BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Boy Who Couldn't Die

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    for language arts 2008

    this is a great book and a really moderately easy read. this entire book was such an easy read that it only took a day and a half. this was also helped by the fact that william sleator is a great sci-fi writer. one can only imagine what pain and suffering ken pritchard went through with all the death around him. The way sleator used his great figurative language and cunning story plot turned into a great story.Quite possibly one of the best books i've ever read, william sleator did a great job on this book. when i read the first paragraph of this book, i knew it was going to be amazing. i have read many of william sleator's books, and would recommend them to all who enjoyed this book.out of all of his books, i think sleator's best was this one.i was so surprised when i found this in my teachers bookshelf, and picked it up on silent reading day. this was an unforgettable book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Great Book

    This is a great book! At some parts it is a bit rushed, and the ending is a bit iffy, but Sleator does an awesome job in the composition of the rest of the book. I only really read certain types of books, and I really enjoyed this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    The Boy Who Wouldn't Die

    The book I read was called The Boy Who Wouldn't Die by William Sleator. This book was a suspense novel that was focused around magic so it could be considered science fiction as well. After Ken¿s friend Roger was killed Ken decided he never wanted to die. Ken goes to a woman named Cherri Buttercup who makes him invulnerable by taking his soul and hiding somewhere safe. Ken then wants to test it this and see if it really works. He touches a hot frying pan and it doesn¿t burn him so he decides to take it to the extreme. He gets attacked in St. Calao by a shark. He meets a scuba instructor named Sabine and he falls in love with her. She sees him get attacked and finds out why it didn¿t bite his leg off. She tells him he needs to get his soul back. He finds out where it was hidden by listening to his dreams. Read to find out what happens next. This book was told in the first person. The narrator, a 16-year-old boy, did a very good job in telling the story. He discovered little clues to help solve his dilemma and just in the nick of time. He kept me interested in wanting to find out what would happen next. The story couldn't have been told in any other point of view that would be as good as in first person. Ken is the protagonist in this story. He is just an average person with no special abilities except that he can¿t die. I find more out about him through his actions. Also, I learn through his dialogue and interaction with others. He is not a very popular kid but is rich and gets what he wants. The writer uses good diction in order to create a vivid depiction in your mind. He also makes you think and gives you clues about a character. There isn¿t much foreshadowing but he does such a great job keeping your eyes glued to the page that you don¿t even notice it. I¿d definitely give this book two thumbs up. It was a great book and the best one I¿ve read so far this year. It kept my eyes on the page. I just kept reading and before I knew it, the book was almost over. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a fun book and can see past some events in the story that might be improbable. Review written by Paul Anderson

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    The Boy Who Couldn't Die is a fantastic book for readers who like horror, and romance.

    The author, William Sleator, has more than thirty years of experience with being an author. Young Ken's best friend, Roger, dies in a plane crash. Ken knows what he and Roger have in common; they can both die. Ken decides to seek help from an old woman who claims to possess the ability to make her customers invulnerable to pain and death. What Ken didn't realize is usually when something to good to be true, it's often false. Unable to control his dreams he seeks to get his soul back with a little help.
    Some phrases in the book support the different genres such as the horror: "This is awful! This is terrible! You've got to get your soul back right away. NOW! " Not all of it is just horror some is romantic: 'How could I ever had thought she wasn't beautiful?'
    This book is fantastic for any supernatural lovers!If you like any of those genres this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    I enjoyed reading this book, but like most short books I think that events moved a little too quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    The Boy Who Couln't Die

    This book is full of adventure and makes your mind wonder to the last moment. It is a thriller and a shocker. Ken wants to be invincible after is friend roger died. Was his choice a good one or a bad? This book is a nail biting terror mystery, and I absolutely love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    gooooood!

    i would rate this book a 4 and a half but they dont have it....the ending was a little dissapointing but its REALLY good!!!! read it i read it in 3 hours sooo good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Very Interesting Good Book

    I really liked this book. It is the first book I read by William Sleator. I really want to see what other good books he has written.By the way you can tell that this is a good book 'cuz it is hard for me to find a book I really enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2005

    Both Generations In Our House Loved It

    We bought this for a 7th grade book report but both mom and son read and enjoyed it. It's a good page turner, long enough to qualify as book report material but short enough to hold attention to the end. We're looking for others by the same author because we were pleased with the style and approach. Makes you say . . . hmmmmm . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    Haunting

    This book was verry good. However, it was nothing like what i expected it to be. On the back it did talk about a boy becoming invulnerable, but nowhere did it say anything about zombies and voodoo priests. While it turned out to be entertaining the summary was misleading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    The Book that needs to be Read

    This book looked boring at first, but it turned out to be very good. If you've ever wanted to know what it's like to swim with sharks or be invulnerable, this book will most likely interest you. In the middle of the book things start to get very interesting when he cannot get his soul back. Watch in horror and awe as this book takes on a dark twist, and watch how it turns out to be more than he bargained for. Definately a book that deserves a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    mortification and realization comes to an edge

    this book will mortify you in ways that will make you want to die

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    a great book!

    I'm a bookaholic...but haven't read much recently because I've been really busy. I was stacking up on books and came across this one. The cover looked kind of weird...but I read the summary and thought it might be okay; something to tie me over until I find something better. It didn't 'just tie me over'...it was great! If you like fantasy or mystery....this book is definitely for you! I'm very, very glad I spotted it....I might have a new favorite author now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1