Customer Reviews for

The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven: A Remarkable Account of Miracles, Angels, and Life beyond This World

Average Rating 4
( 796 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(368)

4 Star

(190)

3 Star

(127)

2 Star

(55)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

Hey

I was born and raised in an atheist Communist family, and one year ago, at the age of fifteen, I became a Christian. I became a Christian because I wanted to, without anyone's urging or suggestion, completely of my own free will. But even now, my parents and brother are...
I was born and raised in an atheist Communist family, and one year ago, at the age of fifteen, I became a Christian. I became a Christian because I wanted to, without anyone's urging or suggestion, completely of my own free will. But even now, my parents and brother are not Christians, and that has strained our relationship on both sides. This book is truly beautiful and touching. I understand if someone is skeptical, but what I do not understand is how some of these reviewers can have such little faith in a suffering family and actually truly think that they have made up this story just for financial aid. A true Christian would never do so, nor would they so harshly accuse others of doing so. I believe this story, even if no one else in this entire world does, and I wish this family the best of hope in a future of great promise. Just have a little faith, guys...why is that so hard for you to do?

God bless this family, and God bless Kevin and Alex. I, for one, strongly recommend this great book to anyone and everyone, and I truly believe Alex's story.

posted by Ralnon on October 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Not believable

This book is such a good read. I must have read it in a day!



As a parent, this book makes you think. It is the worst thing that could happen to you, your child, and your family.



The authors are a father and son who were on their way back home from church ...
This book is such a good read. I must have read it in a day!



As a parent, this book makes you think. It is the worst thing that could happen to you, your child, and your family.



The authors are a father and son who were on their way back home from church one Sunday and got into a car accident. The boy at the times was six years old, which is the age of my oldest right now. The book goes into detail of the thoughts of the parents, the medical personnel, and the boy who went to Heaven and came back again!



The pain, fear, questions the parents were facing make you think about your own situation and what you would go through if this happened to you. I could not imagine what I would be feeling, and I applaud them from being able to make it through . But, this family did which gives hope to the rest of us.



I am not the one to pick up a book about people "claiming" to go to Heaven, Hell, or to have "died" and "came back". I just don't know whether to believe their stories because we don't know what there after death and if I knew what there was after death(because of some sort of near death experience or whatever happened to me) I would not be telling people about it. I would share my experience with my family, but nobody else.



So, I never know whether to believe these people or think, what are they thinking telling what it is like there, won't the Lord our God be upset?



The only thing I didn't like about this book was the son's accounts. It states in the book he started telling his story when he awoke, which was when he was six years old. Having a six year old, I know what their vocabulary is and what it isn't. Some of his "story" which is supposedly his "own" words, just don't seem like a child of six years old to me.



All in all, this is a good book to read, but I don't believe it as much as they would want me to.

Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

posted by mom2girlsnboy on July 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    Not believable

    This book is such a good read. I must have read it in a day!



    As a parent, this book makes you think. It is the worst thing that could happen to you, your child, and your family.



    The authors are a father and son who were on their way back home from church one Sunday and got into a car accident. The boy at the times was six years old, which is the age of my oldest right now. The book goes into detail of the thoughts of the parents, the medical personnel, and the boy who went to Heaven and came back again!



    The pain, fear, questions the parents were facing make you think about your own situation and what you would go through if this happened to you. I could not imagine what I would be feeling, and I applaud them from being able to make it through . But, this family did which gives hope to the rest of us.



    I am not the one to pick up a book about people "claiming" to go to Heaven, Hell, or to have "died" and "came back". I just don't know whether to believe their stories because we don't know what there after death and if I knew what there was after death(because of some sort of near death experience or whatever happened to me) I would not be telling people about it. I would share my experience with my family, but nobody else.



    So, I never know whether to believe these people or think, what are they thinking telling what it is like there, won't the Lord our God be upset?



    The only thing I didn't like about this book was the son's accounts. It states in the book he started telling his story when he awoke, which was when he was six years old. Having a six year old, I know what their vocabulary is and what it isn't. Some of his "story" which is supposedly his "own" words, just don't seem like a child of six years old to me.



    All in all, this is a good book to read, but I don't believe it as much as they would want me to.

    Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

    13 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Not What I Expected

    I thought it would be about the boy's experience in heaven, etc., but there really was very little of that. To me, the true story was how the community, and especially the church, rallied around this family in their time of need. It appears that every single need was taken care of for years, and that is a true testament of how Christians should treat others. What a blessing these people were!

    However, what really turned me off in this book was that after all that was done for the family, they left that church and turned to a church that seemingly could provide them even more financial support. I would sure love to know what people from the first church think of this family now. The father at times comes off as greedy, a "taker." When their roof is damaged in a storm, he talks about how he has insurance, yet then goes on and on about how people from the church fixed it for free on their free time. Why didn't he use the insurance like most people would do? I don't understand that.

    There was very little said about why they changed churches, but it does leave me wondering if there was some falling out or if people got tired of the family expecting others to do everything for them.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    It's all about who?

    If you think this is about the boy, it's not. It's all about the family an how they coped emotionally and monetarily while the boy was in a coma. The tidbits from Alex about his experience in heaven is only a few pages and the book is 160 pages. Do the math.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Not my cup of tea. Too religious for me. Sad, true story about a child that survives an awful car accident.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Dominik

    Not good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Family dispute

    This book is not endorsed by the author's wife, Beth Malarkey. She claims Alex their son also is not backing up the story. I don't know what is going on between the family, but it is not comforting to know that people involved have their own agenda other than telling the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Wow

    It sounds good after reading heaven is for real. Im gonna get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Aylahthelen is adome ya she is what bout you i theinh sfhfufjfiiikjjjjjjjjjjjurrjkaylajthelnthalrn kalajthskaahhrlnkaylahthslnkalahtheleKatlahtjahajajfufikkkkkhaylahtjwlankaylahheln kaylahthelen kaylah thwlwn kayla helen kaylhthelen kayhtjelen kaylah

    HhkaylajtjwlentzufrfkujaylJhrlwn kayahhelenkaahjtlem

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Makes you wonder

    I read the book but I'm not sure if it's actually a true account...I'd like to believe it is but.....Alex suffered serious traumatic injuries and recovered better than expected. I believe in guardian angels and all, but this seems a little to "detailed" and "mature" for a kid his age. So I'm not quite sure all of it happened as "Alex believes" or what he dreamed happened. Read it and make your own conclusions.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    ih

    h 1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Reads like and Advertisment for Church.

    The book began with great philosophical food for thought and descended quickly into an advertisment for Christianity. While I understand the family's faith was a big part of the story of Alex, it was a little too "churchy" for me. It seemed many of the people surrounding Alex exhaulted him. While reading the book, I was more focused on finding the personal stories about Alex's experiences that were woven in between the tales of financial problems that befell the family. It would have been better had it been written from Alex's perspective and given more insight into what as behind his will to live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    A misnomer

    I picked up this book after reading "Heaven Is For Real" by Todd Burpo. I thought that this book would give insights as to what heaven may be like. Instead, this book focused more on the family struggle in coping with a deadthly ill son. The son's heavenly experiences are brief and very vague. This book did not leave a long lasting spitirual impression on me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3