Customer Reviews for

Brag!: The Art of Tooting Your Own Horn Without Blowing It

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    QUESTION!

    IS THIS BOOK ABOUT MUSIC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Excellent Read

    If you have trouble "tooting your own horn," this is definitely the book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A clever guide on how to brag without seeming like a braggart

    Do you believe that it is unseemly to brag about yourself? Well, Hall of Fame pitching great Dizzy Dean would differ with you. As he said, ¿It ain¿t bragging if you done it.¿ Author Peggy Klaus agrees wholeheartedly. In this book extolling bragging, Klaus explains that strategic self-promotion often is the best way to avoid being overlooked (and possibly downsized) in the dog-eat-dog business world. Of course, when you brag, you should not seem to be doing so. Klaus explains how to accomplish this dodge gracefully. getAbstract believes that anyone in business could benefit from Klaus¿s savvy advice. Just don¿t be a ¿brag bomb¿ and let all that success go to your head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    Brag without feeling Foolish

    Finally, an easy to read self help book on how to make your self a star without feeling like an idiot. For many of us who work hard in the trenches but do not feel comfortable extolling our virtues, some easy to use techniques and ways to brag without feeling foolish or arrogant. Klaus makes it fun and emphasizes that in this competitive environment we have to find creative ways to self promote. A great read and a big confidence builder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    Brag: The Art of Tooting Your Own Horn Without Blowing It

    Klaus is right ¿ self-promotion isn't bragging ¿ but only if it's done right ¿ with a carefully developed plan. 'Personal publicity' is a valuable business tool that career women must add to their strategies for success. It¿s easy to wrongly assume that a mentor (for those lucky enough to have one), or supervisor will take control and make sure that we gain professional visibility. Women, especially, show far too much humility about their talents and skills. If we want people to value our skills, we must first show that we value ourselves ¿- by making sure our accomplishments are visible to targeted audiences. If we want people to hire us or promote us, buy from us or invest in our companies, they have to know who we are, what we have accomplished and why they should do business with us! The first step is to develop a 'personal publicity plan,' a step-by-step process that will help even the most timid become comfortable with the concept of self-promotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    Brag: The Art of Tooting Your Own Horn Without Blowing It

    Professional visibility is a critical component to building a strategy for success. A simple statement, but often an ignored concept - especially by women who show far too much humility about their talents and skills. If we want people to value our skills, we must first show that we value ourselves ¿- by making sure our accomplishments are visible to targeted audiences. If we want people to hire us or promote us, buy from us or invest in our companies, they have to know who we are, what we have accomplished and why they should do business with us! The first step is to develop a 'personal publicity plan,' a step-by-step process that will help even the most timid become comfortable with the concept of self-promotion. From: Marion E. Gold, author of the 'Personal Publicity Plan: A Guide to Marketing YOU.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 12 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1