BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Boy Who Lost His Face

Average Rating 3.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I like this book ok it is funny and wired and crazy.

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't be fooled by the author's name on this one!

Many students may choose this book because they enjoyed reading Holes. The main character is spineless. He stands by and does nothing as his friends torment an elderly lady. He has a fascination with flipping people the bird, and wonders who decided it was an insulti...
Many students may choose this book because they enjoyed reading Holes. The main character is spineless. He stands by and does nothing as his friends torment an elderly lady. He has a fascination with flipping people the bird, and wonders who decided it was an insulting gesture. The language is innapropriate for reader's this age. The author totally lost sight of what is appropriate for an audience this age.

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Xtfyfg

    Hfhchgftg

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Ok

    I guess it was good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    THIS WAS THE BEST BOOK EVER

    THIS BOOK IS THE BEST I FINISHED IT IN 2 WEEKS CUZ I ONLY HAVE 1HOUR TO READ I DDINT MIND ALLLLL THE SWEARING BUT IT WAS GOOD AND I'M ONLY 12 I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO TEENS AND FUK THE ADULTS

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    Not appropriate for elementary school readers

    My 9 year old son obtained this book as a 4th grade level book from the school library. He told me that there were bad words in the book. After skimming the book, I was horrified that this book was at his school library. The constant use of vulgar language and terminology (use of the finger, naked girls, placement of a stick, pervert and more) in this book is completed inappropriate for elementary school children. After meeting with the media specialist at his school regarding the book, she reviewed the critics notes and found nothing that would 'flag' a concern. She then looked in B&N's review and came across similar opinions as mine. Now she will be using B&N's reviews in their process of purchasing books. The book was taken off the shelf. I hope all schools take this book off their shelves also. I am disappointed in the author.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    I was disappointed

    Very disapointing. Sachar has done so well until this inapropriate novel came along. The language is foul and the adult situations were not needed. I read it once, but regretted that I read as far as I did. :(

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2003

    Inappropriate Language

    My son has enjoyed many Sachar books; unfortunately, he won't be finishing this one. The language and adult themes are very inappropriate for his age.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Hey diss myree

    Somebody give me dhey nook name

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Wow!

    Honestly I was very shocked with the language in this story and strong abuse to children it was a horribe story to make matters worse about a kid who sits around and does nothing thats interested into naked girls while his so called friends push him around and tell him what to do! It really just has no logic

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Inappropriate! :(

    This book was way too inappropriate for young children in elementary school students--real nice, Louis Sachar!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Poo

    Skjruwidhficjhd

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Terrible

    I love Luis Sachar but this was just disappointing!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    horrible

    it was inapropriate for children under 12.i personally regret reading it and i love reading.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2