Customer Reviews for

The Boy Who Couldn't Sleep and Never Had To

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    A Quick, Satisfying Read

    The Good: This book was excellent. It is REALLY funny. The characters were incredibly realistic, the dialogue was perfect, the unrealistic parts somehow seemed just on this side of crazy that they weren't so outlandish.

    The Bad: The book dates itself (and is best for the 15-25 age group) because of the cohort in-jokes. There were a few parts in the last seventy pages or so that I had to re-read because they were written in a kind of confusing way.

    The In-between: The ending. It's absolutely perfect for the story and the circumstance. This book is all about what would happen if you really were in the situation, how real people would react, and the ending is really quite congruent with that. But in a way, it is totally unfulfilling because you want more or at least something different, a further exploration of the next few years of the characters lives. That being said, the ends are tied up well so you aren't left hanging.

    All in all, a great first novel with strong writing, characters, and plot. A great read, totally recommended (to people with a quirky sense of humor, non-prudes (because the sexually-based circumstances are very BAM in your face), and probably to people on the younger end of the spectrum).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Get ready to not want to sleep. Funny and entertaining

    I don't want to create any spoilers, so I'll keep this general. I was so surprised by the authors writing style and originality on plot. This was so much fun to read and I really did not want to put it down. His writing style gives the reader a vested interest in the character who quickly become ourselves or high-school friends, but with alot more adventure. Loved it and will re-read it in a couple of years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    A flawed, but wholly enjoyable book

    The Boy Who Couldn't Sleep and Never Had To is told from the perspective of Darren Bennet, a sixteen year old boy whose dream is to create a series of films and novels based on a futuristic world of his own invention. One day, he is drawing in class when a strange boy named Eric Lederer asks what he's drawing and becomes interested in the world created by Darren. After weeks of sleepovers, hanging out, video game duels, and brainstorming to expand and improve the imaginary world, Eric reveals that he physically can't sleep. Of course Darren is incredulous at first, but then realizes that if Eric can exist, there is so much potential for other things thought to be fictional. After this revelation, their relationship goes as normal, until they stop being friends because of a fight over a girl. Out of anger, Darren tells someone about Eric's secret, leading to a search for Eric by an unknown organization and the adventure of a lifetime.

    The pacing of this book was weird in both a good and a bad way. The majority of the novel is about the meeting of the two boys, their relationship, the evolution of their fictional world, and their everyday lives. Even though not much plot happened during this portion, I still enjoyed it a lot. My normal reaction to slow, stagnant passages in novels is boredom, but I was oddly engaged with their lives. It read more as a peek into a real teenager's life than a science fiction/fantasy novel. The only weird thing in it was Eric's inability to sleep. I had some similar likes to the two boys, which made me easily relate to them. I liked Eric and Darren and grew concerned when they were pursued by obviously malicious forces.

    At this point in the novel, it goes a little downhill. I felt it could have been extended a hundred pages or more without dragging to properly explore an added perk to Eric's condition. In comparison with the previous portion, this part felt rushed and underdeveloped. I would have loved to read more and delve deeper into Eric and Darren's adventures. The closing pages were poignant and I both hated and loved it, which is the mark of a complex, meaningful novel.

    This novel was really funny and a blast to read. It had its flaws, but at its core was a wonderful journey with a couple of unlikely heroes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Awesome dont hv for nk bt has bo Amazing book dnt hv on nook bt hv book 12+courses a lot all of them

    Hh

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Funny, but....

    The ending ruined the book for me. Up until then it was a nice, entertaining read, but now the entire book suffers for it. Nothing special, just a funny tale.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    REALLY!!!

    I read this book with allot of skepticism, but decided to give it a chance. It started out really slow and boring, but I didn't want to quit yet. Then out of nowhere it caught my attention and actually started to get funny and entertaining. Also at the same time it got weirder and weirder. As I was getting closer to the end it seemed that it would reach a great climax... but then it happened, it ended....horribly! The author had the chance to get really creative since he was going out there and have an epic battle like the characters wanted but he stole that with a crappy ending. I want my time back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    Just a fun read.

    Not on my list of "will someday be a classic" but a fun quick read with few fun twists. If you werent part of the cool kids crowd you should be able to relate to these characters.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Its About Friendship....

    "Thats him, Officer, he's the one who laughed when those kids who thought they were going to school went to Heaven instead"!

    "The Boy Who Couldn't Sleep and Never Had To" offers alot of different things - coming of age, teen rebellion, sci-fi fantasy, young love, but most importantly it offers the value of friendship.

    Two high school loners (Darren & Eric) become friends. Friends who both happen to enjoy drawing, video games & sci-fi fantasy! They decide to embark on a mission to create / draw the characters for a movie trilogy & a series of novels called "Timeblaze". Along the way they have to deal with Darren's older brother & his hooligan friends, high school girls and The Man! By the way, Eric has a secret, he doesn't sleep, EVER!

    This book is very, very funny. It captures teen life through the eyes of the not so popular guys. It not only has comedy, drama, sex & drugs, it has sci-fi fantasy characters like Agtranian Berserkers, Altra Troops, the Temporal Ranger and the Yerum Battlebeast.

    Full of amazing characters, both human and non, Pierson's very unique and very original story makes for a great read! Alot of laughs & smiles in this book.

    Not everyone will enjoy this book, but if your looking for a very light hearted, well written, funny tragi-comedy, this is it!

    If you like this book, you might enjoy - "The Girl Who Ate Kalamazoo", "Mine All Mine" & "Gentlemen Broncos"!

    Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    well-drawn characters in a surprising story

    The voice of the author may not be to everyone's liking. I hate describing with comparisons, but the matter-of-factness, the stream-of-consciousness of the narrating Darren makes me think of Holden Caulfield (not that many kids seem to like him, these days). Unlike Holden, however, Darren isn't a beautiful, rich loner. He's a nerdy fellow who strikes up a friendship with Eric, a kid who's even more on the outskirts of high school life.

    Oh, and Eric can't sleep. And never has to.

    Set in the suburban sameness that the author grew up in and filled with the stuff any high-schooler without much of a social circle will recognize, it's a tale grounded in reality... even when it's talking about Tllnar Warriors from outer space.

    In summary: I enjoyed the hell out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Excellent glimpse into highschool and beyond...

    I am a 42 year old woman who was just transported into the mind and experience of a teenaged boy. Was just truthful and resonated to my own awkward bizarre childhood. Was also a great concept and such a cool story. What if...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    Funny and enlightening - it takes you back to your youth and all the issues that come with being a teenager. Interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3