Customer Reviews for

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

Average Rating 4.5
( 1466 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(932)

4 Star

(296)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

75 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

you'll love it!

This book The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, is one the most touching,inspirational and heart warming book I have read! When you are finished with the book the story of Shmuel and Bruno will always be with you. I recommend this book to anyone!. But be prepared, make sure y...
This book The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, is one the most touching,inspirational and heart warming book I have read! When you are finished with the book the story of Shmuel and Bruno will always be with you. I recommend this book to anyone!. But be prepared, make sure you have a box of kleenex with you, it sure will bring on the waterworks :]

posted by bookseeker11 on November 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Lacks Depth of Emotion but Strong Story

This story is told completely from the point-of-view of a 9 year-old boy, who appears to be rather slow, even for his age. Although this method lends some authenticity to the narrative, it inhibits the forming of characterizations and depth of emotion. This 9 year-old b...
This story is told completely from the point-of-view of a 9 year-old boy, who appears to be rather slow, even for his age. Although this method lends some authenticity to the narrative, it inhibits the forming of characterizations and depth of emotion. This 9 year-old boy simply doesn't understand enough about what is going on at "Out-With" and is too egocentric (as all children of his age) to provide much more than a bare-bones description of events. I also found myself not liking the narrator very much. The parable itself is very good but the narrator is simply too clueless to provide the reader much insight into the characters: they present as very one-dimensional. He also describes some scenes in such simplistic terms I am not really sure what happened. Readers need to know their Holocaust history because the narrator never actually explains anything (he doesn't know) so it would be impossibly confusing otherwise. I don't mean to say that it's not worth reading, but it doesn't stand alone as Holocaust fiction. It really needs to be taken in context with other Holocaust fiction and historical accounts.

posted by profilerSR on January 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    I have

    I wached thr movie i dont know if i should read the book should i

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    The boy whith the stripe pjs

    Right but ther could do better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Question??? Please answer Just asking

    I havent got to read it yet but is it close to the movie or not? I really enjoyed the movie though it was kind of sad?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Movie was better

    I would have loved this book when i was 13 years old.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Dont watch the movie

    I dont know if the book is like the movie or not, but dont watch it. I didnt like the ending at all O.o

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Sadly...

    Sadly this book did nothing 4 me i seriously expected more. I was bored actaully. I never got sad, laughed, got frustrated, orhad any feelimg for any characters in this book. Truthfully i cant believe i wasted money on this book.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Sad :'(

    So sad. I almost cried. I probaly wouldnt reccomend it, it was TOO SAD! I didnt get the message or the moral of the story either

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Disappointed

    This book was just ok. It lacked depth. Writing is just so so. I wouldn't spend the money on it again.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    It was okay the movie was better

    Ok movie was better

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    I read the sample

    The sample wasnt to great but im hoping the book will be better ill keep in my wishlist

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    Wouldn't recommend

    The boy in the striped pajamas was an okay read,but doesn't carry much information.If your looking for something more than a scratch on the surface of the holocaust look else where.For me the book wasn't to great on detail and was missing a lot.It's written from a nine year old boy's perspective and made very noticeable.Most times it leaves you filling in the blanks of whats going on.This part of history fascinates me but I was very disappointed with this read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    Intended Audience is 10-13 year olds

    I wish I'd read the comments and overview more carefully before I bought this book. What I did not realize is that the intended audience is 4th- to about 7th-grade children. I was researching possible books for our Book Club and this book was listed on several recommended reading lists. True, it probably would generate a discussion, but it was definitely too juvenile for an adult book club. Overall, a simplistic view of the holocaust; at best a mediocre book for a beginning explanation to school children as to what the holocaust was about. A better book by far (for the age group) is 'Number the Stars,' by Lois Lowry.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Bad

    This book was okay I have read much better

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I was hoping for more

    The characters lacked depth, especially the protagonist/narrator. The sub characters, i.e. the father or the house keeper, had more depth to them. I still cried at the end, but not because I was connected to the characters, rather becuase of the innocence and horror of the conclusion. Even though you know whats coming, the end was still heart-retching!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought that this moved along at a fairly slow pace and really didn't catch my full attention. It seemed to never really take off from the beginning and there was not really any real hook to catch my interest. From what I have heard from other people that have read it I am greatly disappointed in this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3