Customer Reviews for

Boys for Pele

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Get Lost In This One

    This is one of my all-time favorite albums. It is strange, bold, daring, terrifying, confusing, and maddenly satisfying all at once. This is a wild ride. I know people who love Tori and hate this CD. After listening to it for the 10 or so time, i could see why. You can't get inside of her head on most of these. The tracks are so different that sometimes I wonder why they are all on the same CD together. Ultimately, I glimpse the madness inherent in the juxtaposition and stop the dissection, allowing the music to work its voodoo. And believe me, it does.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely amazing.

    When I first bought this album, I honestly had trouble listening to it entirely. It just didn't stick with me. But I gave it a few listens and now it is my favorite album. There is so much emotion and bizarreness that it is just superb. Yes the songs are a little out there and hard to understand, but the songs are also some of the most beautiful I've ever heard. "Marianne" is definitely my favorite. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite Album of all time.

    The CD, videos, and the Dew Drop Inn Tour relayed the most raw emotion put forth by a musical artist to date. Watch Tori perform Precious Things, from the Live in NY video and I think you will agree nobody has shown so much on stage, no matter if you like the performance or not. Amazing, a must have CD for those who like introspective, intelligent music.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sometimes fine.

    I think Boys for Pele, is such an honest, raw display of human feeling. that she could not possibly go wrong. She is an incredible artist. and that is where I leave it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Whole New Sound For Tori Amos

    This album may not sound like the two released before it, but it is definately a must-have for long time Tori fans and new fans alike. The music on the tracks is excellently written, arranged, and, of course, played. Tori once again wows us with her pen and ability to play with words. Highly recommended for the latest addition to your music library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You've come a long way baby

    Never has a an album provoked such emotions out of me. Every song, and I mean EVERY song, is a masterpiece. She is a modern day Mozart.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What else can I say?...

    Not a standard pop confection, but a masterpiece. The depth and spice that each song contributes to "Boys For Pele" is rare for any artist to whip up in one sitting. At first listen some songs may seem harsh, some mundane. Tori Amos herself admits to being "like anchovies...an aquired taste". This CD may take a few listens to grab you, but when it does it leaves quite an impression. For those new to Tori, try "Putting The Damage On", "Hey Jupiter", and "Talula". Other songs may take a more open ear to fully digest. This CD is a piece of art and by far Amos' best. Don't pass it by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kelson's review

    I love this CD, I listen to it most out of all of her albums. To me it has the most emotion out of all of them, They put me in the mood of whatever song is playing. They are also a lot more dark than her previous work, which to me is an improvment. Although i think all of Tori's albums are magnificent pieces of work (except scarlet's walk)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tori Amos' best work up to date┬┐

    Boys for Pele was, in my opinion, a great evolution in her work. The dark side of these songs (even "Talula", the sunniest song on the album, is about severed queens, i.e. Marie-Antoinette and Anne Boleyn) makes this album her best up to date. In my opinion, however, it lacks the intimacy that made "Little Earthquakes" such a good record, but it's much better than "Under the Pink", maybe just because it's so dark and sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''Boys'' Sacrificed To Psychosis

    Tori Amos' third release, ''Boys For Pele'', is her least accessible, least understandable album. Many of the tracks are under two minutes long and listening to her lyrics is like reading Carroll's ''Jabberwocky''. ''Hey Jupiter'',''In the Springtime of His Voodoo'' and ''The Doughnut Song'' are beautifully done, but the other songs are sub-par Amos.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Into the Flaming Volcano

    If Little Earthquakes stripped Tori Amos to the skin ¿ and Under the Pink to the bone ¿ then Boys For Pele slashes straight to the singer¿s psyche. With bells, whistles, and other extraneous effluvia largely eschewed, Pele shines a white-hot, oft-times uncomfortably claustrophobic spotlight on Amos and her beloved Bösendorfer, leaving the listener with the queasy sensation of being attached at the tongue to a Turette¿s Syndrome-suffering Siamese twin. Which is to say: The lyrics have gotten even weirder. While her Earthquakes-era couplets, when not spot-on inspired, were never less than hypnotically provocative, Amos¿ lyrical weavings on Pele lean perilously toward the precious. Suddenly, Fig Newtons and tuna are competing with zebras and weasels for nursery-rhyme remote, non-sequitur supremacy, and Mr. Sulu and Judas are time-sharing with Moses and Muhammad (both the prophet AND the pugilist). Still, there are many gems in this junkshop (¿Father Lucifer,¿ ¿Marianne,¿ ¿Caught a Lite Sneeze,¿ ¿Hey Jupiter,¿ ¿Putting the Damage On¿); one simply has to work a bit to mine them from the muck.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1