Customer Reviews for

Boy Meets Girl: Say Hello to Courtship

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

MUST READ AT LEAST 3 TIMES!!!

..browsing through B&N this book practically fell in my lap-god's fax to me i like to think...since then i have read it twice then put notes all over it and my boyfriend has read it 2-3 times..if ur single read it now so ur prepared i wish i had read it when i was 18......
..browsing through B&N this book practically fell in my lap-god's fax to me i like to think...since then i have read it twice then put notes all over it and my boyfriend has read it 2-3 times..if ur single read it now so ur prepared i wish i had read it when i was 18...but if ur in a relationship read it tonight...josh harris has been very honest and straightforward in his ideas of courtship, the book and the guidelines it gives for courtship are completely bible based...at first some of it may seem a little hard to practice but if u've opened ur heart to god this book is a great way to truly try to emulate a godly relationship..one in which ur first priority is to serve god and in turn serve ur partner..it teaches u how to love in a godly way, it teaches u that love is a triangle, it opens ur eyes to the fact that the only way a relationship works is when both partners are accountable to the same god. It has help me mature both individually in my walk with god, as well as with my Mann-Ki- Dhost ( friend-of-my-soul)...most importantly josh has clearly defined the importance of our GOD-GIVEN roles as men and women, and how mixing up these roles has led to disastrous relationships...boy meets girl is a book that should be on ur nightstand next to ur bible to be read again and again.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good start, ruined by author's ideas on divorce

There is so much good in this book. The author puts forth the idea that young people should pursue a relationship with the opposite sex only when they are ready for marriage, and then they should 'court' rather than 'date.' He encourages chastity, self-control, and pr...
There is so much good in this book. The author puts forth the idea that young people should pursue a relationship with the opposite sex only when they are ready for marriage, and then they should 'court' rather than 'date.' He encourages chastity, self-control, and prayer. The book would be perfect for anyone seeking advice on relationships, EXCEPT that the whole thing is ruined by the author interjecting his personal opinion that divorce and remarriage are acceptable in God's eyes. Sadly, he twice goes into erroneous apologetic arguments in favor of divorce and remarriage. He never says that divorce is pleasing to God; he only asserts that it's excusable in some circumstances. But why write a book that's all about living life in a way that pleases God, and then include advice about doing something that is never pleasing to Him? The Bible clearly tells us that when God made Adam and Eve, there was no divorce; He only gave divorce to the Jews because of the hardness of their hearts, and even then He told them that they couldn't remarry or else they'd be committing adultery. Why would anyone want to advocate something that God never intended and only allowed because His people were hard-hearted?! Until this book is revised to take out all of the garbage about divorce and remarriage, I would recommend other books on chastity and courtship. It's too bad. This was almost a really good book, but it calls to mind the story about the brownies made with mostly good ingredients and a little bit of dung. Who'd feed that to his children?

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    Good start, ruined by author's ideas on divorce

    There is so much good in this book. The author puts forth the idea that young people should pursue a relationship with the opposite sex only when they are ready for marriage, and then they should 'court' rather than 'date.' He encourages chastity, self-control, and prayer. The book would be perfect for anyone seeking advice on relationships, EXCEPT that the whole thing is ruined by the author interjecting his personal opinion that divorce and remarriage are acceptable in God's eyes. Sadly, he twice goes into erroneous apologetic arguments in favor of divorce and remarriage. He never says that divorce is pleasing to God; he only asserts that it's excusable in some circumstances. But why write a book that's all about living life in a way that pleases God, and then include advice about doing something that is never pleasing to Him? The Bible clearly tells us that when God made Adam and Eve, there was no divorce; He only gave divorce to the Jews because of the hardness of their hearts, and even then He told them that they couldn't remarry or else they'd be committing adultery. Why would anyone want to advocate something that God never intended and only allowed because His people were hard-hearted?! Until this book is revised to take out all of the garbage about divorce and remarriage, I would recommend other books on chastity and courtship. It's too bad. This was almost a really good book, but it calls to mind the story about the brownies made with mostly good ingredients and a little bit of dung. Who'd feed that to his children?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    AMAZING!!

    This book is WONDERFUL! I haven't read any of Joshua Harris' books, but my boyfriend and I read through this together and it has really helped us define our relationship. Joshua gives examples and shows both the girl and the guy what a healthy relationship is, how to guard your heart and the heart of others. This book is good for anyone, whether you're in a relationship or single! It's a great way to practice being a Godly wife or husband before you're ever in a relationship! I love this book. I will be recommending it to anyone over the age of 13 and I look forward to reading it again! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    MUST READ AT LEAST 3 TIMES!!!

    ..browsing through B&N this book practically fell in my lap-god's fax to me i like to think...since then i have read it twice then put notes all over it and my boyfriend has read it 2-3 times..if ur single read it now so ur prepared i wish i had read it when i was 18...but if ur in a relationship read it tonight...josh harris has been very honest and straightforward in his ideas of courtship, the book and the guidelines it gives for courtship are completely bible based...at first some of it may seem a little hard to practice but if u've opened ur heart to god this book is a great way to truly try to emulate a godly relationship..one in which ur first priority is to serve god and in turn serve ur partner..it teaches u how to love in a godly way, it teaches u that love is a triangle, it opens ur eyes to the fact that the only way a relationship works is when both partners are accountable to the same god. It has help me mature both individually in my walk with god, as well as with my Mann-Ki- Dhost ( friend-of-my-soul)...most importantly josh has clearly defined the importance of our GOD-GIVEN roles as men and women, and how mixing up these roles has led to disastrous relationships...boy meets girl is a book that should be on ur nightstand next to ur bible to be read again and again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Insightful: certainly a must read for those not married

    This book is a very in-depth, helpful, and practical sequel to I Kissed Dating Goodbye. Joshua Harris does a great job of thoroughly exploring the Bible to explain to the reader what Christian relationships should look like. The main thing I came away with was the attitude of treating every person as a brother or sister in Christ rather than as a potential mate. I have been using this transformed thinking, and the true joy of relationships comes only from this renewed Christ-like mindset which Joshua Harris fleshes out so well in Boy Meets Girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Incredible read!

    This book and its predecessor, Kissing Dating Goodbye, have a permanent place in my personal library. I have gifted this book and recommended it to so many others, my kids included. I loved the anecdotal style and sense of practical application in real life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    I love Joshua Harris' books. :)

    I love Joshua Harris' books. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    this is a great book

    I absolutely loved this book. I recommend this book to any one who loves reading. It taught me about courtship very well. It is a great read and very helpful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    Joshua Harris is a great author. I love his books. Before reading this book, I would recommend reading his first book, I kissed dating goodbye. It is great and this book is a continuation off that. Get this book, you will not regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring quick read

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I had read Josh's first book on kissing dating good-bye for a paper I completed for my college English course, and this was my next step into learning more about something that I feel passionate about. I've never liked the notion of dating, and would always shy away from it. It just was not me. But reading this book, I found something I could relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Must read bood if you want to do dating right!

    Must read book if you want to do dating right!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    I normally don't like reading.......

    BUT, this book was recommended to me by a close friend/brother in Christ and after reading the first 5 pages, I was hooked. It only took me 2 days to read this book because I just couldn't put the book down. If only you begin this book with an open heart and a thirst for knowledge then I can guarantee you that this book will help those who desire a relationship like no other. In 'Boy meets Girl,' Joshua Harris, through true stories that touch your heart, even stories that make you wonder if they were ever true, clearly conveys his thoughts of HOW TO HAVE A RELATIONSHIP WITH GOD IN THE CENTER~!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    Best Guide To 'Dating'

    If you are looking to the guide of safe 'dating' this book is reccomended to you. Joshua Harris shows a wonderful way to courting someone and finding your future spouse. Harris finds a way to weave his oppinion on view points such as how far you should go before marriage in a non hurtful way. He freely lets you choose what you want your relationship to be like only suggests his opinion. Such as his boundries for physicalness with his girlfriend. He clearly states that it his guide and doesn't say that everyone should follow his guide to how physical you get...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I loved this book. Joshua really opens up and tells you about having a Christ-Centered relationship. As a single, I always have a fear that I'll never be married. However, Joshua reminds me how I need to be content being sing e.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    I Truly Am Inspired by this book!

    This Book, 'Boy Meets Girl: Say Hello to Courtship' has changed my life! I am not a very good reader, but this book the Lord has brought me all the way through it! The Lord is ALL over this Book! I Truly Recommend this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    A mother's point of view!

    I have just completed this powerful book. Wow! I only wish I had it to read before I had begun my dating journey. I am sending this book to both my 18-year-old daughter and her 21-year-old boyfriend. Both attending the same college, they have been dating for four months. I hope that after viewing this wealth of information they will look at their relationship in a new light and make it even better. I pray that they keep God first in their relationship, reminding themselves of the final reward if God's plan for them is marriage. If the plan is not marriage, that they come away from a truly meaningful courtship with no regrets, with a loving Christ filled friendship. I highly recommend this to every parent of a teenager who is about to embark on this wonderful journey, referred to here as, 'courtship'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2003

    Great Book! Opened my eyes!,

    I will admit I was a little taken a back at the first idea of 'courting'. I thought it was one of the silliest things I had ever heard of. When I came across Boy Meets Girl, I was at a crossroads in my spiritual journey with God, and with my then boyfriend. This book opened my eyes and made me realize that God is going to send me the right guy. When I find him, it's going to so amazing! I am so excited to know that out there right now, my husband is there waiting! I can't wait to find him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    Prepare to Alter Your Perspective

    This is a great read, very approachable, and full of great information. I was never much for dating in the first place, thinking always that if I found the one that God had intended for me, that I would know. God will do what God will do, as is his plan, but any Christian (or non Christian for that matter) would do well to pick up this book and see what it has to say. Highly reccomended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    Setting standards

    This books was really cool, especially the part about communication and when your past comes knocking, talks about the fact that no matter what we have done in the past we are sinners at the foot of the cross made clean by the blood. The list of do's and don't someone mentioned was just the standard they wanted for their relationship and not for others and he never stated that it was sin to hug in front or anything like that, he even mentioned that he may have sinned in his mind worse than those who have different rules or standards. The book is great, all about doing all things to His and not for ourselves and living by God's standards. A must buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    Not for your typical christian relationship

    This book was not at all what I expected. Joshua Harris gives examples of christian relationships that seem unreal at times. His list of 'donts' for he and his fiance Shannon are a little over the top. I do not believe that hugging from the front is sinful. Read it and you'll see the list.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    A good read....

    It's true, this book is a bit corny (as the example above in illustrated), but is filled with biblical truths about relationships. I would highly recommend this book, it changed my view of relationships; so filter out the cheesy stuff and take the practical steps and apply them to your life. Also, the comments about the roles women and men play are a necessary part of making a book like this complete. So, don't listen to the review above! A good read, for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4