Customer Reviews for

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

Average Rating 4.5
( 1453 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(924)

4 Star

(295)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

you'll love it!

This book The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, is one the most touching,inspirational and heart warming book I have read! When you are finished with the book the story of Shmuel and Bruno will always be with you. I recommend this book to anyone!. But be prepared, make sure y...
This book The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, is one the most touching,inspirational and heart warming book I have read! When you are finished with the book the story of Shmuel and Bruno will always be with you. I recommend this book to anyone!. But be prepared, make sure you have a box of kleenex with you, it sure will bring on the waterworks :]

posted by bookseeker11 on November 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Lacks Depth of Emotion but Strong Story

This story is told completely from the point-of-view of a 9 year-old boy, who appears to be rather slow, even for his age. Although this method lends some authenticity to the narrative, it inhibits the forming of characterizations and depth of emotion. This 9 year-old b...
This story is told completely from the point-of-view of a 9 year-old boy, who appears to be rather slow, even for his age. Although this method lends some authenticity to the narrative, it inhibits the forming of characterizations and depth of emotion. This 9 year-old boy simply doesn't understand enough about what is going on at "Out-With" and is too egocentric (as all children of his age) to provide much more than a bare-bones description of events. I also found myself not liking the narrator very much. The parable itself is very good but the narrator is simply too clueless to provide the reader much insight into the characters: they present as very one-dimensional. He also describes some scenes in such simplistic terms I am not really sure what happened. Readers need to know their Holocaust history because the narrator never actually explains anything (he doesn't know) so it would be impossibly confusing otherwise. I don't mean to say that it's not worth reading, but it doesn't stand alone as Holocaust fiction. It really needs to be taken in context with other Holocaust fiction and historical accounts.

posted by profilerSR on January 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 924 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 47
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    you'll love it!

    This book The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, is one the most touching,inspirational and heart warming book I have read! When you are finished with the book the story of Shmuel and Bruno will always be with you. I recommend this book to anyone!. But be prepared, make sure you have a box of kleenex with you, it sure will bring on the waterworks :]

    74 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    WALK WITH ME INTO THE DARKNESS

    EVEN IN LIFE'S MOST DARKNESS DAYS THERE IS LIGHT FOR BEAUTY ESPECIALLY <BR/>IN THESE TWO YOUNG PEOPLE. ALTHOUGH, BOTH ON OPPOSITE ENDS OF THE FENCE<BR/>THEY SHARED NAVIETEE, INNOCENCE AND FRIENDSHIP. BY THEM WALKING INTO <BR/>THE DARKNESS HOLDING HANDS AND REASSURING EACH OTHER THAT EVERYTHING WILL<BR/>BE ALRIGHT SHOWS HOPE FOR HUMANITY. HOPEFULLY, THIS EVILNESS WILL NEVER<BR/>RESURFACE, UNFORTUNATELY, IT STILL SHOWS ITS FACE IN THESE TRYING TIMES. <BR/>PEOPLE EVERYWHERE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK AND THINK ABOUT THE CONSEQUENCES OF DEGRADING OTHERS IN NAMES, WORDS AND ACTIONS. WE SHOULD TAKE A LESSON FROM THESE TWO BEAUTIFUL YOUNG PEOPLE, IT MAYBE WORTH IT. I THANK THE AUTHOR FOR WRITING SUCH A GIFTED BOOK AND HOPE THERE WILL BE OTHERS.

    28 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very emotional read

    I finished this book yesterday and all I can say: It is very touching. This has a story you won't forget easily. Had to cry a lot.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    If your looking for a sad book you have found it.

    Its a heartbreaking story about a boy named Bruno and his new found friend Shmuel. This book will keep your atention the intire time you are reading it. Stop reading reveiws and just read the book!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    This book is amazing !

    This story touched my heart. Little Shmuel grew on you and so did Bruno. I had to read this for a book report and it broke my heart but it is an absolutely amazing book that I will never forget ! Read it, because I know you won't forget it. Its so innocent because the main character is only 9 and he doesn't fully understand the situation which is kinda sad though. Its a great book :]

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book!!

    I can't say enough about this book; the writing is just amazing, the characters feel so real and the situation incredible. Even though the book goes from the present to the past, to learn the back story, you will have no problem following the story. You can't help but feel for Bruno--at times, you wish you were by his side to tell him what he should do. And not to ruin the end, but it was an ending I just didn't see coming. John Boyne has written a memoriable novel that should be shared with everyone you know!

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    One You Won't Forget

    Do you read books recall the title and yet forget exactly what the book was about. This won't happen with The BOY IN THE STRIPED PAJAMAS.It is for adults as well as teeneagers and a book that lingers in your mind long after reading it. It is simply written but 'Oh MY' !

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Tears!!

    this book really pulled at my heart strings, and ibelieve that everyone should read it. my 6th grade step-brother still doesnt know what the holocaust is and i am going to try to get him to read it. it was a great read and what really got me was the realism and attitude of Bruno and Shmul. it is a beautiful story and i am happy that i read it.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    The boy in the striped pajamas book review

    The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
    By Lizzy Mahoney

    Bruno is a 9 - year - old boy who has a comfy life in Berlin. He has a maid, a butler, and a cook. Bruno doesn't know what it's like to have nothing. But that changes when his family moves to Auschwitz. In The boy in the striped pajamas, John Boyne writes this compelling story about Bruno.

    When Bruno is forced to move away from his enormous house with his family, his life will change forever. Besides moving in to a smaller house with no "nooks and cranes" to explore, besides having no one to play with except for his older sister, he is surrounded by soldiers that go in and out of his father's office.Bruno misses his friends, his grandparents, and everything else in Berlin. And he doesn't understand what's going on around him. He hates everything about "Out-With" and is very lonely until he meets the boy on the other side of the fence.

    A powerful story with emotions and pajamas. It takes some time for Bruno to realize what is happening but it all comes together like the pieces of a puzzle. This story will keep readers thinking about what really happened during the Holocaust. The boy in the striped pajamas is Newberry quality.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!

    This book puts the Holocaust in two inocent boys points of view. This book is sad yet it shows us love and hope. You better read this book!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    It left me sad-Vvv

    I watched the movie and i almost cried

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Excellent Read

    This book takes a story we all know and gives it a fresh look. The writing is well done and easy to read. Extremely poignant story with a sad and tragic ending. I will reccommend this to my middle school children and to many, many others.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Sooooo good!

    This is such a good book. It takes place in the time of the Natziism. It is a great book after you read this book i recommend reading "Number Of The Stars" its a great book.
    Read them they are written amazingly well!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    facinating!

    This was a fast read and I couldn't put it down. The play on words added to the story line. Did this really happen? Who knows-it could have.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Unforgettable

    While i was reading 'boy in the striped pajamas' a touching story of freindship between a jewish boy at a consentration camp and a clueless german boy will really reach out to ages between 11 and 19. I read this when i was studiing the second world war and had peers that recomended this fabulous book to me. When i read i didnt want to put it down.
    Thank you for your time

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    What I think about the bool

    I think that this book was very well written, with many memorable characters. I wouldn't recomend this book to ten year olds because they may not understand it too well. Although this book may have a sad ending this story should be very serious like a lot of it is. Those times were dark times with hatred for other people just because of how the look or what religion they choose to follow. I hope you enjoy the book as much as I do.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Holocost

    I recommend this book for others to buy, it is a wonderful book, if you enjoy reading about the holocost and slavery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Boy in The Striped Pajamas Was A Thrilling Novel Which Summarizes The Holocaust.

    I would recommend this book to people who have an interest in history-especially in World War II. What I liked about this book is the tragic story about Shmuel and Bruno. This is a story about friendship. Bruno and Shmuel really show what true friendship is about. After days of not seeing his father, Shmuel and Bruno went on a "walk". They never came back. The sad truth is that the holocaust killed millions of Jewish people.
    I would want to read "The Thief of Time" by John Boyne. Just by reading the title the book sounds interesting. "Next of Kin" also sounds interesting. I like picking books by the name of the title. I would like a sequel to the book. I don't think that one book should cover the interesting stories of the holocaust.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very realistic & Great for learning about WWII

    This book is about a young boy, named Bruno who's father is a soldier for Germany. They have to move away from Berlin to a place only the father knows is called. The story is very emotional and the ending is very upsetting but, real . This is a story you won't forget.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    must read

    This is an awesome book for adults and young teens. It's a must read for everyone to remember that this really did happen, and to children.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 924 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 47