Customer Reviews for

Boyology: A Teen Girl's Crash Course in All Things Boy

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by K. Osborn Sullivan for TeensReadToo.com

Just like the title says, BOYOLOGY is a "crash course," although it's more of a crash course in dating, rather than boys in general. For instance, if you want to know what a "safety" is in football so you can have a conversation with your brother on a Sunday afternoon, ...
Just like the title says, BOYOLOGY is a "crash course," although it's more of a crash course in dating, rather than boys in general. For instance, if you want to know what a "safety" is in football so you can have a conversation with your brother on a Sunday afternoon, then this book is not what you're looking for. However, if you want to figure out whether your brother's friend is flirting with you while you're all watching Sunday afternoon football, then this is the book for you.

Before we go any further, I must offer a clarification: Where I'm from, teenage males are not referred to as "boys." They are "guys." For me, the word "boy" conjures up images of dimpled 5-year-olds with gaps where their front teeth should be. The only people around here who call teenagers "boys" are school principals. This is doubtless just a regional difference, so if you're from Chicago like I am, just mentally substitute the word "guy" for "boy" when you're reading BOYOLOGY (i.e. GUYOLOGY). Please don't let that little objection turn you off from this book, because it has a lot of good advice to offer about boys or guys or whatever you call them.

BOYOLOGY contains a great deal of useful information for teenage girls who are trying to find their way around the confusing world of crushes and dating. While much of the advice might be things you have heard before in one form or another, it's nice to have it reinforced by a neutral third-party (i.e. someone who's not your mom or your minister). For instance, the book tells girls to be themselves and establish their physical boundaries before things get hot and heavy. There are also plenty of things that you probably haven't heard before, including fun date ideas for couples or groups, step-by-step instructions on how to kiss, and a quiz to see if you're a good date or not.

The book is optimistic, by which I mean that it spends relatively little time on the "What if he's not into you?" scenarios, and many more pages on successful flirting, dating, and becoming a couple. The author balances her approach by offering not only the fun side of dating, but also worthwhile safety information. She points out the importance of letting your parents know if you're "seeing" someone online, as well as how to avoid and, if necessary, deal with sexual assault. I recommend her tip on taking a minute to program a taxi service phone number into your cell phone so you can always get home safely. The book even has a chapter at the end about breaking up. You might never need tips on maintaining your dignity when running into the ex and his new girlfriend, but when you do need them, they're worth their weight in gold.

The book doesn't just offer the author's perspective. It has words of wisdom from celebrities, like Daniel Radcliffe and Zac Efron, and it provides advice from actual teenagers (lots of them boys/guys) who have "been there, done that." Even the author's husband (who used to be a boy/guy) chimes in from time to time.

Read the full review at www.teensreadtoo.com!

posted by TeensReadToo on April 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

To i need help asap

I think you should go for it and if he dosen't feel the same wway just say you were dared by your firend

posted by Anonymous on December 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by K. Osborn Sullivan for TeensReadToo.com

    Just like the title says, BOYOLOGY is a "crash course," although it's more of a crash course in dating, rather than boys in general. For instance, if you want to know what a "safety" is in football so you can have a conversation with your brother on a Sunday afternoon, then this book is not what you're looking for. However, if you want to figure out whether your brother's friend is flirting with you while you're all watching Sunday afternoon football, then this is the book for you.

    Before we go any further, I must offer a clarification: Where I'm from, teenage males are not referred to as "boys." They are "guys." For me, the word "boy" conjures up images of dimpled 5-year-olds with gaps where their front teeth should be. The only people around here who call teenagers "boys" are school principals. This is doubtless just a regional difference, so if you're from Chicago like I am, just mentally substitute the word "guy" for "boy" when you're reading BOYOLOGY (i.e. GUYOLOGY). Please don't let that little objection turn you off from this book, because it has a lot of good advice to offer about boys or guys or whatever you call them.

    BOYOLOGY contains a great deal of useful information for teenage girls who are trying to find their way around the confusing world of crushes and dating. While much of the advice might be things you have heard before in one form or another, it's nice to have it reinforced by a neutral third-party (i.e. someone who's not your mom or your minister). For instance, the book tells girls to be themselves and establish their physical boundaries before things get hot and heavy. There are also plenty of things that you probably haven't heard before, including fun date ideas for couples or groups, step-by-step instructions on how to kiss, and a quiz to see if you're a good date or not.

    The book is optimistic, by which I mean that it spends relatively little time on the "What if he's not into you?" scenarios, and many more pages on successful flirting, dating, and becoming a couple. The author balances her approach by offering not only the fun side of dating, but also worthwhile safety information. She points out the importance of letting your parents know if you're "seeing" someone online, as well as how to avoid and, if necessary, deal with sexual assault. I recommend her tip on taking a minute to program a taxi service phone number into your cell phone so you can always get home safely. The book even has a chapter at the end about breaking up. You might never need tips on maintaining your dignity when running into the ex and his new girlfriend, but when you do need them, they're worth their weight in gold.

    The book doesn't just offer the author's perspective. It has words of wisdom from celebrities, like Daniel Radcliffe and Zac Efron, and it provides advice from actual teenagers (lots of them boys/guys) who have "been there, done that." Even the author's husband (who used to be a boy/guy) chimes in from time to time.

    Read the full review at www.teensreadtoo.com!

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    To M&M

    Im 13, and boys at my middle school are doing tht same stuff. Heres some advice: you dont hav to change for boys. You are beauitful, and those stuck-up popular girls are not. Dont assume that a boy doesnt like u and u have to change yourself to get him. If u be yourself, the right boy will come along and love you for who u are, not something your not. And if u do like a boy, tell him that. Its scary, it requires a lot of courage, but once you get it over with you'll feel a lot better even if he says he doesnt like u back. B who u are, and never change that.
    -Rooster check out our youtube videos, just search "radfilms18"

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    To JUMP12 and anyone else

    Hai! I have a crush on this really cute and sweet guy in my class(aka mr perfect) and i slow danced with him at the last dance and since then, my friends and i catch him lookin at me sometimes and he talks to me a lot more. Also, today my friends forced me to sit next to him while the class watched a movie and his knee touched my leg and he pressed my leg a bit harder and just left it there for the rest of the movie(i know, weird but cute). Do u think he likes me??

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    A 12 Year old Lover

    This book is awesome and gives great advise that made me feel really happy about and because of a certain boy. I recommend this book to 12 year olds and all teens from13- around 15 or 16 :) Enjoy

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Should I buy this book

    Is this a good book? I wanna kniw how to get a guys fone number. Im 12 and I think Im ready for my first kiss. Would this book help me?
    Love,
    Haily

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Help lease! Help please!

    My boyfriend and i are happy together, never fight, and he has the cutest accent. Just one problem: there is this guy todd and he is into me to and wants to get to talk together with me-advice anyone?:)

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Tap This

    If u r reading this u r my nme and is sooo s2pid. I am sooo mad bquz i have no friends at skool. So most of the time i crbt( cry big tears) at home wishing for a friend. But those jerks need to stop and see wat a gr8 person i am. Btw i hav a pos( parent over shoulder. Watevs if i dont get a friend i will grind every1 in skool till their brain comes out their nose. I dont know who they r and idk and idc. This is the EOL.

    :-)
    ;-)
    :-p
    Lol
    ....
    You can stop reading now...
    Seriously!!!!
    STOPPPPP!!!!
    GRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Boyolgy

    I loved this it explained alot about boys. Truthfully i really never understood boys and there behavior and why they did just dumb stuff. if you need answers i would definetly buy this book and read it the first page is a hook its such a good book so hurry up happy reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    PLEASE HELP

    Ok so i REALLY like this guy named Josh and i cant tell if he likes me or not like sometimes he totally ignores me but when he dose talk to me he flirts with me he smiles blushes and he always sits by me so i liked this book cuz it told me that he probley likes me but he is shy and playing hard to get a little.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    I got a question about boys and i was hoping a boy could help me

    U can call me kyla the y sounds like an i. I am in 8th and my boyfriend is 16. If u will help me here is my question my boyfriend i were planning on having sex befor school started but then a while after he keep making the dates for us to have sex a week away and then it would be the morning when he was spossed to come over so we could but he kep making exseses and when i would ask him if was scared hed say no but i would blam him if he was scared i meen i was not but he didnt know that and he went and told his mom it was al my idea which it was not it was both of ours and now im in trouble because they beleive him and not me. Im still dating him what should i do?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Happy new year!

    Happy new year everyone :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2015

    Morgan

    Omg i have a fever and im sick :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    3rdkid

    Hey Morgan:) you gonna stay? What tablet did chu get?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    Patty

    Yea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Gem

    Oh good Morgan! We havent chatted in forever. To below. Yeah........just yesterday........why? Whats the matter?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Good

    This is a good but npt a lot of help on my crushe he is leaving nexr uear help me get the courage to go out with mee plz write love problems to help or give advoce

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    To Arayofsunshine From Dede

    I need help.So ive known this guy since kindergarton.He likes me i like him but heres the cetch,im in Russell and hes in Chardon.I moved the summer after second grade.And the problem is a few days after school ended for me when i was in fourth grade(Im going to be in fith this year.)his mom posted somthing on my moms facebook pagr saying,and i quote Zane (the guy)really misses Delia. So what do i do?Im never going to see him again,and i dont know his address.Pkease respond ASAP.Thanks and by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    to christian girl

    Well then I think you should definitely go for j then because you basically cancelled out any chances with t

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Help

    Im 13 about to have a baby in like 8months and father is my dad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    To Help

    I am a strong christian and I believe that God controlls the past present and future. If you are pregnant, then God has a reason for it. Nothing that happens, whether bad or good, is an accident; because all things are created to glorify God and exalt him on his throne of glory. I have no idea where you are in terms of your religon. I know and respect that some people have had bad experiences with religon, but God, like allof our friends, needs a second chance becase he gave us a secind chance when we sinned. If you truly need guidance, or just a comforter, title the review: To Cocobrum; and I will get you hooked up with my friends or the lead pastor of our church, Trevor DeVage. BTW, my name is Meghan Ramsey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6