Customer Reviews for

The Boys of Winter: The Untold Story of a Coach, a Dream, and the 1980 U. S. Olympic Hockey Team

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Living in the Moment In 1980, the XIII Olympic Winter Games wer

Living in the Moment

In 1980, the XIII Olympic Winter Games were held in Lake Placid, New York. At the time the United States was struggling with an economic slump, fighting an oil crisis, and facing many overseas issues like the Iranian Hostage Crisis and the Cold War...
Living in the Moment

In 1980, the XIII Olympic Winter Games were held in Lake Placid, New York. At the time the United States was struggling with an economic slump, fighting an oil crisis, and facing many overseas issues like the Iranian Hostage Crisis and the Cold War with the USSR. Morale was down throughout American citizens. Wayne Coffey relinquishes a defining moment of these Olympics and American sports history that changes the course of American spirit by retelling the hockey game of USA vs. USSR in the medal semi-finals in the book The Boys of Winter.

The Boys of Winter is a compelling story about hard-work, determination, the cohesiveness of a team, and reaching goals. This book is a fantastic read for someone who is looking for a thrilling recount of the biggest hockey game in American history. The book provides amazing information and enticing stories of players and coaches, but it is not a history lesson. The Boys of Winter starts nearly at the first drop of the puck in Lake Placid on February 22, 1980 and ends after 60 minutes of a hard-hitting hockey game.

I was aware I might be disappointed by this book because I already knew the beginning, middle, and end by watching Disney’s take on the event, the movie Miracle. However, Coffey conveys his own unique spin on the game by accounting for nearly every second spent on the ice, the logistics surrounding it, and my favorite part, expertly intertwined descriptions of each USA player’s personality through special stories of their lives before and after that game. He highlights the strengths of the players enough to make me believe that this win did not just come from a well-conditioned, fairly talented and hard-working group of players; it came from a team where each and every player had their own special addition, from the will to lead by example to the will to disprove stereotypes, that was hand-selected by coach Herb Brooks.

This book was generally a very quick and easy read, but at times when Coffey was detailing every shot took in each period it would drag on. The extensive hockey vocabulary was hard to follow, especially for someone who does not play the sport. He matches his specialized moments by enticing and personable stories that make this book fun to read for someone who is looking for more than just the movie portrays about the game and all the United States players.

posted by ktrefz93 on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Soccer

My god i am looking for a soccer book

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Love hockey?

    Great read. If you love hockey, read this book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Living in the Moment In 1980, the XIII Olympic Winter Games wer

    Living in the Moment

    In 1980, the XIII Olympic Winter Games were held in Lake Placid, New York. At the time the United States was struggling with an economic slump, fighting an oil crisis, and facing many overseas issues like the Iranian Hostage Crisis and the Cold War with the USSR. Morale was down throughout American citizens. Wayne Coffey relinquishes a defining moment of these Olympics and American sports history that changes the course of American spirit by retelling the hockey game of USA vs. USSR in the medal semi-finals in the book The Boys of Winter.

    The Boys of Winter is a compelling story about hard-work, determination, the cohesiveness of a team, and reaching goals. This book is a fantastic read for someone who is looking for a thrilling recount of the biggest hockey game in American history. The book provides amazing information and enticing stories of players and coaches, but it is not a history lesson. The Boys of Winter starts nearly at the first drop of the puck in Lake Placid on February 22, 1980 and ends after 60 minutes of a hard-hitting hockey game.

    I was aware I might be disappointed by this book because I already knew the beginning, middle, and end by watching Disney’s take on the event, the movie Miracle. However, Coffey conveys his own unique spin on the game by accounting for nearly every second spent on the ice, the logistics surrounding it, and my favorite part, expertly intertwined descriptions of each USA player’s personality through special stories of their lives before and after that game. He highlights the strengths of the players enough to make me believe that this win did not just come from a well-conditioned, fairly talented and hard-working group of players; it came from a team where each and every player had their own special addition, from the will to lead by example to the will to disprove stereotypes, that was hand-selected by coach Herb Brooks.

    This book was generally a very quick and easy read, but at times when Coffey was detailing every shot took in each period it would drag on. The extensive hockey vocabulary was hard to follow, especially for someone who does not play the sport. He matches his specialized moments by enticing and personable stories that make this book fun to read for someone who is looking for more than just the movie portrays about the game and all the United States players.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Soccer

    My god i am looking for a soccer book

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Herb Brooks is The Man!

    This is the triumphant story of the 1980 US Olympic Hockey Team. This story captures the hearts of readers everywhere. Read as Coach Herb Brooks tries to form a dream hockey team to upset the Russian juggernaut. This story teaches readers significant morals and lessons. This book is a great read for anyone who loves sports.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Boys of Winter

    The novel The Boys of Winter by Coffey is an amazing story of the 1980 Olympic miracle on ice. This story shows how so many players from diverse areas of the country were able to come together and unite in order to win a gold medal. The book gives a great play by play of the game against the Russians that brought the U.S.A. together. At times this book may sound like it is promoting the violence of the game due to the detail Coffey goes into on the hits but he is just trying to tell an accurate account of the game, nothing more. This is the story of a group of men coming together against all odds, this is not just a book about hockey. So even if the reader does not enjoy hockey they should still enjoy this book. The portrayal of Coach Herb Brooks by Coffey is amazing, the reader gets to see exactly what he had to go through in order to unify that team. Overall The Boys of Winter is highly recommended and all sports fans should take the time to read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    To everyone

    Hockey is the best sport ever. Does anyone know the lyrics to problem by ariana grande? Reply back to sportslover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Im not gonna be a firts gader so im gonna just say that i really love hockey so im guessing this book is gonna be beautiful

    Beautiful sport hockey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Intensity, fearlessness, and a story that truly tells itself. Th

    Intensity, fearlessness, and a story that truly tells itself. Thats what this this book is about. The book really captures the setting even around the hockey game. At this time alot was going on in America and that is just as much a part of the story as hockey is. The book describes the intensity of the 1980 american hockey society completely. I would recommend this book to anyone who is an avid sports fan. You don't have to be a die-hard hockey fan to read this. If you love competition and sport dedicated books, this is the one for you. Coffey truly captures each hockey game and describes the full intensity of each and every shift on the ice. Coffey's writing style fit the needs of this story completely. He did not try to overpower the story by his writing but allowed the story to be the "cake" and his writing to be the "frosting." He just spiced up and put the intensity inside of it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    ***********

    Bob Suter is still alive
    Rate:**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    S word on page 27

    S%#@ is a bad wordi

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Excellent

    I was born in 1981 and this gives a great review of the game and players in depth that made up a special moment and team in American history.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Its a great book but a kittke profanity in it

    ********************************************************************************************************************************************************** stars

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Good Book

    I enjoyed reading this book. I would recommend this book for any one interested in the 80 Olympic hockey team.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Very good read

    I'm not any sort of a hockey fan, and am too young to have seen this game and actually remember it. However I loved the movie that was based on this book & was equally impressed with the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended - a must read!

    An inspiring story of a dream come true. The dedication and focus, this coach and team had, is remarkable. Truly a Miracle........ that brought me to tears of joy!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    HOCKEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a great book to read if you are interested in hokey and what happened to one of the best hockey team ever put together by Herb Brooks. It tells the story of the 'miracle on ice' of 1980. People wil love this book if they are interested in hockey. I am and i very much enjoyed this book. I could read it over countless times. READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!<3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    this is a amazing book

    i love this it is about a dad who.... well you will find out this book is perfect for kids who read at night or hockey but one more time BUY THE DAMN BOOK

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Top Retelling of the 1980 Team

    Coffey writes an awesome book, capturing not only the drama of the game with the Russians, but also providing snapshot biographies of the key players. Like an expert skater, he weaves in and out with game and player details. The story never gets old and the insight as to the boys in red, white and blue is fascinating. Matters not if you are a hockey fan or sports fan or even if you weren't yet born in 1980, pick it up and give it a read. Great book about a key moment in sports and our nation's history.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    Winter Of the boys

    Many books can be boring and not keep my interest, I guess I'm a picky reader but for some reason this book kept I interested but it also bagging for more. By Wayne Coffey's righting style it was able to make me feel like I was in the middle of the practices watching the hockey team skate circles around me. Making each person come to life as if I was right beside them as they were telling me the story of their amazing victory. One thing that I believe he could have done better is have more information on the team members not so much the couch. It would have been nice to see how the team members were affected after reserving the gold medal in the 1980 Olympic Games. Overall this book was a very good and exciting read. I would recommend it to any hockey fan and anyone who is looking for a good and exciting read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    A Gold Medal Book!

    The Boys of Winter gives the reader an inside look at the lives of the players and coaches of the 1980 United States Olympic Hockey Team. It begins with the funeral of legendary coach Herb Brooks in 2003, and follows with the play-by-play of the Lake Placid Olympic semi-final game between the American and Russian teams. With a 4-3 victory over the Russians, the young Americans went on to win the gold against the Finns. The Boys of Winter is much more than the record of a memorable sports event because it takes us into the lives of the players and coaches. During the heart-stopping plays, author Wayne Coffey often returns to a player's childhood with plenty of details about the youngster's early days on frozen Minnesota lakes and backyard ponds. He includes heartwarming stories of the sacrifices parents made and challenges families overcame. We learn that the players continue to excel in their adult lives some still in hockey, others in business and are enjoying new careers. The decade before the 1980 Olympics was very stressful in America: post-Vietnam, rising tension in Afghanistan with the USSR invasion and rising gas prices. The victory gave Americans reason for hope and pride once more. This is a story of winning over impossible odds, of creating unity, and relentless determination. I enjoyed the book in its entirety, especially how the Herb Brooks united the players from the Midwest and the Northeast by becoming their common enemy. As a hockey fan, the description of the game was made more exciting because Coffey departs from the action to player biographies. For someone unfamiliar with hockey terminology, the story could be difficult to follow, although explanations are given of some hockey-talk. This book is a great piece of historical sports writing, covering a phenomenal twentieth century event. Hockey fans, young hockey players, and those who remember ¿the miracle¿ should consider reading The Boys Of Winter. It¿s definitely a score.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4