Customer Reviews for

Boy Meets Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

MUST READ AT LEAST 3 TIMES!!!

..browsing through B&N this book practically fell in my lap-god's fax to me i like to think...since then i have read it twice then put notes all over it and my boyfriend has read it 2-3 times..if ur single read it now so ur prepared i wish i had read it when i was 18......
..browsing through B&N this book practically fell in my lap-god's fax to me i like to think...since then i have read it twice then put notes all over it and my boyfriend has read it 2-3 times..if ur single read it now so ur prepared i wish i had read it when i was 18...but if ur in a relationship read it tonight...josh harris has been very honest and straightforward in his ideas of courtship, the book and the guidelines it gives for courtship are completely bible based...at first some of it may seem a little hard to practice but if u've opened ur heart to god this book is a great way to truly try to emulate a godly relationship..one in which ur first priority is to serve god and in turn serve ur partner..it teaches u how to love in a godly way, it teaches u that love is a triangle, it opens ur eyes to the fact that the only way a relationship works is when both partners are accountable to the same god. It has help me mature both individually in my walk with god, as well as with my Mann-Ki- Dhost ( friend-of-my-soul)...most importantly josh has clearly defined the importance of our GOD-GIVEN roles as men and women, and how mixing up these roles has led to disastrous relationships...boy meets girl is a book that should be on ur nightstand next to ur bible to be read again and again.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good start, ruined by author's ideas on divorce

There is so much good in this book. The author puts forth the idea that young people should pursue a relationship with the opposite sex only when they are ready for marriage, and then they should 'court' rather than 'date.' He encourages chastity, self-control, and pr...
There is so much good in this book. The author puts forth the idea that young people should pursue a relationship with the opposite sex only when they are ready for marriage, and then they should 'court' rather than 'date.' He encourages chastity, self-control, and prayer. The book would be perfect for anyone seeking advice on relationships, EXCEPT that the whole thing is ruined by the author interjecting his personal opinion that divorce and remarriage are acceptable in God's eyes. Sadly, he twice goes into erroneous apologetic arguments in favor of divorce and remarriage. He never says that divorce is pleasing to God; he only asserts that it's excusable in some circumstances. But why write a book that's all about living life in a way that pleases God, and then include advice about doing something that is never pleasing to Him? The Bible clearly tells us that when God made Adam and Eve, there was no divorce; He only gave divorce to the Jews because of the hardness of their hearts, and even then He told them that they couldn't remarry or else they'd be committing adultery. Why would anyone want to advocate something that God never intended and only allowed because His people were hard-hearted?! Until this book is revised to take out all of the garbage about divorce and remarriage, I would recommend other books on chastity and courtship. It's too bad. This was almost a really good book, but it calls to mind the story about the brownies made with mostly good ingredients and a little bit of dung. Who'd feed that to his children?

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    New attitude

    Before I read the book "i kissed dating goodbye",I thought that i alawys needed someone of the opp. sex to be there for me,like a boy friend.when i read the book i realized that what i needed was to change my way of thinking.I am a spirit filled,born again,christian,and proud of it.This book does nothing but tell you what God wants for your life.after i read the book i prayed a prayer about the way i felt and asked God to change my heart and the way i felt,and after i did,God took the need that i felt, like i had to have a boyfriend, away. i now relized all i really needed was him.now i am reading this book and it does nothing but strenghthen my faith in what i already believe in,and teach me the way God would have me to act,and prepare me for when God will one day let me meet the man i am to spend the rest of my life with,or if i never get married it shows me how i should treat my brothers in Christ.I recomend this book to christians,non-christians,people who are dating,who are not dating and even to people who are married,it can also help parrents to see the roll they need to play in their children's life. I want to thank Josh for writing both of these books,you are truly blessed by God,and i just really want to thank you for letting God work through you.It feels like you wrote this just for me,I really felt God speaking through this book to me.Now i have eveyone i know reading and buying your books. My sunday school class is doing a study off of your books and videos.And shannon you are very blessed to have such a man of God in your life,dont let him go girl!Thanks again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    Excellent

    This book completely changed my view on dating. After 8 disastrous relationships, I was ready to kiss dating goodbye (which was also excellent). Don't listen to the B&N "Critics", because they are coming from a snide secular viewpoint. This book is mind-blowing! I recommend it to anyone wondering about the dating scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2002

    A WOMAN WILL COMPASS A MAN

    So here was the moment: I finally liked a girl enough to embarass myself in her presence to ask her out. Her response was the most genuine that I'd ever heard, yet it caught me off gaurd: 'I don't date.' However, this was not an excuse to not date me, it was an honest answer. Curious to know what exactly that response meant (because she meant what she said) I pursued her further. She finally handed me a book: I kissed dating goodbye. Since then I have read that book 4 times and Boy Meets Girl twice. My relationship with this wonderful girl is that she is my best friend. I am a happier person and I have a best friend who changed my life. Please read the book. It is worth a try. Happiness is... GOD BLESS, Kyle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2001

    Better than his first book!

    I think this book is a great guide for a new generation of Christians trying to find their mate in the muck and mire of the 21st -century dating scene. Josh gives great practical & specific examples for setting godly standards in relationships in an increasingly ungodly American culture. Chapter 10 is great on dealing with the past. Of course to the secular world it's not going to sit well, but that's the way it's supposed to be, isn't it? We Christians are held to a higher standard and are to be salt & light. This book will help you get 'saltier' in how you deal with all relationships. Very challenging and refreshing view from such a young author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2001

    I'm reading this one again!

    Josh Harris' book 'boy meets girl' is absolutely wonderful--I read it last week and am already reading it for the second time now. My parents started to teach me those kind of values when I was about 11 years old--keeping your heart for the right one, etc... I thought that they were crazy and old fashioned, but now I am grateful that they instilled these things in me... For many years I thought that maybe I was the only person in the world who wasn't dating... it is encouraging hearing that other people are finding out that God's way is the best way! I would recommend 'I Kissed Dating Goodbye' for teenagers and single adults of all ages, but I find that 'Boy Meets Girl' is really geared more for folks who are of marriagable age as it begins to delve into some deeper issues. Josh is really open about many of the things that he went through and he lets us know some of his own questions that he had even after writing his first book. I appreciated how he devoted several pages to the fact that it's not about terminology--whether a couple says that they're dating or courting, but it's how they're protecting each other's emotions and serving one another in love in their relationship ('I've known serial courters and saintly daters')... It's really good. I was driving down to Chicago with a friend last weekend and we read it outloud for a couple of hours!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    Great!

    A meaningful book which reveals the true relationship.........the ultimate book for couples who want to have their relationship leading to a happy marriage...with great bold and clear guide lines

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2001

    Respectable Reading...

    I enjoy Harris' writing style. It is refreshing to find that someone believes in purity and respect in an age where standards are dropping like flies. It encouraged me to set my standards 'too high' so that I can constantly be striving for the best that God has for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    Awesome Book! Please read what I have to say & chat to me about it! My Screen Name is lottidoll

    I am 15 years old. I have never dated, kissed, or had a BF. A week before I read I Kissed Dating Good Bye, I knew a guy I wanted to date. A friend of mine by the name of Patrick Levis then sudgested the book to me. He said I would be strengthened. Well, I read the book and forever was changed! Joshua Harris really knew what I was going through. Two days later, the guy I liked asked me out and I told him no, but I said why. Boy Meets Girl opened my eyes to a different, but important view of marriage. This book will change you gaurenteed. Thank God that I read the book before I ever dated! Otherewise I would never be able to give my full heart to my future husband, now would I! Please read this book! You will only be drawn closer to God and his true purpose for you! God will guide you, but first you need to become single and let him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2001

    Must read for all ages

    The book was absolutely amazing. It not only 'spoke' to me spiritually but also emotionally and mentally. It helped affirm a lot in my life with relationships- not just boyfriend/girlfriend type relationships but also my relationship with our Savior. Although the book is similiar to 'I Kissed Dating Goodbye' in its ideal nature, it really has clean statements that will make you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2001

    Another Classic by Harris

    I'm a 23-yr old single male who is about to graduate from Bible college. I really enjoy the way Joshua Harris relates to the average young person. You may not agree with every jot and tittle of his persuasions, but you're hard-pressed to find a rebuttal in Scripture. He has such a dynamic way of presenting God's Word in a way that relates to me and you. I read Boy Meets Girl with the same excitement adn enthusiasm with which I read I Kissed Dating Goodbye. Both are classics that should be read by every single young person. Harris gives a refreshign look at dating, romance, and relationships. I don't have a girl yet and I'm not dating currently, but I've got a new set of guidelines for when I resume those relationships. And I have a greater sense of my role in the life of my future spouse. Thanks Josh. You've helped many young Christian singles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2001

    Great book

    Every couple should read this book before thinking about getting married (in my opinion), whether or not you 'court' or whatever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2001

    This is a must read (Tiffani Young, is a great friend)

    'This is the razor sharp horizon where the darkness meet the light' This book has re-sparked several points in my spiritual life, Tiffani Ann should read this book (If Her coffee drinking friend in Alaska will get it to her) **I am now accepting applicatians for a 'Virtuous Woman' (If you do not have a passion for souls and do NOT LOVE God with all you are, please do NOT respond)**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2000

    I beg to Defer from Publisher's Weekly Criticisms

    This book is written from a christain perspective and I wished that I had read it earlier in my life, as a lot of mistakes would have been avoided. The Publisher's Weekly Criticisms is unfounded in the sense that they do not view in book in the light of Godly principles. Obvoiusly any book that teaches abstinence from sex and that a man is the head - is mostly put down by the world because its values are on based on God's Word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2000

    A Refreshingly Biblical View to God's Plan 4 YOU

    This book was written from a completely Godly perspective and shares several well-written insights on dating, courtship, and marriage. You can also find out the purposes and pros/cons. Joshua Harris uses wonderful, modern examples that are interesting and would provide insight to young teens and young people especially.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2000

    Boy Meets Girl

    I really enjoyed this book. I love Joshua Harris, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading about his wife Shannon and the wonderful relationship they have. This book really gives great insight on how to be involved in a relationship and keep it pure in ALL aspescts. I really recommend this book and I hope everyone else benefits from Harris' insight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    This is a wonderful book!

    This book is a very refreshing book that illustrates the rewards of being patient and waiting for romance on God's timing. It is written in an honest and open fashion and has lots of humor and personal anecdotes. This book has some of the most romantic true stories that I have ever heard! I get goosebumps everytime! Anyway, this book was very encouraging to me and very inspiring. I would recommend it without a second thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4