Customer Reviews for

The Boy Who Lost His Face

Average Rating 3.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I like this book ok it is funny and wired and crazy.

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't be fooled by the author's name on this one!

Many students may choose this book because they enjoyed reading Holes. The main character is spineless. He stands by and does nothing as his friends torment an elderly lady. He has a fascination with flipping people the bird, and wonders who decided it was an insulti...
Many students may choose this book because they enjoyed reading Holes. The main character is spineless. He stands by and does nothing as his friends torment an elderly lady. He has a fascination with flipping people the bird, and wonders who decided it was an insulting gesture. The language is innapropriate for reader's this age. The author totally lost sight of what is appropriate for an audience this age.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    I like this book ok it is funny and wired and crazy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    This book is cool

    It is not inapropiat

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    Absolutely wonderful book

    This book is wonderful. Whether it is appropriate for young children or not is completely irrelevant to the quality of the book. It accurately portrays the struggles that teens often face throughout Junior High and High School. I first read this book when I was in Junior High and thoroughly enjoyed it. The language was not a detraction from the quality of the book at all. In fact, it lends it credibility. Inappropriate language and gestures are a way of life. If you don't want your child exposed to that, don't let them open their eyes, and certainly don't ever let them read a book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    Don't be fooled by the author's name on this one!

    Many students may choose this book because they enjoyed reading Holes. The main character is spineless. He stands by and does nothing as his friends torment an elderly lady. He has a fascination with flipping people the bird, and wonders who decided it was an insulting gesture. The language is innapropriate for reader's this age. The author totally lost sight of what is appropriate for an audience this age.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    OMG i love this book

    I have read this book a million times and the book never gets old!Evrey kid over 8 should read this book !!! PS it has bad words :(

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    The Boy who Lost his Face

    The book I¿m reviewing is The Boy Who Lost His Face. It is written by Louis Sachar. I gave this book three stars, it is an okay book. This book is about a boy named David that has a friend named Scott. Scott goes with these kids Roger and Randy, so David does too. David helps his friend Scott, plus he helps Randy and Roger steal a cane from an old lady. Bad luck starts happening to David, because he stuck the middle finger at the old lady. A problem that occurs is that David stuck the middle finger at the old lady that Scott, Randy, and Roger took the cane from, and now David¿s getting bad luck. I wouldn¿t recommend this book because it had some bad language. Other books by this author are Dogs Don¿t Tell Jokes, and Holes.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    Great book!

    I think the book was a good book. But at the end of it, it was disapointing and surprising. But for the rest, it was good!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2000

    Corny

    It was corny. Good book. Had trouble puting it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2005

    A disgrace

    As a former teacher and grandmother I found this book totally inappropriate for an elementary student. The language was vulgar, and the referral to 'the finger' as well as other referrals was absurd. Where was Mr. Sachar's brain? This book should be banned from the elementary library shelves

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2004

    IT ROCKED

    This book is absolutly the best book ive read... i dont really care about the swearing AND IM 11

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    A really good TEEN book

    I read 'the boy who lost his face' in only a couple of hours and thought it was wounderful, so good i didnt put it down until it was finished. It makes you feel as though your really there, feeling what david feels. I reccomed this book to teens but dont suggest it to any one under 11 b/c i found it cursed quite a bit to be a childrens book but nothing to bad, an overall excellent book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2003

    The best book

    This is a book about a kid who likes this girl. Throughout this book he tries to ask her out and is too chicken. He meats these kids who becomes his friends and help him to ask Miss. Williams out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    AWSOME

    This is one of the best books so far of Louis Sachar!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    AWESOME

    It's great how david,larry,mo,and tori,who are all weird,underdog kids(like the most of the american school population) turn out to be victorius.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    Good

    I think this was a good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2001

    Cool

    I really like that book It is funny

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Not for kids under...

    Not for kids under 10 but other than that its great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Inappropriate For Kids under 14

    I read this book to my 9- and 11-year old at bedtime last month and was surprised at the number of times I had to edit my read on the fly to avoid the profanity. Entire sections of the book deal with "giving people the finger". And while my kids certainly know what that means, I didn't think we needed to read a story about it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!!

    My mom thinks its inapropit

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Shut up dumb asses!

    Hi

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2