BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven: A Remarkable Account of Miracles, Angels, and Life beyond This World

Average Rating 4
( 806 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(376)

4 Star

(191)

3 Star

(127)

2 Star

(56)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

73 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Hey

I was born and raised in an atheist Communist family, and one year ago, at the age of fifteen, I became a Christian. I became a Christian because I wanted to, without anyone's urging or suggestion, completely of my own free will. But even now, my parents and brother are...
I was born and raised in an atheist Communist family, and one year ago, at the age of fifteen, I became a Christian. I became a Christian because I wanted to, without anyone's urging or suggestion, completely of my own free will. But even now, my parents and brother are not Christians, and that has strained our relationship on both sides. This book is truly beautiful and touching. I understand if someone is skeptical, but what I do not understand is how some of these reviewers can have such little faith in a suffering family and actually truly think that they have made up this story just for financial aid. A true Christian would never do so, nor would they so harshly accuse others of doing so. I believe this story, even if no one else in this entire world does, and I wish this family the best of hope in a future of great promise. Just have a little faith, guys...why is that so hard for you to do?

God bless this family, and God bless Kevin and Alex. I, for one, strongly recommend this great book to anyone and everyone, and I truly believe Alex's story.

posted by Ralnon on October 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Not believable

This book is such a good read. I must have read it in a day!



As a parent, this book makes you think. It is the worst thing that could happen to you, your child, and your family.



The authors are a father and son who were on their way back home from church ...
This book is such a good read. I must have read it in a day!



As a parent, this book makes you think. It is the worst thing that could happen to you, your child, and your family.



The authors are a father and son who were on their way back home from church one Sunday and got into a car accident. The boy at the times was six years old, which is the age of my oldest right now. The book goes into detail of the thoughts of the parents, the medical personnel, and the boy who went to Heaven and came back again!



The pain, fear, questions the parents were facing make you think about your own situation and what you would go through if this happened to you. I could not imagine what I would be feeling, and I applaud them from being able to make it through . But, this family did which gives hope to the rest of us.



I am not the one to pick up a book about people "claiming" to go to Heaven, Hell, or to have "died" and "came back". I just don't know whether to believe their stories because we don't know what there after death and if I knew what there was after death(because of some sort of near death experience or whatever happened to me) I would not be telling people about it. I would share my experience with my family, but nobody else.



So, I never know whether to believe these people or think, what are they thinking telling what it is like there, won't the Lord our God be upset?



The only thing I didn't like about this book was the son's accounts. It states in the book he started telling his story when he awoke, which was when he was six years old. Having a six year old, I know what their vocabulary is and what it isn't. Some of his "story" which is supposedly his "own" words, just don't seem like a child of six years old to me.



All in all, this is a good book to read, but I don't believe it as much as they would want me to.

Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

posted by mom2girlsnboy on July 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Hey

    I was born and raised in an atheist Communist family, and one year ago, at the age of fifteen, I became a Christian. I became a Christian because I wanted to, without anyone's urging or suggestion, completely of my own free will. But even now, my parents and brother are not Christians, and that has strained our relationship on both sides. This book is truly beautiful and touching. I understand if someone is skeptical, but what I do not understand is how some of these reviewers can have such little faith in a suffering family and actually truly think that they have made up this story just for financial aid. A true Christian would never do so, nor would they so harshly accuse others of doing so. I believe this story, even if no one else in this entire world does, and I wish this family the best of hope in a future of great promise. Just have a little faith, guys...why is that so hard for you to do?

    God bless this family, and God bless Kevin and Alex. I, for one, strongly recommend this great book to anyone and everyone, and I truly believe Alex's story.

    73 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    Very enlightening...

    I picked up this book as I was browsing through the bookstore. The title captured my interest. Then reading the first two pages of the introduction made me want to read this book. And I'm so glad I read it! It is a heart-wrenching story with insights into faith and love. I really recommend this book--the story has put things into perspective in this world full of questions. I hope you will be as touched by this story as I was.

    38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven by Kevin & Alex Malarkey

    The Malarkey family had no idea that one day could change the rest of their lives, but hat is how God works a lot of the time. He like to get your attention in big ways. Often in ways at first we cannot understand. He makes it undeniable for you to see His hands in the situation very clear.

    The Malarkey family's story started one Sunday afternoon when Kevin and his son Alex where on their way home from church. It was on that day that a car accident left little Alex in a coma and a quadriplegic. Little did the family and those around them know, but the Lord was answering all the prayers from the prayer warriors that had formed a community of faith around the Malarkey family. Not only where the Alex's prayer army doing amazing things, but Alex while in his two month coma experienced the beauty of Heaven, God, Jesus, and was even face to face with Satan himself.

    Through Alex's accident and journey towards recovery the healing power and grace of the Lord can be seen moving in dramatic ways. With prayer warriors praying for Alex and God continually blessing the Malarkey family there is still hope and belief that Alex will walk again. Whether it be on this earth or in Heaven they are not sure, but they do know that the Lord will have his will in the situation.

    Kevin and Alex do a wonderful job with this book. You can truly feel the the love and faith they have as you read through the pages. Alex's accounts of Heaven, God, angels, and satan are truly moving.

    All who read this book will be humbled by Alex's faith, his love for others, and love for the Kingdom of God. We can definitely all learn something from Alex Malarkey, and strive to have the faith of this young child who has passed insurmountable odds that has given him wisdom way beyond his years.

    Alex in the book was concerned that his story if published would take all of the spotlight of God. He feared that the story would feel more about him and we would loose sight of what we should be focusing on. Alex, rest assured that they Lord is speaking powerfully through through the pages of this book and your life.

    In conclusion, this book truly is an inspiration and a testimony to the healing hand of God. It would be hard for me to believe that anyone who has heard, or will hear Alex's story to say there is not a God.

    I received The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven by Kevin & Alex Malarkey as a complementary review copy from Tyndale Publishers.
    Get this book today, it gives new meaning to "having faith like a child."

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    Best book ever written!!

    This is the most amazing and inspirational book I have ever read! I have always been a believer but this book opened my eyes to so much more. Thank you for sharing your story. I'm so happy that Alex is doing better everyday. I will continue to pray for the whole family and his army!

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "God is amazing. I am just a kid" - Alex Malarkey

    We were made for so much more than the things of this world. Sometimes we can sense it...we have a restless, dissatisfied feeling that we don't quite belong here, that this is not our final home.

    Yet who do you know who has been to the next world? Sure, you may have heard stories of white light and tunnels and near-death experiences. But what if there was a person who had been to Heaven - who had actually walked through the gates - and stayed long enough to learn about the things of God? Would you be interested in what he had to stay?

    Meet Alex Malarkey. Alex and his dad, Kevin, were in a car accident so horrific that emergency workers recommended calling the coroner to the scene for Alex. For the next two months, Alex lingered in a coma. When he finally awoke, he revealed something amazing: He had spent time in Heaven with Jesus while unconscious and had come back with astonishing revelations about what he had seen, heard, and experienced.

    You may be intrigued. You may be skeptical. You may be hungry to know more about what lies beyond life on earth. Join Alex on his journey... and your life may be changed forever.

    "Let the children come to me. Don't stop them! For the Kingdom of God belongs to those who are like these children." - Mark 10:14 (excerpt from inside cover).

    My Review:

    I have no doubt in my mind what so ever that the things Alex and his father Kevin share in their personal true story called The Boy Who Came Back From Heaven by Alex and Kevin Malarkey, is 100% true.

    The pictures contained in the book are so undeniable that Alex's injury that he sustained that day in the car accident with his father, should have a different outcome. He shouldn't have survived. No one with that type of injury severing their spinal colon from their skull at the base of the neck, shouldn't be alive.

    Yet despite all the doctors and eye witnesses, Alex continues to be a personal testimony to the amazing power of what God can do when people gather together to pray. ALL things are possible with God, not just some. And that is the point Alex is making in sharing his story in this wonderful book. It's not about him, it's about the hope that lies within all of us that have that relationship with God.

    The story Alex tells of his personal time in heaven is amazing even though he can't begin to accurately describe it knowing our earth and words today. The angels, the Throne Room of God, the Inner and Outer parts of Heaven, Hell and the devil and his demons are all something Alex has been given the opportunity to have the veil of the unseen world removed. He can see things now that none of us can.

    This is Alex's life testimony and one you can continue to view on PrayforAlex.com to see his ongoing progress, and personal pictures of the healing power of God so far in his life. He still has a way to go, but God will heal this amazing child and use him in powerful way to bring God all the glory.

    I was provided with a complimentary copy of this book through Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review and rate this a perfect 10 stars. It's a book you can't pass up. It will change your life forever. I know it has changed mine. This book is available in hardcover, DVD and CD. For more information on this book, the amazing authors and where to purchase your copy, click on the link below:

    http://mediacenter.tyndale.com/1_products/details.asp?isbn=978-1-4143-3606-0

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heaven

    This is an incredible book, The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven. The day I received it, I read half the book. I could not put it down. I finished it in two days and have recommended it to at least a dozen people. This family is very humble and it shows in their writing of this book

    This book will inspire you for the very beginning. It has increased my faith and has encouraged me greatly. Also, it will sled light on the spiritual warfare that goes on in this world.

    Tyndale House Publishers has provided you with a complimentary copy of this book or ARC.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    Excellent Faith Builder

    I have read many reviews on this book from what I would call Hard Hearted People who don't realize that with God all things are possible. This child was open to God and that let God work through him. God gave him a deeper look at heaven then most people experience in a near death experience. I have anjoyed what I have read so far, and will continue to read the book to it's entirety. Have an open mind and God will truely bless you for that!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Wonderful book by an amazing family

    This book is not about Alex, the book is written to glorify God and the work done by God. What I can tell you is that this book has brought me closer to the Lord.

    Alex is an amazing individual with a supportive and loving family.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazingly Encouraging Book!

    I was sent this book to review by the publisher for review. And all I can do is say AWESOME - and not because I was sent the book! It arrived today and I just was going to read for a little bit - well - I couldn't put it down. What an amazing testimony of faith, endurance and God's providence! It inspired me on so many personal levels. Alex is a remarkable young man as is his entire family. I read with awe the outpouring of prayer and love from the community and across the world. I know this book is going to continue the work that God began as this family stepped out in faith to share how awesome God is. And as Alex requested - while it totally shares their transparent journey through Alex's recovery and healing it most assuredly points the readers to God's power and love! I have had my eyes opened more to God's majesty here and in Heaven! I recommend this - and we are going to read it together as a family - I already shared Alex's descriptions of Angels with my 3 children.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    Amazing!

    I have been a strong Christian my entire life. That being said, this book has rocked me to he core. I was crying by the end of the first chapter. What Alex and his family went through is beyond imagination. That we serve a God who is full of love, mercy and grace is something I will never take for granted again. This is a must read book! My prayers go out to Alex and his family.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It will really get you thinking.

    In 2004, Kevin Malarkey and his six-year-old son, Alex, were in a horrible accident. No one thought Alex would live. But two months later he woke up with an amazing story to share. He talks about events that took place at the scene of the accident and at the hospital-he was unconscious in both places. He says Jesus was with him, or one if his angels, telling him that everything would be okay.

    This is an amazing story. I wanted to read it because it was real. I read a lot of fiction, but stories like these excite me. They validate my faith, which is always the coolest thing. My favorite parts of the book were Alex's parts. The book is mostly written from Dad's point of view. He explains what happened. The accident, going to the hospital, waiting, talking with his wife, the doctors, pastors, and friends. But Alex's words are interspersed, telling us where he was and what he was doing while everyone else was waiting. It's fascinating. I also enjoyed seeing the stories of other people-people who felt called to pray for Alex and later shared their story with his parents. God works in amazing ways. Sometimes I think we get so caught up in life, we think we know how God works. I don't think we have a clue just how much God is at work in ways we'll never see until Heaven.

    Ever since I read Frank Peretti's This Present Darkness, I was changed. I believe he's on to something the way he depicts angles and demons in his novel. But that's just a story. Frank made it up. But Alex's life is real. He talked with these angels, and he didn't like it when the bad ones came around. Looking to be inspired? Read this story. It will really get you thinking.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What I wanted was...

    I really wanted this book to be a description of Heaven and the story of what the child experienced when he was there. However, it was pretty much the father telling the story with sprinklings of the child's experience. That being said, it was still an amazing book showing us that a six-year-old paraplegic child is so in-tune with God and has so much to share with us. Due to all of the prayer from an army and everyone's strong beliefs in God, you don't feel pity for the family.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Awesome

    This is an awesome book. I couldnt put it down. God is sooooo good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Awesome!

    I am a Christian so for me this book was an awesome read. It is truly a remarkable account of this family's journey. Although Alex is a very truly inspiring person and I was deeply touched by his testimony of heaven and continual visits there, I was moved by the father Kevin and things from his point of view. Alex is truly a remarkable child that God has His hand upon. I can hardly wait to hear more from him. I hope one day he is allowed to share more with us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Christian Woman

    I thought for sure he was going to die. Alexs head was almost dislocated and his dad was saved by five angels that carried him out of the car. They flew him into a hospital then transferred him to a childrens hospital. They took him into immediate surgery and came out in the ICU. He was hooked up to tubes and on a ventilator. The doctors said he wouldnt live but mrs. and mr. Malarky trusted in God to save their son. God is the ruler over things. We should trust in God to protect us from the evil one like alex was being attacked and he couldnt cry out to Jesus. I believed alex would be fully healed just like his parents did. I will pray for you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    AMAZING!

    This book was amazing i would recomend it 100%

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Wow

    Omg this book looks so good. Is it the sequal to Heaven is for Real?? It seems to have the same theme.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    It Is True

    Today, I got to listen to the author and for all those people saying what this book is about is wrong. I believe thathe is telling the truth about his young son in the car accident and being in "outer-heaven." There are a couple stories about kids being in heaven, and I think God is doing this so these young kids can go around and tell the remarkable and unforgetable story and this little boy did that by trlling his father this information so that people would have total faith in heaven so when they pass, or know someone has passed, they will be able to be more comfortable with the idea of death. Like I like to say; everyone wants to go to heaven but nobody wants to die. This book is recommened to people who would like to learn more about heaven.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Alex's story.

    A great book. Recommended for all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Even In Our Darkest Hours, The Power Of God Is At Work

    It is virtually impossible not to be moved by this true story. You will feel like you are there with Kevin Malarkey every step of the way in this incredible journey. This book is highly recommended. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score." It is an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness and one that every woman deserves to read. Buy it and find out why for yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19