Customer Reviews for

Boy's Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

You have to read this book before you die!

I grew up a huge fan of Stephen King and once saw that he had favorably reviewed a Robert R. McCammon work. I read all of his early books and enjoyed thim immensely. However, after I read this book I decided it was my absolute favorite book of all time. I have given ...
I grew up a huge fan of Stephen King and once saw that he had favorably reviewed a Robert R. McCammon work. I read all of his early books and enjoyed thim immensely. However, after I read this book I decided it was my absolute favorite book of all time. I have given it as a gift numerous times and I cannot wait until my son is old enough to read it!

posted by 321573 on November 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't read.

I expected a thrilling adventure of a boy somehow catching a murderer with his father but got a dull story of a pretty ordinary year at the beginning and found myself wanting to stop and quit on the book.

posted by Anonymous on August 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    You have to read this book before you die!

    I grew up a huge fan of Stephen King and once saw that he had favorably reviewed a Robert R. McCammon work. I read all of his early books and enjoyed thim immensely. However, after I read this book I decided it was my absolute favorite book of all time. I have given it as a gift numerous times and I cannot wait until my son is old enough to read it!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    I bought this book in paperback many years ago. It is still on

    I bought this book in paperback many years ago. It is still on my bookshelf, torn and worn out. I have read this so many times and loaned out so much over the years. One of the best books i have ever read

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Outstanding

    Boy's Life is a book that grabs you from the first chapter and supports that strong beginning with many other stunning events. This terrific murder mystery novel started out as a best seller and still remains to be for over a decade. The story starts out as a young boy named Cory and his father witness a gruesome murder as the evidence plunges into the unfathomable depths of Saxon's Lake. However, as Cory's father dives into the lake in attempt to save the helpless victim, Cory himself catches a glimpse of a possible suspect in a long, wavy coat. He also finds a small green feather in which may be the key to solving this haunting mystery. Will Cory become successful, or will his father's numerous nightmares of the occasion become an anchor in pursuit of the fearless murder?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2000

    Simply the best

    If you ask a million people what their favorite book is, you'll probably get a million different answers. Now, notice how many readers say that about 'Boy's Life,' and count me in that group as well. After reading McCammon's 'Mine', I was interested to see what else the author had to say. After reading 'Boy's Life' I have made it my mission to seek out everything McCammon's ever written. The book is at times hilarious and at others heartbreaking. Sometimes thrilling, sometimes magical, but always engaging. This is the rare book that, when you read it, you'll find yourself reading passages out loud to anyone within earshot, because of how beautifully the words flow. The centrtal mystery is compelling and lays a terrific frame for the other adventures that surround it. I was genuinely sad to see the book end. A must read for anyone who likes to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Reads like being on vacation.

    My favorite book.
    The story reads as if your favorite storyteller is telling you their best story.
    This book has elements of horror stories, studies on small town life, a mystery, coming of age moments and colorful characters that will remain in your memory for life.
    When I read this book, it's like being on vacation. Most chapters end with a cliffhanger-like ending that makes you want to keep reading. The characters are genuine, and the story lines are consistently interesting. Even though the title is "Boy's Life," my sister, who introduced me to Robert R. McCammon's works, loves the book to. Men and Women can relate to the situations and characters.
    I wish they had retained the original cover art.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Couldn't Put it Down!

    What a fantastic book. I was grabbed by the beginning and could not put it down. It touches on lifes important topics (childhood, growing up, relationships, small-town America, a changing future amd longing for thr past experiemces and people), and once you start reading you are connected and pulled into this world because itis so familiar to you. Highly recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    The Best 'Remembrance' Fiction Ever

    Boy's Life is McCammon's move--16+ years ago--from horror/shock fiction to mainstream, and, boy, does he hit it running. Everyone to whom I have given a copy has loved it. Details? You don't need them. Read B&N's blurb, or any other review here. A bonus in this serious piece of fiction is McCammon's sense of humor. While you resd this wonderful book, if there aren't times when you aren't rolling on the floor, laughing and with tears in your eyes, then you're in need of some big-time help. If you like this one, check out his next one, Gone South. Completely different in tone and style, it's also one of my favorites. What happens when the protagonist accidentally murders a man in the first few pages and then is on the run the rest of the novel? This one has as much meat as--maybe more than--Boy's Life. McCammon's works are keepers that you will want to re-read every few years. Get these books; you'll have no regrets.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    A Magical Journey

    For those of us who grew up in small towns having to create our fun and play through imagination: THIS BOOK IS FOR US. It was one of the best books I have every read. I passed it on to my sisters who felt the same...full of magic. Patti Scott

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    magical and mysterious

    Boy's life is an outstanding book for anyone to read, and I say that being someone hates reading but actually enjoyed this book. It was full of excitement and adventure and is perfect for anyone who likes a good murder mystery. This book pulled me in from the first chapter and kept me flipping the pages to find out what would happen next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    wow good book

    wow good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    This was recommended to me from somebody that reads alot more th

    This was recommended to me from somebody that reads alot more then me!  I loved this book!  If your a fan of Stephen King or Dean Koontz you need to check this out.  I can't wait to read more from Robert McCammon, the only question is what next?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Fuck it

    S

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Brings me back to some of the things I'd seen, heard...and even

    Brings me back to some of the things I'd seen, heard...and even thought about....scary, thrilling, deep in thought....mystery....especially for a 12 year old....oooh to hear the frogs croakin again...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    DEFINITE ALL-TIME FAVE!!!!!

    I don't think this will ever leave the top of my "All-Time Favorites" shelf. I read this book many years ago at the suggestion of a friend. I have never found another book or author I like any better. Maybe some just as good, but none better. It is a wonderful story about growing up in a different time (the boy is 11 gowing up in the early 1960s). It is about friendship, family (good and bad), loss and hardships, baseball, first loves, secrets, magic, make-believe, and murder mysteries. This author has a way with words like very few I have ever read (he is also the author of another one of the best books of all times, Swan Song). You will laugh, you will cry, you will live on the edge of your seat, you will be furious, and you will cheer.

    I would not recommend to elementary school children, as there is some pretty foul language and some pretty graphic bullying scenes. I did, however, let my 13-year old read it (to which I promptly had to explain what a whorehouse was). These areas, though, are few in the book and I don't wish to make it sound like a vulgar book. Being 11 in the early 60's was like living in a different world from today. It was all worth it when my son came away also saying it was the best read ever!

    I have read this book over and over through the years. I will never tire of reading it. My hard copy is held together by paper clips. I have recommended this book to any of my friends and to anyone who just wants to get completely lost in a "story," because man oh man, can this guy tell a story!

    -- SPeeD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Good read

    I'm a very picky reader. This book was surprisingly good. Kept me interested and was entertaining as well. Reminded me of the movie "stand by me". But with more stories. Its about a boy growing up. Basically but from the boys mind and how he views the world. Which is full of imagination. This book did not disappoint. If you like murder mystery books i would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Excellent Read

    This book was recommended to me by a fellow reader. I was not disappointed in any way. It reminded me of the joys and angst of being what our guidance counselor referred to as a "tween". I was able to identify with all of the mystery and adventure.
    I highly recommend this for a nostalgic journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Great Book!

    I had read this book nearly 13 yrs ago. Enjoyed it then and enjoyed it again as a re-read. Highly recommended. McCammon is one of my favorite authors. I read through his entire body of work after reading Swan Song, which I still believe to be his best work ever. I don't think you can go wrong with this. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a GREAT read! I read 'Swan Song' years ago and it has alwa

    What a GREAT read! I read 'Swan Song' years ago and it has always been one of my favorites. Well add 'Boy's Life' to that list. Mr. McCammon is an outstanding story teller and in my opinion, is equal to if not better than, Dean Koontz and Stephen King. Do yourself a favor and READ THIS BOOK!!! (P.S. - It's not for "boys only).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Pageturner start to finish!

    I read all his books years ago and can't wait to read the new series! Excellent story teller. Great book if you like a little spookiness with your mystery. Well done!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Just as good the second time!

    I originally read this book in 1995 and it has always been my favorite. I just finished reading it again and it is still the best book I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5