Customer Reviews for

The Boy Who Could See Demons: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Do you ever have a novel which you cannot put away? One in which

Do you ever have a novel which you cannot put away? One in which you read the last page and you have to tell the world about it? One in which you want to reread the minute you close the last page? One in which you think about as you open the pages of a new book … even ...
Do you ever have a novel which you cannot put away? One in which you read the last page and you have to tell the world about it? One in which you want to reread the minute you close the last page? One in which you think about as you open the pages of a new book … even after you are reading the 76th page of that new novel? I feel this way about The Boy Who Could See Demons, I am so excited about this book, I could scream. My only problem is not a lot of people enjoy reading these types of books so my screaming about its greatness, has to be to a selective audience. If you are a person who likes psychological chillers, pick this baby up! Told in alternating chapters, the story is told from the lives of ten-year old Alex and his doctor, Anya. The story opens up with Alex explaining his monster Ruen who appears only to him in the form of four beings. Alex is one courageous child to handle these spirits without going crazy himself. He has a social worker already who is working to protect him but with a mother who is suicidal, his life is not easy. Anya is his new child psychiatrist and she’s new in town. Anya is fighting her own ghosts as she deals with the death of her daughter. As Anya tries to uncover the mystery of Alex’s monster and help with his home situation, Anya has to deal with her own issues to see the full picture.
I loved the alternating chapters as I pieced together where Ruen came in on Alex’s like and what part he played for him. Finding out about Anya’s life also was like reading two stories and how she was also healing at the same time she was helping Alex. I was so engrossed in this book that I could not put it down. I can’t say enough about this book. When I was finished, I was left shaking my head, really!?! A masterpiece, I say. I needed to wipe this grin off my face – wow! Take a breath….I just hope other readers get the same reaction as I did. Now to see if I can get this reaction off another one of her books.

posted by Sandy5 on April 12, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great read - disappointed by the ending

I really enjoyed the book until the end! Was not happy with the way the author chose to end

posted by PJMitch on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Do you ever have a novel which you cannot put away? One in which

    Do you ever have a novel which you cannot put away? One in which you read the last page and you have to tell the world about it? One in which you want to reread the minute you close the last page? One in which you think about as you open the pages of a new book … even after you are reading the 76th page of that new novel? I feel this way about The Boy Who Could See Demons, I am so excited about this book, I could scream. My only problem is not a lot of people enjoy reading these types of books so my screaming about its greatness, has to be to a selective audience. If you are a person who likes psychological chillers, pick this baby up! Told in alternating chapters, the story is told from the lives of ten-year old Alex and his doctor, Anya. The story opens up with Alex explaining his monster Ruen who appears only to him in the form of four beings. Alex is one courageous child to handle these spirits without going crazy himself. He has a social worker already who is working to protect him but with a mother who is suicidal, his life is not easy. Anya is his new child psychiatrist and she’s new in town. Anya is fighting her own ghosts as she deals with the death of her daughter. As Anya tries to uncover the mystery of Alex’s monster and help with his home situation, Anya has to deal with her own issues to see the full picture.
    I loved the alternating chapters as I pieced together where Ruen came in on Alex’s like and what part he played for him. Finding out about Anya’s life also was like reading two stories and how she was also healing at the same time she was helping Alex. I was so engrossed in this book that I could not put it down. I can’t say enough about this book. When I was finished, I was left shaking my head, really!?! A masterpiece, I say. I needed to wipe this grin off my face – wow! Take a breath….I just hope other readers get the same reaction as I did. Now to see if I can get this reaction off another one of her books.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    Incredibly well thought out concept. In her own way the author h

    Incredibly well thought out concept.
    In her own way the author has shone the light on an issue, which I personally believe doesn't get the attention it deserves.
    The mental health medical care situation in N.Ireland is lacking and antiquated, much like their views on abortion. The time of The Troubles, as they are called, have left a huge impact on their society. Globally everyone will be aware of the actual events, but how many of us realise that the trauma of those events have left their imprint on younger generations. The children and family members of those targetted by violence. The country has seen a high rise in mental health issues related to post traumatic reactions.
    I do not under any circumstance want to appear as if I have forgotten the flip side of the coin, ergo any non NI persons who were involved and whose families are just as traumatised by the violence. This book features in NI so I will stick to that.
    The main character is a young boy, who is either suffering from schizophrenia or just happens to be able to see demons. That question or rather the answer to it is handled like an excursion on a tightrope. The belief in the demon or devil draws you in only to be dispersed by common sense and medical knowledge. The psychiatrist treating him has personal demons of her own and saving the young boy has her crossing the boundaries both personally and professionally.
    That story on its own was intriguing and I found myself taking an interest in his well-being.
    Then the plot takes a gigantic swivel and literally implodes.
    I thoroughly enjoyed it.
    It was clever, sad, disturbing and emotional all at the same time.
    It also wasn't anything like I expected it to be.
    I received a copy of this book via NetGalley.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Unexpected & intriguing

    Very interesting story told from different view points of well developed characters. Excellent insight into psychological diagnostics with a completely unexpected twist! Although set in Northern Ireland with many strong references to socioeconomic issues the basic plot translates to nearly any poor, working class area.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Strikingly different and well written. The author did a superb j

    Strikingly different and well written. The author did a superb job of using Northern Ireland history and its impact on the present generation to base the fictitious story. It was a unique and successful undertaking. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Brilliant

    A must read. Beautifully written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Excellent

    Kept me on edge

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Great read - disappointed by the ending

    I really enjoyed the book until the end! Was not happy with the way the author chose to end

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Couldnt put it down

    Loved it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Recommended, with reservations

    I am in the process of reading this book right now.
    It takes a couple of chapters to understand what's going on, but I like the way the author informs you of whom the chapter is centered on;
    If it weren't for this, it would be hard to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Starts well, ends not so well

    The book starts well--characterization is well done, sharply drawn (although the language is not particularly scintillating), well-plotted, all of it holding the reader's attention and making him or her care about what happens to the characters. There is even the threat of some depth, as the characters begin delving into serious theological and philosophical writers and questions. I for one would've appreciated more material of that kind, and religious and philosophical exploration of all that the title of the book intimates. Sadly, I can only say (without spoiling the end completely) that the plot twist at the end pretty much felt cheap and useless. Maybe this was because the end was written with an eye towards bringing the book to a quick resolution (did the writer or the editor run out of steam? Maybe the writer was facing a deadline--who knows?) In any event, I found the ending profoundly disappointing and abysmally underwritten in comparison to the first 3/4 of the novel. There was much more territory that could've been explored in the ending the author chose; instead, the book comes to a quick and, to my mind, at least, unsatisfactory conclusion. So I can recommend the first three-quarters; you'll have to decide about the rest on your own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    It looks and sounds Ok.

    Mabey i'll look it up. Who knows

    1 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2015

    Get this now!

    Descriptive in the right way. Ending was awesome. Got your emotions going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2015

    Loved it... stayed up late to finish

    Loved it... stayed up late for this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    James

    Waits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

          The Boy Who Could See Demons is a phenomenal psychological

          The Boy Who Could See Demons is a phenomenal psychological thriller written with a fluent rhythmic prose and a storyline that will haunt you in the most delectable ways. Carolyn Jess-Cooke has emerged from a background of poetry and created a novel-sized masterpiece that will leave you breathless. This is one of those books that will cause you to slowly and carefully turn the last page and soak in the richness of everything you just experienced. It's one of those books that requires a "moment of silence" after you've finished reading it. I don't think I can stress how brilliant I found this book.

         Dr. Anya Molokova is a psychiatrist who is treating a young boy with a troubled disposition and the ability to see demons. However, Anya is also fighting with demons of her own kind after acknowledging the 4 year anniversary of her schizophrenic daughter's death. For those who are fascinated by psychological thrillers, the journey through the boy's treatment and the family dynamics integrated into the story will leave you reeling with questions and eager to turn the next page.

         There were so many elements of The Boy Who Could See Demons that I devoured while reading. The consistency of the text was spot on, and the reader has something to learn in the process. It was enchanting to absorb the mind of someone who suffers from mental illness. The author clearly did her research and opened a whole new territory of reality to her readers who may not have experienced situations such as these. I love books that keep me curious and asking questions.

         I will note that there are two versions of this book. There is a UK version and a US version. The two are similar other than their covers, and most importantly, their endings. They are the same book until you reach that final chapter. Apparently, the author rewrote the ending when it was released in the US. Now, I haven't read the UK ending, but I've read about it. I won't give any spoilers, but there are some controversies about how the book ended. My opinion? I LOVED the US ending. I thought the book was brilliant before, but after that...it raised to a whole new level brilliance that I could barely even comprehend. I hope to somehow get a chance to read the alternate ending so I can compare.

         If you like to delve into the mind of those suffering from mental illness, and enjoy a good mystery and suspenseful plot-twist written by a true word-painter...then you need to grab yourself a copy of this book! I had received a copy for my eReader, but I've already purchased the hardcover for my own personal library and recommended it to several of my Social Work friends. 5 bright, shiny, red giant stars!

    See full review @ The Indigo Quill . blogspot . com

    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    DRACO TOWER

    A large tower were a dragon egg and her mother is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Enjoyed it

    I enjoyed this book quite a bit. Good deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Pageturner

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Worth the read but...

    I was captivated by the whole book until the end. It's worth reading, I just wish it had a different outcome. Others might like it tho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Interesting read

    A little like "Sixth Sense". Easy, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3