Customer Reviews for

The Boy from Baby House 10: From the Nightmare of a Russian Orphanage to a New Life in America

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing....

I decided to read this book after seeing it advertised in a church mailer. My husband & I have been seriously considering adoption for a few months and I wanted some more insight on some things I already knew and had heard about the Russian orphanage/adoption system. ...
I decided to read this book after seeing it advertised in a church mailer. My husband & I have been seriously considering adoption for a few months and I wanted some more insight on some things I already knew and had heard about the Russian orphanage/adoption system.

John's tale is (and John himself) absolutely remarkable. The amount of heartbreak & pain he suffered is unimaginable... and the amount of happiness he has gained is simply breathtaking. I strongly reccommend this book & will be most likely be purchasing additional copies to give to our family to help explain some things personally.

John - if you're reading this - I read a newspaper article online that said you hoped that writing this would "help a child not end up in the same situation I was in in" and I can assure you - it will. The gears were turning before reading your story, you just helped to direct them & turn them faster. Thank you!

posted by Shinel on October 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Poorly written and creepy

I come from a mostly eastern-european background and my grandfather was adopted from a gulag in Hungary. I read this book hoping to find information and similar stories to that of my grandfather. However, the author is obsessed with this child to the point where it beco...
I come from a mostly eastern-european background and my grandfather was adopted from a gulag in Hungary. I read this book hoping to find information and similar stories to that of my grandfather. However, the author is obsessed with this child to the point where it becomes creepy, flat out ignoring the other children that were stuck in the baby-house (they only get a side-note at the end of the novel.) She also becomes obsessive about Russian culture. It's fine to want to learn about your adopted child's culture, but it just seems a little much.

posted by 7882947 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    Amazing....

    I decided to read this book after seeing it advertised in a church mailer. My husband & I have been seriously considering adoption for a few months and I wanted some more insight on some things I already knew and had heard about the Russian orphanage/adoption system.

    John's tale is (and John himself) absolutely remarkable. The amount of heartbreak & pain he suffered is unimaginable... and the amount of happiness he has gained is simply breathtaking. I strongly reccommend this book & will be most likely be purchasing additional copies to give to our family to help explain some things personally.

    John - if you're reading this - I read a newspaper article online that said you hoped that writing this would "help a child not end up in the same situation I was in in" and I can assure you - it will. The gears were turning before reading your story, you just helped to direct them & turn them faster. Thank you!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2009

    Well Written and Absorbing

    Against all odds, John Lahutsky manages to escape a bureaucratic nightmare. His well written story will keep you interested and inspired.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    I read this book for a book report I had to due in one of my Com

    I read this book for a book report I had to due in one of my Communicative Disorders class. I truly enjoyed reading this book. It is a very inspiring story. In the future I would love to adopt a baby from Russia. (Their ideas on exceptional children is completely wrong.) I had to put it down a couple of times because I would burst out crying but at the same time I could not put it down. It was remarkable!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    remarkable story...

    I hope many readers will get to read this brave boy's story of survival and hope.

    :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Inspiring

    Such an inspiring but sad story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    The Boy from Baby House 10....

    Great book. I couldn't put it down; however, it's quite sad to see how people are treated in many institutions. I'm so glad that John was able to get out of that horrible situation. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    Captivating and inspiring

    This book is hard to read, because of its dark subject matter, but also hard to put down, knowing that it is a true story. The tale of this little boy is unbelievably inspiring. After reading every event described I alternately wanted to hug John and lash out at those who hurt or ignored him. His testimony is a real eye-opener, revealing life behind the Iron Curtain even after the fall of the Wall. The vivid descriptions of John's daily life and the accompanying photographs are very poignant. This is a book I have recommended to all of my friends. Superb.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    Amazing Story

    I went to see John at the local B & N for a book signing, but the book was sold out. I managed to get one once they were back in stock and am glad I did. I have 3 children adopted from Russia, and while none of them endured the hardship John did, so many of the images were so real from what I experienced. If anyone is considering adoption, I highly recommend that you consider Eastern Europe. There are many children in need and they obviously thrive once they are brought home. Great book John, and wishes for success in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2014

    I have had the great pleasure of personally knowing John. Althou

    I have had the great pleasure of personally knowing John. Although I grew up with John (after he came to America) I never knew his complete life story. This book was a very emotional read and I highly recommend it. Fantastic work John! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Jade

    Lays in my bed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    I need a baby rper

    For my newborn anne she was born yesterday. We are located at ang all results

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    A story that everyone should read

    I had many emotions while reading this book & there were times that I had to put it down & walk away because it was hard to read. Children are the most precious gift that anyone can receive & reading John's story & what he as well as the other children battled daily caused tears & anger. I was moved by John will for life. His is a story that will inspire and have you thinking about how priceless life really is. Thank you for sharing your story!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    truly amazing read

    from the first page this book is hauntingly remarkable. i was emotional throughout the entire read, horrified that such neglect exists even today. i have always considered adoption, after reading this book i have turned my focus into adopting from russia. there are no words to describe the admiration i have for the people that fought to save john, i'm not a religious person but you have definitely made me question angels and miracles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping, powerful and emotional!

    A must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Amazing

    I never write reviews on books but I had to now. This book was absolutely incredible. It was emotionally one of the hardest books I have ever read, but it was also one of the most touching stories I've ever heard and the ending was beautiful. Be prepared with tissues because you will cry. I definitely held my son (who has a mild form of Cerebral Palsy) a bit closer and counted my blessings tenfold after I finished this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2