Customer Reviews for

Boys Are Dogs (Annabelle Unleashed Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

i loved this book! it was the best-est book i have EVER read!

this book will keep you reading! especially if you are just going through elementary, middle or high school. this is a very cute book! i wish they had a 2nd :-) if you read this, please review :-) i want this book to get around, i L-O-V-E-D it!!

posted by 2389661 on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

Boys are dogs

I am an elementary school teacher and found this book very offensive. The latest statistics from the U.S. Dept. of Education confirm what we've been seeing in our classrooms for several years: that boys are experiencing a crisis, rapidly falling behind girls academica...
I am an elementary school teacher and found this book very offensive. The latest statistics from the U.S. Dept. of Education confirm what we've been seeing in our classrooms for several years: that boys are experiencing a crisis, rapidly falling behind girls academically. At my school, 80% of the students recommended for special education intervention and students enrolled in remedial classes are boys. Must we "empower" girls by teaching them to demean other people? No one would believe for a second that a book for boys describing girls as dogs to be trained would even be published, and if so, it undoubtedly would cause a national uproar among parents and teachers. This illustrates the sad state of our society that promotes bashing males of all ages in all forms of media. We should boycott this book and any book that condones demeaning groups based on gender, race, religion, etc.

posted by 2265739 on November 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    i loved this book! it was the best-est book i have EVER read!

    this book will keep you reading! especially if you are just going through elementary, middle or high school. this is a very cute book! i wish they had a 2nd :-) if you read this, please review :-) i want this book to get around, i L-O-V-E-D it!!

    30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    Boys are dogs

    I am an elementary school teacher and found this book very offensive. The latest statistics from the U.S. Dept. of Education confirm what we've been seeing in our classrooms for several years: that boys are experiencing a crisis, rapidly falling behind girls academically. At my school, 80% of the students recommended for special education intervention and students enrolled in remedial classes are boys. Must we "empower" girls by teaching them to demean other people? No one would believe for a second that a book for boys describing girls as dogs to be trained would even be published, and if so, it undoubtedly would cause a national uproar among parents and teachers. This illustrates the sad state of our society that promotes bashing males of all ages in all forms of media. We should boycott this book and any book that condones demeaning groups based on gender, race, religion, etc.

    19 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Read It Over and Over

    This book is interesting, but not in a bad way. I love Boys Are Dogs. In this book, a girl named Annabelle faces unusual challenges with her new Middle school, Birchwood. I love the author's detailed descriptions of her new town, school, and neighborhood. Annabelle thinks that Birchwood is totally different from her old all girls elementry school, St. Catherine's. This book is funny and realistic. I enjoyed the beginning when Annabelle described her Mother's new boyfriend, Ted. I thought it was funny when she called Ted "Dweeble", because his last name is Weeble. Annabelle also makes a neighborhood friend, Rachel. When Rachel's brother, Jackson, gets on Annabelle's nerves, things won't be dandy. With other boys like Tobias and Erik bothering her, Annabelle trains them like her dog. Will Annabelle like her new life, or will she be miserable forever? I would definitely recommend this book to a friend. ?

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Great

    I think that sometimes that can be true. Sometimes not. Great book i suggest it to tweens (10-12) for this book.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Luv it

    It's one of my favorite books. It is awesome.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    I didn't read this book on NOOK, but it is really good. If you like ' stand up to the bully ' books, you will like this book:) ;)
    Happy reading!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Boys are dogs

    A very hilarious story of a girl who finds boys are almost exactley alike dogs

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    :) great book!

    I love this book & not all boys r dogs 1 of my best friends is a boy!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    awesome book

    i loved this book i would recomend it to anyone from 4-6 graders amazing i cant wait to read rhe next one: )

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Awesome

    Great book for kids and audlts

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Boys are dogs the best

    AMAZING BOOK BEST EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Loved it

    Im in middle-school and i agrrie with this book

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I love this book<3

    Really entertaininv book & very funny (:

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    I love this book!

    I wil read it over and over again leslie margolis is a genius!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by hoopsielv for TeensReadToo.com

    Annabelle comes home from summer camp to a lot of new changes in her life. She's moving into a new house with her mom's new boyfriend.<BR/><BR/>They buy her a puppy in hopes that she will have a better adjustment.<BR/><BR/>The puppy appears to be a bouncy ball of fur, but he soon gets into everything! Annabelle certainly has her hands full! Luckily, she has a book on raising dogs that should help.<BR/><BR/>Going to a new school is another change in Annabelle's life. She had previously gone to an all-girls school, so for the first time she has boys in her classes. It only takes her a minute to realize that boys are dogs! One boy tells her to go into the wrong classroom, another kicks her chair in class, and her two lab partners either ignore her or make fun of her.<BR/><BR/>Annabelle's book on training dogs proves to be a bigger help than she originally plans. She can use the tips with Pepper and also with the boys at school! She's got to make them all realize that she is the boss and the dominant dog of them all!<BR/><BR/>This book was terrific! It was full of laughs and I enjoyed seeing what Annabelle planned to do next. She's a character who starts out unsure of herself but you really see her confidence grow in the book. This would be an enjoyable read for anyone, whether you are in junior high or just want to relive those memories!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Awesome

    Recomended for 10-12 year olds

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Love it!

    Great series

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Great

    this waz a awesome book

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    ?

    It was a bit annoying.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    January 28, 2014

    Luciec17
    I love this book. I read the sereis over and over intill my eyes hurt. My favorite one is One Tuff Chick. In the first one boys are dogs, a girl named Annabelle moves from being with her friends Sophia and Mia at a all girls school, to public middle school. Her mothor gives her a dog, for being so brave at the move. Thankfully, the girl next door is exepting her as a knew friend. Still, Annabelle thinks that her mothor is bribiing her to try to like the knew school. She wont give in.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8