Customer Reviews for

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

Average Rating 4.5
( 1510 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(964)

4 Star

(301)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

you'll love it!

This book The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, is one the most touching,inspirational and heart warming book I have read! When you are finished with the book the story of Shmuel and Bruno will always be with you. I recommend this book to anyone!. But be prepared, make sure y...
This book The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, is one the most touching,inspirational and heart warming book I have read! When you are finished with the book the story of Shmuel and Bruno will always be with you. I recommend this book to anyone!. But be prepared, make sure you have a box of kleenex with you, it sure will bring on the waterworks :]

posted by bookseeker11 on November 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Lacks Depth of Emotion but Strong Story

This story is told completely from the point-of-view of a 9 year-old boy, who appears to be rather slow, even for his age. Although this method lends some authenticity to the narrative, it inhibits the forming of characterizations and depth of emotion. This 9 year-old b...
This story is told completely from the point-of-view of a 9 year-old boy, who appears to be rather slow, even for his age. Although this method lends some authenticity to the narrative, it inhibits the forming of characterizations and depth of emotion. This 9 year-old boy simply doesn't understand enough about what is going on at "Out-With" and is too egocentric (as all children of his age) to provide much more than a bare-bones description of events. I also found myself not liking the narrator very much. The parable itself is very good but the narrator is simply too clueless to provide the reader much insight into the characters: they present as very one-dimensional. He also describes some scenes in such simplistic terms I am not really sure what happened. Readers need to know their Holocaust history because the narrator never actually explains anything (he doesn't know) so it would be impossibly confusing otherwise. I don't mean to say that it's not worth reading, but it doesn't stand alone as Holocaust fiction. It really needs to be taken in context with other Holocaust fiction and historical accounts.

posted by profilerSR on January 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1516 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 76
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    you'll love it!

    This book The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, is one the most touching,inspirational and heart warming book I have read! When you are finished with the book the story of Shmuel and Bruno will always be with you. I recommend this book to anyone!. But be prepared, make sure you have a box of kleenex with you, it sure will bring on the waterworks :]

    80 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's good, but I wouldn't recommend it to friends.

    The book is written from a perspective that's hard to write from. Seeing the Holocaust through the eyes of a child is a view I haven't seen before. Boyne captures this perspective very well. The ending was very rushed. It was all summed up in about two pages. That's the only thing bad about this book. If you're looking for a book to start a discussion in a classroom or inspire writers to write outside of the box, then this is your book.

    33 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    WALK WITH ME INTO THE DARKNESS

    EVEN IN LIFE'S MOST DARKNESS DAYS THERE IS LIGHT FOR BEAUTY ESPECIALLY <BR/>IN THESE TWO YOUNG PEOPLE. ALTHOUGH, BOTH ON OPPOSITE ENDS OF THE FENCE<BR/>THEY SHARED NAVIETEE, INNOCENCE AND FRIENDSHIP. BY THEM WALKING INTO <BR/>THE DARKNESS HOLDING HANDS AND REASSURING EACH OTHER THAT EVERYTHING WILL<BR/>BE ALRIGHT SHOWS HOPE FOR HUMANITY. HOPEFULLY, THIS EVILNESS WILL NEVER<BR/>RESURFACE, UNFORTUNATELY, IT STILL SHOWS ITS FACE IN THESE TRYING TIMES. <BR/>PEOPLE EVERYWHERE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK AND THINK ABOUT THE CONSEQUENCES OF DEGRADING OTHERS IN NAMES, WORDS AND ACTIONS. WE SHOULD TAKE A LESSON FROM THESE TWO BEAUTIFUL YOUNG PEOPLE, IT MAYBE WORTH IT. I THANK THE AUTHOR FOR WRITING SUCH A GIFTED BOOK AND HOPE THERE WILL BE OTHERS.

    31 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very emotional read

    I finished this book yesterday and all I can say: It is very touching. This has a story you won't forget easily. Had to cry a lot.

    23 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    If your looking for a sad book you have found it.

    Its a heartbreaking story about a boy named Bruno and his new found friend Shmuel. This book will keep your atention the intire time you are reading it. Stop reading reveiws and just read the book!

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Wow

    I could not put this book down. I have read the criticism for this book, that a Commandant's son could not be so naive, but I disagree. Children are some of thr purest souls living. They have to be taught hate and Bruno although was given explanations, was not. I almost cried at thr end! Good easy read that touches parts of the imagination most of us seldom use anymore.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A powerful book that will remain engraved forever in your heart.

    The boy in the Striped Pajamas is definitely a touching read that I will not forget. Its writing style makes the book open to the audience whether it be adults or young teenagers.

    The book gives us a story from the point of view of an innocent 9 year old child, the son of a Nazi commander, who meets Shmuel, a 9 year old jewish child. Neither of these boys have been corrupted by the society that surrounds them and their innocence gives the novel more access to the reader's heart.

    Although the information about the Holocaust may not be the most accurate, this book is made to touch the reader, not give the reader a lesson. The book does manage to give the reader an idea of how cruel and brutal the holocaust really was.

    This book grabs and tangles up in you and wont let you go until you have finished reading, and gives you the perfect example of how simple and sweet children can be. Children who have not yet been corrupted by society and simply live without judging others, accepting and sharing with everyone, this novel shares their feelings with us and opens the mind of the innocent for us to read.

    The ending of the book did make me feel quite queazy and I admit, I felt like putting the book away and never looking at it again. But the book taught me too much to put it away.

    The power of this book will touch all readers and forever more be engraved in their hearts.

    19 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    This book is amazing !

    This story touched my heart. Little Shmuel grew on you and so did Bruno. I had to read this for a book report and it broke my heart but it is an absolutely amazing book that I will never forget ! Read it, because I know you won't forget it. Its so innocent because the main character is only 9 and he doesn't fully understand the situation which is kinda sad though. Its a great book :]

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book!!

    I can't say enough about this book; the writing is just amazing, the characters feel so real and the situation incredible. Even though the book goes from the present to the past, to learn the back story, you will have no problem following the story. You can't help but feel for Bruno--at times, you wish you were by his side to tell him what he should do. And not to ruin the end, but it was an ending I just didn't see coming. John Boyne has written a memoriable novel that should be shared with everyone you know!

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lacks Depth of Emotion but Strong Story

    This story is told completely from the point-of-view of a 9 year-old boy, who appears to be rather slow, even for his age. Although this method lends some authenticity to the narrative, it inhibits the forming of characterizations and depth of emotion. This 9 year-old boy simply doesn't understand enough about what is going on at "Out-With" and is too egocentric (as all children of his age) to provide much more than a bare-bones description of events. I also found myself not liking the narrator very much. The parable itself is very good but the narrator is simply too clueless to provide the reader much insight into the characters: they present as very one-dimensional. He also describes some scenes in such simplistic terms I am not really sure what happened. Readers need to know their Holocaust history because the narrator never actually explains anything (he doesn't know) so it would be impossibly confusing otherwise. I don't mean to say that it's not worth reading, but it doesn't stand alone as Holocaust fiction. It really needs to be taken in context with other Holocaust fiction and historical accounts.

    11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    One You Won't Forget

    Do you read books recall the title and yet forget exactly what the book was about. This won't happen with The BOY IN THE STRIPED PAJAMAS.It is for adults as well as teeneagers and a book that lingers in your mind long after reading it. It is simply written but 'Oh MY' !

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    A TOUCHINGLY PROVOCATIVE TALE.

    After first seeing this movie, I had to read the story. It was truly a heart-breaking tale of two young and children caught up in a horrible situation that ended too tragicly. While the movie really showed what happened to the two boys, the book left it completely out and really did not explain realistically what happened to them. Was there a reason for this? I wonder if the author did this on purpose or did the film-maker put that in for the movie audience. It certainly was a shocking end and left me totally wiped out and in tears. But it was a wonderfully written book and one that should be read by a lot of people.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Tears!!

    this book really pulled at my heart strings, and ibelieve that everyone should read it. my 6th grade step-brother still doesnt know what the holocaust is and i am going to try to get him to read it. it was a great read and what really got me was the realism and attitude of Bruno and Shmul. it is a beautiful story and i am happy that i read it.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    The boy in the striped pajamas book review

    The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
    By Lizzy Mahoney

    Bruno is a 9 - year - old boy who has a comfy life in Berlin. He has a maid, a butler, and a cook. Bruno doesn't know what it's like to have nothing. But that changes when his family moves to Auschwitz. In The boy in the striped pajamas, John Boyne writes this compelling story about Bruno.

    When Bruno is forced to move away from his enormous house with his family, his life will change forever. Besides moving in to a smaller house with no "nooks and cranes" to explore, besides having no one to play with except for his older sister, he is surrounded by soldiers that go in and out of his father's office.Bruno misses his friends, his grandparents, and everything else in Berlin. And he doesn't understand what's going on around him. He hates everything about "Out-With" and is very lonely until he meets the boy on the other side of the fence.

    A powerful story with emotions and pajamas. It takes some time for Bruno to realize what is happening but it all comes together like the pieces of a puzzle. This story will keep readers thinking about what really happened during the Holocaust. The boy in the striped pajamas is Newberry quality.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Don't know!!

    Don't know if i should read this!! Please comment if you truley llike this book!!!!!!!

    5 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Grossly inaccurate, absurd on every level.

    This book supports the idea that ordinary people were unaware of the horrors of the Nazis' mass extermination of Jews. It states that the son of the Commander of Auschwitz didn't know what a Jew was or if he was one himslef. It tells an absurd fairly tale that the main character sneaks out of Auschwitz but goes back. It portrays Auschwitz more as a summer camp than a death camp. If you are looking for historical fiction read "The Book Thief".

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    A great

    Face of reality but id rather not face reality if its that horrible

    5 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Excellent Read

    This book takes a story we all know and gives it a fresh look. The writing is well done and easy to read. Extremely poignant story with a sad and tragic ending. I will reccommend this to my middle school children and to many, many others.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!

    This book puts the Holocaust in two inocent boys points of view. This book is sad yet it shows us love and hope. You better read this book!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    It left me sad-Vvv

    I watched the movie and i almost cried

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1516 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 76