and I will be purchasing an extra copy for our library.) It was also mentioned in another article featuring an author's ten favorite romantic YA novel moments as the book with the "Headiest Falling In (and out of) Love Scenes". Okay, so it's mentioned twice in the same magazine, so I had to read it! Love it, love it, love it! Boy Meets Boy is a coming of age love story first and foremost (and let me emphasize love - it is remarkably chaste, in my official parental opinion). More importantly, it is brilliantly written and filled with some important messages about self discovery, tolerance, what love should be and what it should not be. It made me think, and that's one of the top reasons why I read. Will it offend some? Of course - it already has, just read some of the one star reviews here, but their main complaint is that it features gay characters. This is a book for any open minded person, male or female, gay or straight, teen or adult. Thank you, David Levithan - you are a truly gifted storyteller!

    24 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    go person below me, boo person 2 below me

    what are you talking about "homosexual agenda is being thrown at children???!!!" 1.No one is throwing this book (or gays for that matter) at anybody and 2. Why do gays need to go "talk to a pastor" if they feel that way?! You have rights to your beliefs on religion but so do gays they dont need it molded out of them!!!! Isnt America supposed to be "the melting pot" and "the land of the free"? it doesnt sound like you want them free!!

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Inspiring!

    When i first saw this book, i thought that it was a good idea and a good eye-opener for teens to accept same-sex relationships. i loved it. it described exactly what i was going through!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    Absolutely Mind Opening and Fantastic

    I found this book in my local library and thought I'd give it a try. A day later I was at Barnes and Noble buying it. It was the most fantastic book that I have ever read. It was real for me. I felt like I understood what gays have to go through with homophobics and that they feel the same way about the person they are attracted to that I do, only it's for the same gender. It was very well written, the characters were awesome, and it just seemed so real. I highly recommend it. It isn't inappropriate at all and it truly can open one's mind. I really think more people should read this book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    AMAZING!

    omg! this was one of the BEST books i have ever read! i loved it! i could not put it down, i read for like 6 hours in one day! its a must read

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    Best book I've read this year!

    Boy Meets Boy kept me wanting to read more.The title is what caught me in the beginning. I never thought i would read a book like this, but i actually enjoyed it.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    i read it twice.

    first of all, im straight. this book was seriously one of the best books ive read in a really long time. i fell in love with the idea of love from reading this. this book shows how no matter who your attracted to, the love shared is still one of a kind.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A Gay Boy

    Wow, after I read this book I was speechless. It was so enticing I could always bearly stop at the end of a chapter and go to bed. I recommend this book to anybody, no matter who are.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    Kayla, A proud Bi teen

    This book is great! I ran across it just by chance and bought it because I had never read a book written in a gay persons point of view. As I was reading it I couldnt help but wish that people in real life could be so accepting. A truly great novel

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    The Random Library Book

    I've always enjoyed reading about gay men and one day a friend of mine brought 'boy meets boy' into math class. I asked her if I could read it after her. Obviously she said yes. I began to read the book and thought, 'okay. this is pretty good' but by the time you're done with this book you're thinking, 'wow' and you're speechless. Or at least I was. I found it an adorable story and ended up reading it again. I also ended up memborizing part of the book and suggesting it to all my friends. I even had a friend who isn't gay tell me he thought it was a great book and would like to borrow it again. This story was truly remarkable, spectacular, and what ever other words that can go with that.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2007

    changing

    this book gives you an insight to a world we all wish we could have, a world full of love. it will change your point of view on different. it was amzing

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    .....

    Excuse me, but if everyone who is wrting terrible homophobic things stop now!? This book is about acceptance, not about prejudice! I personally loved this book. So, please stop!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun, fun, fun

    This is a fun teenage romance, set in a perfect world, but the feelings are portrayed well, the characters fun to get to know, and the story well-written. (I read mine on my nookCOLOR, and I didn't find any of the problems mentioned in a previous post.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2003

    Thebest book

    This wasnt the first gay book ive read and i am a straight 14 yr. old grl. I like to read new things.. the only other gay book i have read besides this one was Philadelphia.. Boy Meets Boy was an excellent way of describing that not one person is the same as another, that we hall have differences, like being a heterosexual,homosexual, bisexual,or even a drag..but the point im making is i LOVED thisbook u should read it..

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Amazing

    I couln't put it down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    A Colorful Literary Triumph!

    "Boy Meets Boy" is a tale for individuals of all backgrounds. The characters are vibrant and loveable. (Infinite Darlene is a trip!) The story is simple, yet it resonates with us all so deeply. This book is uplifting and inspiring. I am so pleased I spent a few dollars on this work of art.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    great

    ok so this book is a great book for any teen to say the least. it just shows that true love can happen for ANYONE. sure the bible says thats not right but do you really think g,God discrimnates against anyone? if anyone ever finds out id love to hear your answer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    !Amazing!

    My best friend is gay, i still feel the same way about her, she is still going to be my best friend. I'm the only one besides her family that knows she is gay, i read this book nad gave it to her, she read it and didn't feel so different, an out-cast to the world anymore, she came out of the "closet"( i don't believe in the "closet" but there isn't rlly a better way to put it) and told ppl because ofthis book, yes she was talked about, called a fag, nad so much more, but she just brushed it off nad keep her head high, nad stayed strong. Thank you David levithan for making my friend feel normal for once, you helped in a way i couldn't. I loved this boook so much,,,,sorry this isn't rlly a summary of the book but rlly all hte books about is a boy who is gay, finnaly finds another gay boy, they go out nad yeah stuff like that, i know it probaly sounds like i dont like the book but i do very much, but its either to long to summarize or to short,,,i just went with the short one>>>> tehe!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    Total Symbolllism!!!!

    First of all, the book isn't neccesarily geared toward accepting gays, it's about acceptence period!!! and for all those people saying 'stop shoving homosexuality down childrens throats' well then don't let YOUR children read it and besides if you are not mature enough to handle it then don't read it. It's not like it's a surprise! it tells you in the synopsis on the back! also, for the people saying 'God doesn't permit homosexuality and go to church' you obviously needd to go to church. God never says anything angainst homosexuality. He doesn't permit sexual acts outside of marriage and since people of the same sex can't marry, homosexuals performing sexual acts is against what God says but not being homosexual1...Anyway, great book! I loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10