Customer Reviews for

Boy Toy

Average Rating 5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    In BOY TOY, author Barry Lyga takes readers on an incredible journey into a world that, for some, like main character Josh Mendel, is all too real. Josh's life was changed at age twelve when his teacher took the role of educator far beyond the limits of acceptable behavior. Lyga's story does not cut corners or mince words. He is straightforward and direct in telling Josh's story. His graphic descriptions may have earned him criticism, but they have also made his story a powerful one. <BR/><BR/>Josh Mendel loves baseball. He is a wiz at math. His best friend, Zik, seems to be the one with the rocky home life and all the problems, but not for long. <BR/><BR/>Mrs. Evelyn Sherman is the new history teacher recently transferred from the local high school to the middle school. She is drop-dead gorgeous. All the boys probably find it a bit embarrassing to stand up and leave the classroom some days. Josh certainly does. <BR/><BR/>Josh's involvement with Mrs. Sherman begins when she praises his writing and asks him to help her with a project for her graduate class. Honored and excited, Josh is eager to help. Problems at home make staying after school, and later actually going home with Mrs. Sherman, a convenience for Josh and his parents. He begins spending more and more time with her even after her project is complete. <BR/><BR/>At first, being in Mrs. Sherman's apartment everyday after school is exciting, because Josh gets to play unlimited video games, drink Coke, and hang out with an attentive, beautiful woman. His time in the apartment becomes even more fascinating when Mrs. Sherman begins inviting him to help her cook dinner and sip wine with her. Then kisses begin - tentative and then passionate. The passion moves from petting to full-on sexual experimentation. <BR/><BR/>Josh is addicted. There are feelings of guilt, but those feelings are outweighed by the incredible physical pleasure Mrs. Sherman offers. Life is spiraling out of control. <BR/><BR/>The world comes crashing down when Josh finds himself playing spin the bottle with Rachel. He and Rachel have been friends on the baseball field for as long as he can remember, but when Josh's newfound experience turns the innocent teenage game too sexually explicit, Rachel runs screaming to her parents. The "game" is over, and Josh's secret is about to come out in the open. <BR/><BR/>BOY TOY is not a short romp between the sheets. In fact, it has raised many eyebrows in the world of YA literature. Readers will see exactly what went on with Mrs. Sherman, but they will also see deeply into the world of a young man trying to continue with life, make amends to his friends, and make plans for his future. It has a strong, powerful story to tell, and it tells that story well.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great book

    All i can say is wow i got hooked from the start ;)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Loved it!

    This book is very good. I couldn't put it down i literally finished in a day! I highly recommend this book, but onlu for older teens and adults. Enjoy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    left speechless

    There is so much to say about this book but i dont know where to start and am left speechless. the story is real and unforgettable with it all coming together in the end leaving you with a haunting feeling for more but not. This isn't a story about the forbidden teacher/student love that many fantisize about, this story is the realism behind what actually goes down between an adult teacher and a young student that you might not have realized was there. Its a great read and i couldn't put it down once i started. it definitely was not what i expected but i would still recommened it to mature readers who love to hear a good story with all the details you wanted to know about a situation like this and all the ones you didn't.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    bookwormMA

    I highly recommend this incredible book to avid, mature readers who can bhandle some very risky subjects. I fell in love with this book, and its realistic writing. It felt like I was in the room with Mrs.sherman, and Josh. I was amazed at the subject of this book. It really makes you stop and think about things. I praise the author for writing such a book, because I haven't found one like this before, and I think that it was an important story that needed to be told. It really touched me, and changed my life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    Big story. . .cleverly disguised as fluff. . .

    Boy was the dust jacket misleading on this one! Thinking to read a light and fluffy story about a young man who is used as arm candy for the socialite girls of a high school, I stepped waist deep into the waters of female teacher to male student molestation. Was it an excellent book? Unquestionably. The story of seduction and the life afterwards is told by Josh Mendel, the victim who takes full responsibility for what an adult did to him when he was twelve years old. This story is not for the faint of heart or the censors who would find the sexual history a little too graphic for comfort. At the end, though, the reader is left breathless by the brutal honesty, but hopeful that the main character is going to be okay. In a day and age of Mary Kaye Le Tourneau and other female predators, this controversial topic is worth reading. Boys are frequently overlooked as the victims of sexual abuse, and this gently probes all of the painful layers that this particular offense affects. I recommend it, though suggest that teachers who want to use it as part of the curriculum do so with caution and much dialogue.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    ...

    At first the concept seems a little eh, but its a great book. I read it in a matter of hours, couldnt put it down

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great

    It was awesome!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    Boy Toy by Barry Lyga has to be one of the most disturbing but great books I've ever read. The subject matter is unsettling, to say the least, but the way the author handled it amazed me. The fact that this subject was handled so delicately and exertly by a male writer was phenomenal.

    The story begins with 12 year old Josh carrying a private crush on his History teacher, Eve. Large for his age, Josh is sucked into a very adult and inappropriate relationship with Eve. The truth emerges when Josh attends a birthday party for one of his friends, Rachel, and a game of spin the bottle gets out of hand. Due to his actions in this scenario, Josh's secrets comes out to devastating results.

    Now, years later, Josh is 17 and about to graduate high school without ever having a normal, healthy relationship, especially not one with a girl his own age. He is angry and hostile, and fights his own inner feelings about Eve, even while battling a growing attraction to the very girl, Rachel, who started the downfall of his affair long ago.

    Being inside Josh's head as he battles his inner thoughts, desires, guilt, and new feelings is inspiring, unsettling, and at times, very uncomfortable. Although this book is labeled for teens, I would definitely not recommend it for younger teens, as the nature of the subject matter is very adult, and some of the scenes are extremely frank and gratuitous. This story, however, is definitely worth the read.

    I had a very difficult time putting it down and ended up reading it in one sitting. At the end of the book, you find yourself feeling sad for Josh's discoveries, but also very satisfied for his future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    really good, but not recommended for 13 yrs or younger...

    i loved this book. it just shows you what goes on behind closed doors.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!

    i had recently read the summary of this book and automatically put it into my shopping cart... i couldn't wait to read it. Once i received it i couldn't put it down. I was getting yelled at back and forth because i wouldn't DARE put the book down. I finished it in a day and a half. I've NEVER in my life read a book so fast. and i read A LOT! I could believe the realness of the book and i truly felt like i was in Josh's mind when reading. I'm so happy i got this book and i would ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND IT! yeah there some graphic parts in the book so if u can't take detailed sexual situations then i would advise u dont read it, but other then that READ IT!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just....Wow.....

    Ok, so I did not like this book. I LOVE THIS BOOK! It is simply a perfect read. Personally, it is and always will be my favorite book ever. When people ask me, this is the book i tell them about & recomend. I've read it 4 times and I'm buying it soon. Its dark, sexual, hilarious, and so damnn depressing. They need to make some type of adaption for a movie. It has all the components. Complex charetars and a mysterious plot....so yeah....over-all my alltime fav. book :) Anyone agree?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Everything That It Should Be

    Boy Toy tackles some serious subjects and themes, and certain sections are downright uncomfortable. But Lyga handles these difficult issues with dignity and heart, perfectly balancing the severity of the situations with the snarky sarcasm of the characters. It makes you laugh, cringe, and even want to cry...but most of all it makes you think. It's the kind of story that sticks with you long after the book is over, and makes you go back and reread it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    new favorite book!

    i absoulutly loved this book. it was AMAZINGLY written. i finished it in 2 days. i felt like a actually new the characters and it was an amazing story that really brings to light some tough issues to talk about. highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    Boy Toy was such an intriguing read. The author is so real and raw, and has a honest concept of what teens actually think and act. When reading this book you almost couldn't believe it. I love how it flips from the past and the present, and in the beggining only gives you tid bits of information, as if daring you to keep reading to find out what REALLY happened. Barry Lyga is a wonderful author, and if you've read The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Gothgirl and enjoyed it, you will like Boy Toy 10X better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    Absolutely AMAZING!!!

    I'm the type of person where if the first page doesn't interest me, I put the book down and never pick it up agian. This was NOT one of those books. It was captivating and riveting, and from the first page, I just couldn't stop reading it. I loved it. I actually felt as if I was watching this whole disaster unfold right in front of me instead of reading about it.I loved it so much, I gave it to my friend, who read it in like 2 days. If you want to read a brilliantly written book, READ HIS BOOK. You won't regret it, I swear!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Wow

    Wow! This book was fantastic! It had me from start to finish, feeling all kinds of different emotions while reading this! Really incredibly messed up story that you just can't look away from it like a car accident! Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    I thought this took me into the real world of rape and it was br

    I thought this took me into the real world of rape and it was breathtaking. Lyga didn't tip toe around the subject. He hit it, dead on. Probably my favorite book now &lt;3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lyga's grabbed me again

    I wish I could give 4 & 1/2 stars. This book kept me intrigued. Love Barry Lyga's style of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    KateM.

    I just loved this book! It's deep, dark, and humorious all in one. I revemend this book to people 12+. You will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4