Customer Reviews for

Boys Are Dogs (Annabelle Unleashed Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

i loved this book! it was the best-est book i have EVER read!

this book will keep you reading! especially if you are just going through elementary, middle or high school. this is a very cute book! i wish they had a 2nd :-) if you read this, please review :-) i want this book to get around, i L-O-V-E-D it!!

posted by 2389661 on December 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Boys are dogs

I am an elementary school teacher and found this book very offensive. The latest statistics from the U.S. Dept. of Education confirm what we've been seeing in our classrooms for several years: that boys are experiencing a crisis, rapidly falling behind girls academica...
I am an elementary school teacher and found this book very offensive. The latest statistics from the U.S. Dept. of Education confirm what we've been seeing in our classrooms for several years: that boys are experiencing a crisis, rapidly falling behind girls academically. At my school, 80% of the students recommended for special education intervention and students enrolled in remedial classes are boys. Must we "empower" girls by teaching them to demean other people? No one would believe for a second that a book for boys describing girls as dogs to be trained would even be published, and if so, it undoubtedly would cause a national uproar among parents and teachers. This illustrates the sad state of our society that promotes bashing males of all ages in all forms of media. We should boycott this book and any book that condones demeaning groups based on gender, race, religion, etc.

posted by 2265739 on November 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Funny and cool

    This girl named annabelle moves schools and she also moves houses. Her mom and her boyfreind get annabelle a new dog and it dosent behave well so she teaches it. But when she goes ti her new school she gets teased and trains boys that tease her like she does with her dog.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Hi

    I read the sample and it is great but i want to read the whole book but i cant buy it but anyways it sounds like a GREAT book......fyi,boys are dogs

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Great

    This book is great for girls ages7-10
    Hop you enjoy it

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Thier Life Is Ruff Thier Life Ruff

    This book is totally true, but I guess some boys aren't dogs!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Good

    Annebelle is so dramatic in this book. In GIRLS ACTTING CATTY she is more laid back and calm. Good book though!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was so. much. fun! I liked it almost as much as Girl's

    This book was so. much. fun! I liked it almost as much as Girl's Best Friend by the same author!

    I normally don't enjoy reading about 11 year olds, because most authors manage to make them sound like complete idiots who don't know how to do anything and may as well be in preschool. That is SO not an accurate depiction, and it makes me think they forgot what it was like to be that age. Not Leslie Margolis, though. She made a relatable character with struggles that kids and even teens can relate to, and adults will remember having when they were children.

    The dog training part of the book was funny and I found myself wondering if this could actually work if I had tried it in sixth grade. I'm thinking it probably would have. (Though I probably would have gotten a reputation for being bossy.)

    So, I would definitely recommend this book, especially to girls ages 9-12. It was a good read, and I am placing a hold on the second book in the series as soon as I am done writing this review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Hey nook s*x no weirdo words

    I thought it was a good book (and dude no kiss talk)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Hey hy hey

    Izzi here

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Awesome

    I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Awesome Book!

    Boys are Dogs is a great book for pre-teen and teen girls. It teaches that many boys may act weird but you just have to learn to control them and they will obey you and be friends, kind of like training a puppy. In this book Annabelle's mom is moving in with her new boyfriend. The only problem is that he lives far away from her old apartment. When school starts Annabelle barley knows anyone and worst of all she doesn't know the school! She gets lost and asks a guy where her next class is and he gives her the wrong one! Annabelle has many boys bugging her. Her next move is to find out how to stop them and make them obey her. She has some troubles, but she gets through it. She uses a puppy training book as her guide for dealing with the boys. Boys are Dogs is an easy, fun book to read and I highly recommend it! This book is a real page turner and you can finish it easily in one day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    great boo!

    i think this is a gr8 book 2 read 2 children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    Great Book!!

    I think this book was interesting!! The author did a great job working on this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Boys really are Dogs!

    This book rocks socks. It's insane how that book works pefectly. I reccomend this to all upper elementary and middle school students. Librarians: PUT THIS ON YOUR ORDER LIST!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars and 2 thumbs up! Read on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2