Customer Reviews for

Boy at War: A Novel of Pearl Harbor

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Book Review Outline Book title and author: A Boy at War, Harry

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: A Boy at War, Harry Mazer
    Title of review: Autumn’s and Emily’s book review
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction- A boy at war is about the attack on Pearl Harbor. This Boy named Adam has to live in Hawaii with his parents. His dad is in the navy, and his dad’s ship is the Arizona. Adams dad gets called out; he says he will be back tomorrow. The next thing they know Pearl Harbor is getting attacked by the Japanese.

    Description and summary of main points- Adam’s dad told him not to be friends with Davi because his parents are Japanese. Then his dad gets called out to go to the naval base: he tells them that he will be back tomorrow. Then the attack started and Adam and Davi were fishing. Adam loses his friend Davi for a little bit because Adam tries to push his off the boat during the attack. After the attack Adam sees this marine Sargent. The Marine Sargent takes them back to the base and gets them dressed and gives them guns. Then they go out and start shooting. Adam thinks about leaving the whole time. He does.

    Evaluation- Adam was devastated when his mom said that they had to move he thought they were leaving his dad there. He said his dad was still alive. Before they knew they were leaving Adam left a note to his mom and said “Gone to find out about dad. Don’t worry. I won’t do anything stupid.” When they had to leave Adam said “Mom, I’m going to stay here.” Although he did not stay in Hawaii, he had to go with his mother and Bea. The characters in the book are Adam, Davi, His mom and dad, Bea, The maid. This book is like a war theme because of the attack. This attack devastated thousands of people. It is a big deal because it killed millions of Americans.

    Conclusion- A boy at war is about the attack on Pearl Harbor. A Boy named Adam has to live in Hawaii with his parents, because his dad is in the navy. They get attacked by the Japanese.

    Your final review- If you are thinking about reading this book I think you should. This is a good book to read. It makes you wonder what you are going to find out about what all happened. Especially about Adam’s dad. This book turns out to be good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A very sad story

    A Boy At War will surprise you but it is a very sad book. Adam is a boy whose dad is in the American military. They move to Hawaii. He goes on a fishing trip with his new friend Davi, and watches the bombing on Pearl Harbour and sees his father's ship sink. He then goes looking for his father . Will he find him? My favorite bit is when he gets a rifle. If you like guns and war you might like this book . I would recommend this book to people over the age of seven.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    Boy at War

    Book Review Outline
    Book title and author: Boy a War author unknown
    Title of review: Boy at War
    Number of stars (1 to 5):4


    This book is historical fiction called Boy at War.


    In this book it tells about a young boy, and his best friend who happen to be Japanese. They live in Hawaii in Pearl Harbor. The young boy is there with his family, and his dad is a crew member on the S.S. Arizona. Before the two boys can even say anything plains start to attack, and they are forced away from each other, and things go from bad to worse. Once I started this book I couldn't put it down. This book is full of excitement and adventure.Altogether I give this book a four. It's great for history buffs. I'd recommend this book for grades fifth through seventh.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Hello

    It was like being in the real thing


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Book Review Outline by Garrett Book title and author: A Boy at W

    Book Review Outline by Garrett
    Book title and author: A Boy at War by Harry Mazer
    Title of review: My Opinion on A Boy at War
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 4

    Introduction
    A Boy at War is an interesting book in my opinion. It takes place in early day Honolulu, Hawaii. The main character (Adam) is living a totally different life now, where white people aren’t as welcomed as you would think. Hawaii, at this time, was flooded with Japanese Americans, so if you moved there, especially if you were a Navy boy, you were frowned upon. John was having a good time while he was living in Hawaii, making friends, doing well in school, but then all at once, it started. Japanese planes flew high in the sky, dropping bombs, killing Americans and even their own kind. Sinking ships, destroying buildings, and John saw it all happen, he seen the worst of it, his father’s ship, the Arizona, was hit by a bomb, as it was sinking John couldn’t believe his eyes. He knew that life would never be the same.
    Description and summary of main points
    John is forced to move to Hawaii due to his father being in the Navy. John was making friends, and then all of a sudden bombs appeared, flying out of the air. John’s father’s ship was sunk. John spent the next couple of days trying to find an answer, but in the end, some questions are just not answerable.
    Evaluation
    I argue that this was a well thought out book. It gets down to the main point with everything it says. I would argue that this book would have at least above 3 stars. A Boy at War kind of takes you back in the day, when Japanese would be on American soil but still frown upon white Americans. This book is an outstanding book. I definitely would recommend this to you.
    Conclusion
    A Boy at War is one of the best books I’ve read all year. It really capitalized on the key objectives that John had to operate to find the answers to his father’s missing. This is a really well planned book. I recommend it to all ages.
    Your final review
    A Boy at War, this book takes place in Honolulu, Hawaii. Adam and his family moves there due to his father being in the Navy, which forces him to move a lot. Adam was living a good life now in Hawaii; he was making friends, which was number one on his list. Adam and some buddies had gone fishing; as they were there Adam started to hear a noise. BOOM! Adam looks over; all he can see is Japanese air planes cutting through the wind, dropping bombs. BOOM! Adam hears another bomb, he quickly snaps his head around to look, his father’s ship, the Arizona, had been hit, and sunk. Adam now spends the next couple of days trying to figure out what had happen. Was his father on the ship? If so, was he killed? All answers that Adam would love to know. Read a Boy at War for you to find out what happens in the end for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Introduction: During the beginning of World War ll, a boy named

    Introduction: During the beginning of World War ll, a boy named Adam Pelko, the main character in the Boy At War. Moved to Honolulu and started attending a new High School. He made friends with a Japanese boy named Davi; they became pretty good friends until… Description and summary of main points: Adam is moved to Honolulu because of his dad James Palko, a Navy man. Adam is use to being moved around a lot. This time he moved because the start of World War ll. Adam didn’t know what was ahead of him, but he is about to find out. Evaluation: It’s a great book. But it has some negatives to it. Such as them leading on through 2 paragraphs, making you think that his father might still be alive. When you know that he has been dead since the bombing. It would have made the book better if his father would have made it and was on shore at the time. Conclusion: Adam is setting in the living room with his mom and they get a letter saying. “The secretary of war desires me to express his deep regret that your husband LT Emory J Pelko has been missing in action at Pearl Harbor since 7, December, 41 confirming letter follows J A Ulio the Adjutant General. Your final review: A Boy at War is a very good book. I would recommend this book to people from the ages 10 and up. Also, for people that enjoy story’s about war. The author describes details very clearly and nice. I just wish that the ending was a little bit different, to where Adams father James would have lived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Dora the explorer

    Its about PEARL HARBER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Aig fan

    Omg this book was epic!!! I read it for a book club and absolutely loved it!! I recommend this book for ages 8 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Awesome

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    A boy at war

    Omg so good read it maany times and it gets better and better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Amazing, touching, powerful novel

    I teach 4th grade and we read this novel every Winter. Out of all the novels we read throughout the year, this one easily becomes the favorite. It is a very well written coming of age story. It easily touches the heart as it explores realities of war, family, friendship, and prejudice. I have dozens of my students, 10 year old boys and girls, seek out the sequels in the series all on their own. The book can be somewhat graphic, but it is realistic and true to history. Yes, boys will like this book, but don't leave out the girls. The internal struggles and growth that Adam goes through with his family and friends are gripping to all genders, as we as experience the history of Pearl Harbor through his eyes. To those who say this book is for people that like war, I have to say that though this book's setting is the historical events surrounding Pearl Harbor, it is the boy and his relationships that the central core of this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book will knock your socks off...

    This book will knock your socks off. It is so spectacular. There is a boy named Adam his dad is in the navy so they move around loads.He goes on a fishing trip and the hell lets loose . My favourite part of the book is when he drives the jeep. I recommend this book to people who like war. Definitely read this book, it is excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Boy At War will glue to your hands and never come off.

    This book is very entertaining and it is about a boy named Adam and his dad is in the military called Lieutenant Pelko. Adam´s dad dies when Adam is fishing.

    My favourite part of this book is when Adam is fishing in Pearl harbour.

    You will love this book if you like gunfire and war.

    I love this book it will blow your socks off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sad but good

    A Boy at War is an very interesting book that will knock you out of your socks.

    A Boy at War is about a boy whose dad is a lieutenant in the navy. He has just gone fishing when suddenly the Japanese planes attack and almost totally destroy Pearl Harbor after that he has a great adventure searching for answers for his dad and his friends.

    I love the part where the Japanese planes attack because everything is written in great detail.

    A Boy at War is a wonderful book especially for people who like books based on real things that happened and for people who like amazing adventures with lots of reflections.

    Nothing can beat A Boy at War.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    highly recommended

    I loved this book. it changed the way i look at the bombing on hawaii.i think the ending was really good.If i could read this book agein i would.I like this book because it was suspenceful and it had a known bombing in it. i like nonfictional books because i think its cool to see what really went on there.If you like war and nonfictional book you should read this wonderfull book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not So Much of a War Book

    A Boy at War by Harry Mazer tells the story of a young boy named Adam who was raised in a military family and has just moved to Pearl Harbor. He is thrust into a completely different world with new friends to be made, racial boundaries to be conquered, and challenges to be completed. But once Pearl Harbor is bombed by the Japanese, all these things are insignificant. Adam finds himself in the middle of the confusion, terror, and bloody mayhem. He must use all the skills instilled in him by his father to survive, fight, and make it back home. This book was an easy read, and it took me about an hour and a half to finish. I somewhat enjoyed the book, but wish it could have been a little longer to give the ending more of a sense of finality. I thought the book's characters were well developed, and that may be why I didn't put it down. I like war stories, and, while this was a war book, it lacked certain elements of realism. I would have preferred there have been more fighting, but overall it was a good book. I liked how it gave you a look into what the lives of a military family at Pearl Harbor would have been. I would recommend this to teen readers who like war books and are looking for a quick, easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    hahahah

    it feel like poop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    I Didn't like it

    I didn't really like it, because I thought that it was kind of boring. All it talked about was Adam; what he did, where he was going and how he did it. The story just kind of bored me to death.
    Adam wishes that he could be in the navy like his father but he was too young to join. So he always pretended that he was in the navy with his model warplanes. One day Adam was with his friends fishing near the naval yard when all of a sudden the Japanese attacked the ships.


    I'd recommend this book to people who like to read books about war, and people who like to read books about the navy, and Pearl Harbor. I think that this book was really easy to read because it had big letters, and it also had short chapters.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Boy at War is thrilling, educational story

    I liked when the boy was out in Pearl Harbor, fishing with two friends when the Japanese attacked and how he was caught in the middle of the battle and how they did their best to get to Harbor Shore after being hurt. (11 yr old son)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Boy At War, By Harry Mazer

    I loved reading A Boy At War, It was just like I was at the attack of Pearl Harbor, right there in a fishing boat with my friends! If you want to read about a boy who was at the Pearl Harbor atttack,READ THIS BOOK!!
    -indyflyer
    P.S. This Book Was "Expert Work."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3