Customer Reviews for

The Boy Who Saved Baseball

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    This is a book that not just baseball fans would love, but infac

    This is a book that not just baseball fans would love, but infact all sports fans. Tom (the main charector) eats sleeps and breaths baseball. He is outside all hours of the day playing on the Dilltown feild with his friends Jimmy Walters and Brian Newman. Suddenly, great suspence arrises when the town needs to bulldowze the park because of the bad economy . Tom and his friends get a team together full of friends from school. But unfortunatly, they aren't old enough to coach a team leggally, so they decide to find an old baseball pro named Cruz de La Cruz. They find Cruz after two weeks of printing signs and making advertisements. Cruz agrees to coach the team to "save baseball" for Dilltown. The point of veiw is first person omnisient, from the veiw of Tom. This book will have you laughing, crying, screaming and on the edge of your seat for the entire book.I agree with rubberducky53 because he is deffinatly correct, this is an amazing novel that I will read again and again, and never get tired of. I would have to say that my faviorite charector is Donald "Doc" Burton. Doc supports Tom as if he were a second father to him (Tom's father died fighting in Veitnam before he was born). Doc has a loving heart and will do anything to help Tom "save baseball". "You don't need to be the next Mickey Mantel to enjoy baseball." (Riiter, 139) I like this qoute because it represents that you don't need to be the best to play not just basball, but any sport. As long as you enjoy the game, and have fun, that's all that matters. Bravo John Ritter on another amazing book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    The book ┬┐The Boy who saved Baseba

    The book “The Boy who saved Baseball” I thought was a good book for kids who enjoy baseball and adventure, because the book consist of both, when a boy named Tom is talking to Doc (a man who owns a majority of the land in Dilliontown) about not selling his land because the old baseball field was on his land he had owned and had been a piece of history for Dilliontown for years but the release for the land it was on was up, and Doc is leaning toward selling the land so they can put a highway through the town and build houses and businesses and try to make the town popular again. Another adventure is when Tom and Cruz go through woods up on the mountain to get Del Gato (a famous American baseball player who hit 19 constitutive hits setting a record) house to get his tips on hitting and to help coach the team and well for baseball there is a big game for the baseball field if Dilliontown wins they may keep it but if they lose the highway is going to be built along with the houses and businesses. I would recommend this book to kids ages 10 through 13, because it’s a fourth grade reading level and in the book the boys and girls who play baseball for Dilliontown consists of ages 11through 12.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    H

    Uhhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Dear alex

    I still dont get it did tommy break us up or was it jenna or wait..... why am i blaming them when it was definently me ! Since i told two people when we both said that we wouldnt tell..... im sorry...... its all my fault... maybe we should just mail each other instead of texting. Wait ho told tommy it wasnt me!!!!! Everyone who i told hate tomys guts.... im so sorry that my big mouth split us apart.... well can u still come over this wekend even though that we cant be together doesnt mean that we cant be friends so i think that is why u should still come over we could be friends like carlie and brandon r ! Whatever i mean if it is ok with u so please please please come over this weekend. Bye
    From,
    Kathlen

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Awesome

    I thought this book was great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    thrilling

    The book is about these to kids playing baseball. They are in a delima that their field is about to be torn down by people wanting to build something on it. Tom has to figure out how to save the field. He needs to hire a coach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    great book

    it is a pretty good book for people who like baseball

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    The Boy who saved baseball

    _The boy who saved baseball was a really interesting book that I couldn't stop reading it because the author explains well the scenes of the book well in the story of ''The boy who saved baseball''. The book surprise me when Tom and Cruz think that Dante Del Gato has a secret of hitting and when Dante Del Gato speaks to them when he was at doc's porch he tells the truth why he quit baseball and also he tells the secret of hitting.The Best part of the book is when Tom and Cruz go together at midnight to find Dante Del Gato at Rattlesnake ridge to tell him what was the secret of hitting, why he disappear in the world series and also if Del Gato could coach them to win the big game._Well I did sort of like the ending of the book because The Wildcats win the big game and also because Tom becomes Millionaire because of his diary and also because when Doc died he left a fortune to Tom because he made history in Dillontown but in other part I didn't like the ending because I didn't know what happen to the rest of the players like Cruz when he disappear._____

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    Best book I ever read!

    I think this book was awesome and great to read if you like baseball.I like the climax at the end of the book.This book should be at every library around America. The book was very well written. I learned never give up when something bad comes your way. Good for readers who play baseball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    The Boy Who Saved Baseball

    This is a great book. It is about a young boy who lives in the town of Dillontown. The town decides that they are going to destroy the baseball field and not allow baseball to be played in the city anymore. When the main character Tom decides he is going to stand up for what he beieves in and not let the town take away baseball, He soon realizes that he cant do this alone and so he finds help. A retired baseball player lives near him and he wants to get his help to tell the town that baseball has importance to the people of the town. I would rate this book a 9 out of 10 and would highly recomend it to any sports lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    BASEBALL FANATIC!!!!!!!!!

    i luved this book i just thought that it has an awesome plot and the setting is perfect i like the adventure and that its also a disapointment in the end when cruz leaves but i still luved the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Boy who Saved Baseball is the book I am describing. The main character is Tom he is funny, cool, and brave. The plot of the book is a boy tries to save a baseball field so they play a game against there cross town rivals and if they win doc won¿t sell the ball park and they can save it. It reminds me of my love for baseball just like Tom did. This book was an extraordinary book I thought it had a lot of adventure in it just overall a great book because of the brave main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    Amazing Book

    This book The Boy who Saved Baseball is a great book about a 13 year old boy who gets into BIG trouble by saying just one darn thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Beyond Outstanding

    Have you ever heard of a boy named Cruz de la Cruz? Well, in the book The Boy Who Saved Baseball by John H. Ritter he changed everything and saved Dillontown. John H. Ritter pulls readers into the book so they won¿t stop reading. John H. Ritter has also written books such as award winning book Choosing Up Sides and Over the Wall. In this book, there is a huge secret to hitting a baseball that only lies in the head of baseball legend Dante Del Gato. You¿ll definitely have questions. The book will have answers. In the lost city of Dillontown lies a boy named Tom Gallagher who is the main character. When Dillontown is in trouble because Doc Altenheimer decides to knock down Dillontown¿s Lucky Strike baseball field and get money for it because the mayor wants to make highways, office buildings and more homes. Tom and his friends are determined to keep the ballpark and other places in Dillontown from becoming all those things. Doc made an agreement that is Tom¿s team beats the Vikings, the town will stay the same. Except, if the Wildcats (Tom¿s team) loses, goodbye Lucky Strike field and hello highways. My opinion about Tom Gallagher is that he is afraid to show his feelings. In the book, he never told Maria until the end how he feels about her. I really like the setting of the book. It is an old dusty town that is in the mountains and doesn¿t have a big population. John H. Ritter really goes into detail about how the kids trained and what they did. It feels like you were actually in the book. For example, when the kids were running down the mountain, John H. Ritter told you how all the rocks were dropping down and how the kids were hitting trees and he described the kids routes to getting down the mountain. If you read this book you will never put it down. You will gain knowledge that if you do something and you don¿t succeed, try again. You will learn that you will have to work together to reach your goals. In the book, Tom and the Wildcats worked together to become a great team. Remember that if you are the underdog, practice as hard as you can to become dominant. John H. Ritter teaches you an important lesson. Never give up in what you love to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    A reviewer

    An amazing read by John H. Ritter...the suspense just never ends. If you look to be on the edge of you seat and never know whats going to happen next definately check this book out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    GREAT SPORTS BOOK!!!

    Wham! Do you like baseball? If you do this is the book for you! This book is about these kids on a baseball team. The main superstar charactors are Tom Galapher and Cruz de la Cruz and Dante Delgato. The fate of Dillentown is one baseball game. My favorite part is when they play their game to save Dillentown. When Tom Galapher comes up to bat he¿s got two strikes on him, bases loaded, the crowd is cheering, sweat trickling down his neak he swings it¿s up up find out what happens do they catch it find out is the game over there is a surprise ending find out when you read The Boy Who Saved Basball. I recommend this book for third grade and on up. Read this book and find out if the team saves Dillentown or not. SaFe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    Baseball or Bulldozers

    The Boy Who Saved Baseball by John H. Ritter will keep you begging to hear more from the suspense. It¿s the kind of book you don¿t know what is going to happen next. It keeps you hanging on each chapter. If you play baseball or softball, you could get some real helpful tips from this book. The Boy Who Saved Baseball is about a town called Dillontown. Doc Altenheimer owns 320 acres in Dillontown including the baseball field. He has been offered a deal by the mayor of Dillontown, who wants that land to build houses to be like other developed towns. He has offered Doc tons of money for the land. Doc has to make a big decision on what to do. His final decision is to have a ball game. If Dillontown¿s team wins to the developed town¿s team then the town stays the same. If the town¿s team loses to the developed town¿s team then bring on the bulldozers. Tom Gallagher plays for Dillontown¿s team and it is up to him to save Dillontown. Can he do it? Read this book and find out today! In the book, the setting is on the border of Mexico and the United States of America. So, there are some Spanish words. If you are like me, and don¿t know any Spanish, you might have to look some words up. Most of the words that are Spanish are simple words that you can easily figure out. When I was reading this book I had no trouble figuring out what the words meant except for a few. You will still understand the book without knowing any Spanish. This book gave some real good points about baseball. One point that the character Cruz made was that we are killing the game of baseball. He said, ¿See, tee ball is a game that old people invented. And why? Because little kids don¿t pitch or hit all that well. So they eliminated pitching and turned hitting into golf. So they¿re killing baseball and they don¿t even know it. They¿re killing the ability of kids to learn the most important part of the game to follow a ball with there eyes. And to swing and hit a moving target. If you don¿t learn that when you¿re little, you¿ll never learn it very well at least you¿ll never learn to hit Major League pitching when you get older.¿ I never thought about baseball that way until I read this book. You will get a lot of good points in this book. Any person that enjoys and understands softball or baseball will love this book. It might even help you play the game of baseball or softball better. I loved this book and it really helped me physically and mentally. It helped me physically by improving my hitting. It helped me mentally by making me think about the game baseball in a different perspective. I am sure you won¿t be sorry when you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    The Boy Who Saved Baseball

    This book is awesome! Great! You don't need to be a baseball fan to read this book, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2