BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Boy Who Couldn't Die

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    for language arts 2008

    this is a great book and a really moderately easy read. this entire book was such an easy read that it only took a day and a half. this was also helped by the fact that william sleator is a great sci-fi writer. one can only imagine what pain and suffering ken pritchard went through with all the death around him. The way sleator used his great figurative language and cunning story plot turned into a great story.Quite possibly one of the best books i've ever read, william sleator did a great job on this book. when i read the first paragraph of this book, i knew it was going to be amazing. i have read many of william sleator's books, and would recommend them to all who enjoyed this book.out of all of his books, i think sleator's best was this one.i was so surprised when i found this in my teachers bookshelf, and picked it up on silent reading day. this was an unforgettable book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Great Book

    This is a great book! At some parts it is a bit rushed, and the ending is a bit iffy, but Sleator does an awesome job in the composition of the rest of the book. I only really read certain types of books, and I really enjoyed this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    The Boy Who Couldn't Die

    I read the book The Boy Who Couldn't Die by William Sleator. It's a suspense filled novel about a boy named Ken, who after his best friend dies, decides he will never die. He found this woman who claimed she could make him invulnerable, and it worked. Ken touched a four hundred and fifty degree pan of cannelloni and didn't feel a thing. When Ken's annual spring break trip is comming up, he wanted to put his body to a real test. He saw a St. Calao island with a shark warning and told his parents it would be a great place to go. While he was there he met a girl named Sabine who knows a lot about vudo and magic. After she sees him get bit by a shark, she told him that he had to get his soul back from the lady that took it from him. I loved this book and you should definatley read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    The Boy Who Wouldn't Die

    The book I read was called The Boy Who Wouldn't Die by William Sleator. This book was a suspense novel that was focused around magic so it could be considered science fiction as well. After Ken¿s friend Roger was killed Ken decided he never wanted to die. Ken goes to a woman named Cherri Buttercup who makes him invulnerable by taking his soul and hiding somewhere safe. Ken then wants to test it this and see if it really works. He touches a hot frying pan and it doesn¿t burn him so he decides to take it to the extreme. He gets attacked in St. Calao by a shark. He meets a scuba instructor named Sabine and he falls in love with her. She sees him get attacked and finds out why it didn¿t bite his leg off. She tells him he needs to get his soul back. He finds out where it was hidden by listening to his dreams. Read to find out what happens next. This book was told in the first person. The narrator, a 16-year-old boy, did a very good job in telling the story. He discovered little clues to help solve his dilemma and just in the nick of time. He kept me interested in wanting to find out what would happen next. The story couldn't have been told in any other point of view that would be as good as in first person. Ken is the protagonist in this story. He is just an average person with no special abilities except that he can¿t die. I find more out about him through his actions. Also, I learn through his dialogue and interaction with others. He is not a very popular kid but is rich and gets what he wants. The writer uses good diction in order to create a vivid depiction in your mind. He also makes you think and gives you clues about a character. There isn¿t much foreshadowing but he does such a great job keeping your eyes glued to the page that you don¿t even notice it. I¿d definitely give this book two thumbs up. It was a great book and the best one I¿ve read so far this year. It kept my eyes on the page. I just kept reading and before I knew it, the book was almost over. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a fun book and can see past some events in the story that might be improbable. Review written by Paul Anderson

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    The Boy Who Couldn't Die is a fantastic book for readers who like horror, and romance.

    The author, William Sleator, has more than thirty years of experience with being an author. Young Ken's best friend, Roger, dies in a plane crash. Ken knows what he and Roger have in common; they can both die. Ken decides to seek help from an old woman who claims to possess the ability to make her customers invulnerable to pain and death. What Ken didn't realize is usually when something to good to be true, it's often false. Unable to control his dreams he seeks to get his soul back with a little help.
    Some phrases in the book support the different genres such as the horror: "This is awful! This is terrible! You've got to get your soul back right away. NOW! " Not all of it is just horror some is romantic: 'How could I ever had thought she wasn't beautiful?'
    This book is fantastic for any supernatural lovers!If you like any of those genres this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Good Concept

    The concept was very good but execution was off for me. I wanted to be scared but no such luck with this book. The events in this book might've frightened me if they were written differently. The intense scenes seemed pretty cheesy. The book was a bit repetitive with the whole, "Sabine is risking her life for me. She must really love me," thing. And the romance was also very cheesy. Some parts were very dumb and the twist with Sabine kinda crushed the whole cheesy romance. I didn't like this book. It is a pretty quick read though (I finished in a few hours) which was nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Immortal Trouble

    The Boy Who Couldn't Die, by William Sleator, is an amazing adventure through the mysteries of life. The main character, Ken, is faced with the horror of the death of his best friend Roger. After realizing that something like this could happen to him, he takes a huge and risky precaution to ensure his safety. However, when his decision turns bad, can he save himself from himself? This book is exceptionally a good read for adventure-loving readers, but can also be enjoyed by others. I highly recommend reading this edge-of-your-seat novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    I enjoyed reading this book, but like most short books I think that events moved a little too quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    The Boy Who Couln't Die

    This book is full of adventure and makes your mind wonder to the last moment. It is a thriller and a shocker. Ken wants to be invincible after is friend roger died. Was his choice a good one or a bad? This book is a nail biting terror mystery, and I absolutely love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    'The Boy Who Couln't Die'

    This is a good book if, like me, you have a library of books, and your undecided what to read. Grab this one!!! There were a few parts that were thrilling, which is a good thing. It had mystery, suspense, and there was a little bit of a love story going on, which got confusing at the end. It would have been better if the book was longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2008

    The Boy Who Couldnt Die

    This is a really good book if you like mysteries or a book that has alot of suspence in it . I really like to read but only when the book grabs my attention or the when the cover seens pretty good . I thought i wasnt going to like this book because it had a skull on the front cover but when i started reading this really great book by William Sleator (The Boy Who Couldn't Die) it started to grab my attention and i had to read this book for a class project soo i made a good choice on picking this book it really made me imagine my own liltle scence as i was reading this book beacuse it had so much mysterie and soo much great suspence.This book is mostlt about a boy name Ken and his best friend Roger died in a plane crash he thought that he was gonna died and soo he went to this one crazy lady name cherri buttercup which he could make his soul invulnerable to pain and death for a cheap price of 50 dollars but the after hi makes his body invulnerable at night he has dreams of him killing other people bu he becomes a zombie during his dreams and his dreams actually come true so then after coupld of dreams he found this girl name sabine and soo she would love to help him to get his sould back and sooo on. I would continue to read more book by this author .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    sweet!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is awesome!!!!! The best book i've ever read and i dont even like reding that much... Definitely recommended.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    gooooood!

    i would rate this book a 4 and a half but they dont have it....the ending was a little dissapointing but its REALLY good!!!! read it i read it in 3 hours sooo good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Very Interesting Good Book

    I really liked this book. It is the first book I read by William Sleator. I really want to see what other good books he has written.By the way you can tell that this is a good book 'cuz it is hard for me to find a book I really enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2007

    WORST BOOK EVER

    This was possibly the worst book that I have ever read in my life. I was so dissapointed about it because I thought William Sleator was my favorite author but no. I really liked his other book The Last Universe but The Boy Who Couldn't Die was sooo bad that I coundn't even look at it! Never read it!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    Boy Who Couldn't Die

    William Sleator does a great job of making this book suspenseful. There is so many twists and clues. It is a true mystery to what will happen next!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2007

    Boy Who Couldn't Die

    This is one of the best books I have ever read!! There is so many clues and twists when you think you figured it out something else will happen to prove you wrong. This book keeps you on the edge of your seat. Willaim Sleator does such a good job...it's scary!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    intense dreams of a haunted story

    The boy who couln't die is written by william sleator.I recommend this book because it's intense and filled with scary truths!It's about a boy named ken who loses his best friend.After the death Ken decides he never wants to die.so he finds this lady named cheri buttercup who turns him invurnable {meaning he can never die}.KEN decides to test his life.He finds about scuba diving in the carribian where he goes and finds a shark.he gets closer to it and it bites him nothing happened.he meets a girl named sabin who he falls in love with!she finds out about ken and tell him he can never get his soul back unless he looks for it.he soon starts looking for it with sabine but he must hurry and find it before he becomes cheri buttercups slave for ever and she makes him kill more people!will he ever get his soul back?will he ever get the chance to see his best friend again?read this book and unlock the magic beaneth it's pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    WOWZERZ

    This was one of the best books i have ever read.It was well writen, suspenseful, creepy, and it was hard to get away from. I read the book in 2 days. I was amazing I have nothing bad to say about 'The Boy Who Couldn't Die!' I recomended this book to over a dozen people and after reading this book I had to get another one of William Sleators books. I have read 3 of his books so far and i plan on reading more. For people that like science check out 'The Last Universe!' And for people that like off the wall thing get any thin by Sleator.!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2005

    KCG's Review for The Boy Who Couldn't Die

    The boy is missing his friend Roger. He doesn't really want to die. The Cheri Buttercup gal is really mean to him. This girl that he met is going to try to help him get his soul back from her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2