Customer Reviews for

A Boy Named Shel: The Life and Times of Shel Silverstein

Average Rating 3
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Please i want his poems for FREE!!!!!

posted by 10550976 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Dear Barnes and Noble,

We wamt Shel Silvertein's POEMS! Like the books Where the Sidewal Ends, Falling Up, Light in the Attic. Or hos stories like The Giving Tree or The Missing Piece. Please let us be able to download them!

posted by 9028128 on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Dear Barnes and Noble,

    We wamt Shel Silvertein's POEMS! Like the books Where the Sidewal Ends, Falling Up, Light in the Attic. Or hos stories like The Giving Tree or The Missing Piece. Please let us be able to download them!

    20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    I agree!!

    I love his books such as: a pizza as big as the sun, when the sidewalk ends, falling up, a light in the attic, ect they really should put them on =]

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Anonymous

    Please i want his poems for FREE!!!!!

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    The reviews on here aren't helpful for consumers looking to purc

    The reviews on here aren't helpful for consumers looking to purchase this biography. Whether or not a book is available for the nook is generally up to the publisher. Not Barnes and Noble. In fact, users can go to the book they are looking for on the B&N website and click a link that requests the nook version become available through the publisher. There are a number of ways to air your grievances. The review section of Siverstein's bio isn't one. Furthermore, Shel Silverstein was very particular about how his books were published. He has involved in picking out the paper, the material for the cover, and even the fonts. Prior to his death his work was available almost exclusively in hardcover. Truth is, he would probably not be a fan of the nook as a format to deliver his work. Let's stop demanding free poems. And please, stop using this review process as a means to gripe to Barnes and Noble about their failure as a retailer when they have nothing to do with it. You all owe Lisa Rogak and Barnes and Noble an apology.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Really?

    Why on earth can we get an biography about a poet but none of his poems?

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    We the people

    We want poems plz thx!

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    We need his poems!

    We want poems.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Please sir I want some poems :(

    I think the consumers have spoken...we want some poems please :D

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    I have a dream

    I have a dream that one day shel silversteens poems will be on nook.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Poems

    We want hiis poems not biographys

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    We want more Shel!

    I would buy Where the Sidewalk Ends right now, if it were available! Loved it when I was a kid and I would love to share it with my children!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Heart

    Shel Silverstein is so good

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Poems

    We want Mr. Silverstein's poems. Not an autobio.
    Please take this into conssisaration.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    How is the biography??

    Nearly all of the reviews of this book here are worthless and off-topic, and I have flagged them as such. Did any of you even READ this book, before you decided to spew?

    Shel was an interesting person (did any of you know that he was a jazz musician, and a country music songwriter, as well as a children's poet?)

    If you want his peoms, here's a clue: go to a Barnes & Noble STORE and BUY them! You can them all there -- I did.

    And while you're there, ask the friendly B&N sftaff to explain the meaning of BOOK REVIEW to you. I'm guessing that you will probably be surprised.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Poetry

    Where is the rest ex. The giving tree, where the sidewalsk ends, falling up and many many more

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    I love his books!

    I have 2 of his books, everything on it and a light in the attic, i can relate to him because when there's nothing to do i sit down and read about 3 novels on average. (Im also a science nerd)

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Amy

    Sits on sand then goes to shell result one

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Scaaarrryyy

    This dud has gota to get major makeover he scares mw

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Grrrrrrrr

    I didnt want to learn about shel silverstein i wanted poems hugh soooo angry !!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Poems

    Wish i could read them

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2