Customer Reviews for

The Boy Who Dared

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it! and you will too!!!

    This book was interesting. I'll recommend this book to those who love biography and Nazi's history. When I read this book it was just captivating I just can't set this book down, I read this book in 1 day and I am so pleased I got this book :D The start to end was just thrilling and mesmerized, but in the end of the story it had a horrible and sad ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Books about the Civil Rights have always grabbed my attention. E

    Books about the Civil Rights have always grabbed my attention. Every book that I 've read about the Holocaust, have always been in the perspective of a Jewish person. But, in this book the author switches that around. She makes the perspective from a regular 14-year old German boy living in Germany. Helmuth is a good, strong character perfect for this book. I admire how the author made him a daring, young preson. Helmuth is also full of prosperity.
    -gnr02

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    A must read!

    The Boy Who Dared, By Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Publication date February 1st 2008, Historical Fiction.

    This book was written in flashback form. The main character is Helmuth and he is in prison awaiting his execution at only seventeen years old. He reflects back on his life and how he got to his present situation. As a young boy all the things going on in Germany excite him and he has great patriotism. But as time passes he begins to notice the reality of what is happening. Hitler is not the great hero Germans believe him to be. The way the Jews are being treated is wrong and Germans are being deceived. Helmuth knows the truth and is not afraid to fight against a force greater than himself even if that makes him a so called traitor.
    This book is intended for young readers but can be enjoyed by people of all ages!

    While reading this book I reflected on the character's situation and how I would have reacted to it. Helmuth has so much courage and conviction. He knows what he believes and will not change his mind to please others. He takes action to show his fellow Germans the dark truth being kept from them. I was inspired by Helmuth and his great strength, and courage. I recommend this book because the character stands up for what he thinks is right and the world would be a different place if more people stood up for the right despite opposition.

    Character Analysis: Helmuth grows and develops throughout the story. As a child he himself is deceived but as he grows he realizes the truth. By the end of the story I was blown away by his amazing courage and how far he went to try and make a difference by bringing light into a place full of darkness.
    The characters in the book are very likeable and connectable. I could relate to them and really see their perspective. Helmuth had a family he loved and cared about. He was a real person. This made a big impact on me after reading his story and knowing what happened to him. I am used to seeing only one side of World War 2 but this book made me see a completely different side. Two of my favorite quotes from the book describe Helmuth and his character, "I don't want to remember a time I could have done something but didn't" (p. 127). He truly lived up to that statement. And "Everyone craves security. But gaining freedom means losing security" he knew the price to be paid for freedom and truth and he was not scared to pay that price (p.120).
    The author seems to support the main character and depicts him in a way that you truly connect to him and cannot dislike him. She discovered his story while doing research for another book. Helmuth's story impacted her enough that she wrote his story.
    This book was amazing! It demonstrates the courage and integrity it takes to speak out for what is right. Many people disagreed with Hitler and the Nazis but did not take action out of fear. Helmuth disagreed and fought back with words and actions despite the consequences. I find that truly admirable. Helmuth is no vampire or wizard but a real person that really existed a true hero. If you are in need of inspiration read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    Very inspirational and makes you about yourself!

    I really enjoyed this book because it not only expresses the hardships people faced before and during World War II, but how they were actually dealt with. The story follows Helmuth through his life and shows his maturity developing and his constant change of perspective. He is always looking for answers and is willing to stand up for what he perceives as right. The Boy Who Dared exemplifies what Hitler's Youth was like and also how some Nazi soldiers were not all bad. For example, Helmuth's brother was a part of the Nazi army but he was not fighting for Hitler, he was fighting for Germany and for his family's safety. When I finished this book, it had made such an impact on me that I sought out ways to change myself for the better and inspired me to become a braver person. This book is very inspirational and the facts and research behind the book are absolutely phenomenal. Susan Campbell did a fantastic job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This was Great!

    I chose this book because I had heard great things about it. It really is great, and I would recommend it to anyone. It is based on a true story about a boy named Helmuth. This book was a pretty quick read for me, and at the end of the book there are pictures of Helmuth and many more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I hope you find this helpful and I'm sorry I got carried away with tons of facts...I'm just so mad about all that's happening around us and back then. No one even repays people anymore for the things they've done for other people's and our benifet...

    This book...well...it has taught me so much about why Hitler wanted to even start all these wars. The reasons sometimes come out at you but you have to infer some too to really get it. These are the reasons why I think Hitler started the worthless and bloody war.

    Hitler didn't want his country to be humiliated
    He wanted to take over
    When the Germans took over he wanted to be known as their leader
    Hitler wanted Germany to be better
    He was humiliated at one point
    Didn't want his country to be put to shame
    Didn't want people who believed in a different kind of religion than his and his people
    Germany was having money problems and probably didn't want to deal with that.
    Hitler probably also killed himself because he did not want to be humiliated and hated and he knew his soldiers were losing the war. He didn't want all of Germany to cry out his name in hate, but admiration and fear as he went to victory. Hitler made the mistake of trying to take over Europe even though he wouldn't stop there even if they had won. He would've stopped at nothing, even injured soldiers. He didn't reallt CARE about his country just the power he could take from his great victories. It wasn't that long ago the holocaust happened and people still admire Hitler and try to serve him by murder of killing Jewish people. People honor their religion and I admire the Jewish people of the holocaust for that. They stood with their religion instead of others who were hipocritical and changed. We should have a holiday for the Jewish people. They are the hereos of each story. Another reason Hitler might have tortured and tried to kill the Jewish people:
    They knew the truth

    Hitler was a horrible man though and he doesn't deserve a holiday any more than Columbus which is a true statement. Hitler's name still remains and is cried out in hate..hopefully I know some people were counting on Hitler to get Germany back on track but all he did was bring war and the deep hatred with him. He taught nothing but unneccesary things to others and made people count on him and only him. I know that we are sometimes at war with Russia but..why? what do we have against them? I'm not from Russia but we owe them for ending Germany's hate, for ending Hitler. We would probably have to be saying "Hiel Hitler" every time we saw troops or whatever but we owe them soo much and all we can focus on is I want this and I want that and fight over it. We can whine and fight and not gain anything from it or we could just try to compromise. Why do we fight, to teach others a lesson? Fathers, sons, brothers, mothers, sisters and daughters go to war and sometimes never come back all because someone wanted to whine and fight and so the men and women fight for what the LEADER wants and tries to understand. We have to stop pretending to be all tough and underestimating people. We don't have to go to war, we can apologize and get on with our lives instead of ending them because of some stupid war. Imagine how some people feel when they never see their beloved ones ever again. DO you think it feels good? NO! We need to stop, I'm not insulting anyone but sometimes our leaders get carried away with war and only focus on that and not other things. Our leaders are never out there trying to fight so why should we? I don't want anyone else dying because people cna't face themselves and apologize. WE NEED TO STOP HATE AND WAR, DEATH AND DESTRUCTION, INVADING AND WORRYING! this book teaches alot ab

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    Walker Townsend Just Read, The Boy Who Dared

    Wow! What a book. I, Walker Townsend, just finished reading the book, The Boy Who Dared, by Susan Campbell. This book takes place during the Holocaust. The Boy Who Dared has a main character named Helmuth who has flashbacks of his life before being imprisoned. Helmuths mother meets a man named, Hugo, that soon becomes her husband. Hugo forces Helmuth to join a special school that bases on Hitler youth. This does not turn out so well because the first day at school Helmuth gets introuble with the teacher and as a result of that he and his classmates have to write a essay on how good Hitler is. Hitler passes a law to ban all short wave radios because there is information that is being leaked out about the battles that Germany is not telling its people about. Helmuth some how gets his hands on a short wave radio. He starts to listen to it illegally. You must read the book to find out what the result is on listening to the outlawed radio. Will they catch Helmuth? Are there more people listening to the radio with him? Read and find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    different than the typical "resistance" story

    There are a lot of Holocaust "Resistance" stories out there. I am a fan of many. This is not one of my favorites, but I do appreciate the different perspective.
    Most Resistance stories are about people who staunchly opposed the Nazis and everything they stood for from the very beginning. This story, however, involves a character who is less sure of his convictions and resists in a much more subtle way than the usual smuggling/hiding political enemies/Jewish people.
    It does offer some good lessons about right and wrong in the face of family convictions and danger to not only oneself, but others. Overall a good read, probably especially so for classrooms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    luv it!!!!

    this book is many things, but to sum it up all i can say is: AMAZING!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Come one, come all, and read the true story of a Hitler Youth

    The boy who told the truth. This book broke my heart. Helmuth, the one who dared to speak out while everybody else was to scared to try. It changed my perspective, and not just of the Holochaust. I almost turned it away when learned that Helmuth and his family were Mormons. But I kept going and now I feel horrible about how the world sees them. But that's not the point. The Holochaust was not Germany w/ allies against the Jews. It was more about Hitler against the world and religion People assume that Germany was in full support of Hitler when the truth is anything but. This book shows the astounding truth of a Hitler Youth and his trip down death row. I thought it started out a bit slow, but when i finished, i couldn't help but love every aspect of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Helmuth Buener is a boy who dared to speak out the truth!!

    I think that Helmuth is a great boy he reminds me alot about jesus and how he sacrificed himself for us human beings. Helmuth is just like him because he gave up his life just so his friends Gerhard, Karl and Rudi could be free. So in the end the Nazis ended up klling Helmuth that is one thing i didnt liked about thsi book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    GREAT BOOK

    THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVIROTE BOOKES I READ IT IN ONE DAY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    the boy who dared review

    Helmuth is just a kid while hitler is making his bloody rise to power over the germans people. Helmuth lives with his mom, opa, oma, andhis brothers. When helmuth¿s mom moves in with one of hitler¿s followers things start to get ugly. Helmuth¿s brothergoes offtofight the war and helmuth is left at home. His momand her new husbund move into an apartment while Helmuth stays with opa and oma. One day helmuth starts breaking rules with a couple of his friends due to a gift give to him fromhis brother. When they use it to much the get into trouble. I think that this book is a real page turner and if you are into the world war two saga like I am then this book would be a great book to read. It is basically about a boy who takes a stand for what he thinks is right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Powerful and Emotional

    The boy who dared isn¿t just one of those ordinary books people read all the time. No this is a emotional book (based on a true story) that describes the courage one boy named Helmuth Hubener has and problems he faces during Hitler¿s youth. Growing up Hulmuth was convinced by the celebrations and speeches Hitler had that being a Nazi was a great thing and he wanted to defend his country. He felt he could change Germany on his own thinking different of Hitler. He underestimated the power and feeling people had for Hitler¿s ideas and things didn¿t work out. I feel this is an excellent book because it¿s different from other history books because they don¿t give you the same sad feeling that this book gave you while reading it. Also in my social studies class we used to talk about Hitler and how terrible thing he did but it never made me understand how bad they really were. I knew they were upsetting but I never could feel what it was for someone that was living during the time of Hitler but now I understand a lot better and it gives me a great idea how horrible it was for people back then. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to read about Hitler and the affect he had on people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    From one that dislikes books

    I usually dont like books. The cover caught my eye and having just talked about the Nazis thought I would give it a try. I really enjoyed the style of this book and recomend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2