Customer Reviews for

Boy Proof

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Boy Proof you can only hope so..

    Egg is such a fun silly character I loved her to death. I am not the person who usually likes people obsessed with Sci-Fi since my brother is one but her character is just so original, unique, and odd I felt like we could be friends and laugh at the people always trying to fit in. She is the type of person you would want for a friend. The plot also has such deep struggles that every person over 18 has gone through in their life. Just from the title you know this book is going to be about a boy but this story takes such a twist around that, that it is almost comical in the end when you realize she and the guy did end up together because for a while it doesn't look like they will even though the characters so perfect for each other. A very good teen book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    wow...thats all i can say....

    i loved this book its funny intersting and its what the real world is all about i read it in 2 hours it was so good cant wait to read more of her books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    What About 'boy proof'?

    This book 'boy proof', wasa book that i really liked. 'boy proof' will probobly never be read by a boy because, well just look at the title, 'boy proof'. This book is only for girls!! Here is why. This book is about a girl named Victoria, but hates her name! She loves being called egg because her favorite star is called egg. She does everything egg does including being 'boy proof'! One day a new kid comes into school and his name is Max. He is totally not popular because he's stinky, has bad breath, and has really bad dandruff. Apparently he has a little crush on Victoria 'egg'. Does Victoria 'egg' like him back? Will Victoria stick with eggs everymove and stay 'boy proof'? Read the book and find out! You wont regret it!! I liked this book because of the plot. I just loved the how Victoria acted in the story. She was bossy and a little crazy! I loved the plot in this book/story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    good book

    I checked this book out at my library just as one of those 'well i need a book fast' kinda things and I read it within a day. The sci-fi thing got me nervous at the beginning but there wasn't a whole lot of sci-fi at all. It was a really good book that i think a lot of teenagers who are trying to find themselves can relate to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Poorly written, cliche

    This book is written as if its target audience is a second-grader, but the characters are high school-aged and there is some cursing. Most of the dialogue seems fake, and it is simply unbearable when the main character attempts to be "deep." The pacing is odd, and i had to reread several parts to make sure I hadn't skipped anything. Overall, definitely not worth your eight dollars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Loved it

    The title exposes a relationship that is going to take place and the story is a different journey of a love story that u could never imagine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Ehhh

    This book wasn't too great... there was way too much cussing. The plotline was alright, and I think the ending could have used a little bit more work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Mickie

    Bluegrass state of mind

    So it is easier to talk to u umder the book that i am reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint.wordpress.com

    Cecil Castellucci's first novel for young adults was released in 2005. Since then Boy Proof has received a wide variety of accolades including selection as a Booksense 76 Children's Pick, BBYA 2006 and a Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers by the American Library Association (ALA). Happily, Ms. Castellucci has continued to write teen books as well as graphic novels targeted at teens. There are a lot of books (and television adaptations) out there that detail the lifestyles of the young and beautiful people. Boy Proof offers something slightly different.

    Victoria Jurgen, narrator of Boy Proof, would be the first to tell you that she is not beautiful (although she is young having skipped a grade she is a sixteen-year-old high school senior). Preferring the world of sci-fi movies for which her dad designs special effects and makeup, Victoria made a conscious choice to reinvent herself as her favorite character from "Terminal Earth." Victoria is, therefore, no longer Victoria but Egg. She wears a cloak, has shaved her head as well as her eyebrows which she colors with orange makeup, and is determined to keep everyone at bay--no matter how much they might want to be friends, especially boys. In other words, Egg has worked to make herself boy proof.

    At least, she thought she had until Max Carter starts at her school. In many ways, Max is the perfect counterpart to Egg, sharing her interest in the film industry (and sci-fi movies) as well as art, and acting as a good foil to her banter. But the harder Max tries to break into Egg's world, the harder she fights back. When Max starts dating a less boy proof (and more boring) girl, and Egg's own people--the members of her school's sci-fi club--forsake her, Egg begins to realize that maybe being boy proof isn't all it's cracked up to be. But after trying so hard to keep herself apart from, well, everyone, Egg has to think long and hard about how to get back in and what that might mean for a self-made loner.

    I love this book. It's one of the first I ever read that was written in the present tense which, at the time, seemed very original indeed (less so currently I muse admit) and made the narrative really grab readers' attention. This novel is really something unique, Egg lives a fairly privileged life being the daughter of a famous actress and a special effects guru but instead of stopping there, Boy Proof really focuses on Egg and her interactions with people. Castellucci's writing is excellent here creating a funny and compelling voice for Egg as well as a really enjoyable book.

    Many other reviewers have said this novel is great for people who want to embrace their inner-geek, loners, and even tough girls. I'd go a step further: Boy Proof is a great book for readers trying to find themselves--even if they think they've already done that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Perry for TeensReadToo.com

    Victoria "Egg" Jurgen is a loner and she likes it that way. Dressed in her long white cloak, with a shaved head and drawn-in eyebrows, she doesn't talk to people and doesn't want people to talk to her. Her look and attitude cause her to be "boy proof," according to her mother. Egg's unique style is fashioned after her favorite character from the movie Terminal Earth, which she has seen multiple times and as many as four times in one day. Egg refers to herself as a cinephile. She loves the film industry, especially the Sci-Fi world. <BR/><BR/>Egg considers herself the smartest person at her school and feels Valedictorian is pretty much in the bag. That is until Max shows up in her AP classes. Egg's first impression of Max is that he stinks, literally. The only thing she likes about him at all is his t-shirt that has the name of one of her favorite comic books on it. Max seems to be everywhere. He is a wonderful artist and joins the school's newspaper where Egg acts as a photo journalist. Getting to know Max turns out to be a life-changing experience for Egg. <BR/><BR/>As senior year progresses, Egg becomes more involved in activities that put her in contact with people. She learns what it means to be a friend and how important it is to have them in your life. She realizes that people aren't always as they seem and that being perfect isn't necessary for happiness. Egg learns a lot in one year's time; even how to leave Egg behind and become simply Victoria. <BR/><BR/>Cecil Castellucci has written a thoughtful story about the sensitive time in every young adult's life - self-discovery. Written in first person, this novel launches you into Egg's world and leaves you feeling as though you are experiencing life through her eyes. The reader will sympathize with the ups and downs of the typical teenage angst that Victoria goes through in order to, once and for all, decide what it really takes for her to be happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    a reviewer

    Victoria ¿Egg¿ Jurgen is a loner and she likes it that way. Dressed in her long white cloak, with a shaved head and drawn-in eyebrows, she doesn¿t talk to people and doesn¿t want people to talk to her. Her look and attitude cause her to be 'boy proof,' according to her mother. Egg¿s unique style is fashioned after her favorite character from the movie Terminal Earth, which she has seen multiple times and as many as four times in one day. Egg refers to herself as a cinephile. She loves the film industry, especially the Sci-Fi world. Egg considers herself the smartest person at her school and feels Valedictorian is pretty much in the bag. That is until Max shows up in her AP classes. Egg¿s first impression of Max is that he stinks, literally. The only thing she likes about him at all is his t-shirt that has the name of one of her favorite comic books on it. Max seems to be everywhere. He is a wonderful artist and joins the school¿s newspaper where Egg acts as a photo journalist. Getting to know Max turns out to be a life-changing experience for Egg. As senior year progresses, Egg becomes more involved in activities that put her in contact with people. She learns what it means to be a friend and how important it is to have them in your life. She realizes that people aren¿t always as they seem and that being perfect isn¿t necessary for happiness. Egg learns a lot in one year¿s time even how to leave Egg behind and become simply Victoria. Cecil Castellucci has written a thoughtful story about the sensitive time in every young adult¿s life ¿ self-discovery. Written in first person, this novel launches you into Egg's world and leaves you feeling as though you are experiencing life through her eyes. The reader will sympathize with the ups and downs of the typical teenage angst that Victoria goes through in order to, once and for all, decide what it really takes for her to be happy. **Reviewed by: Karin Perry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    I got this book from the libary, after reading the frist 20 pages, i took me 3 times of looking (and reading) it, for me to chech it out because of the sci-fi thing it didn't look all that great, But once i checked it out i read it in a day. This is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Loved it

    I really enjoyed this book . It took me ON a little journey . I love Wow you she was so weird .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    this is a very good book

    i loved this book!! it took me a little time to understand but, the ending was so sweet. I wished they make a part 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    1st

    I'm the first reviewer!! No, I really did like this book. It took forever for me to get it though. Because I saw it at target, but we had to leave. So I requested at the library, and they had to get it mailed in, so it took me forever, but I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2