Customer Reviews for

Brain Games: Large Print Crossword Puzzles

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is Fun

    I have had lots of fun doing the various games in this challenging, yet fun book. The puzzles in this book range from easy to quite challenging and include math and word puzzles. It has games I have never heard of before and I love to do. One of them is Calcu-Sudoku which requires me to do math problems to eliminate numbers for the puzzle. There are also traditional crossword puzzles and untraditional crossword puzzles. Some crossword puzzles can be solves without clues! The other night I stayed up pretty late because I could not put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    BRAIN GAMES PICTURE PUZZLES

    The first Brain Games Picture Puzzles I received as a Christmas gift
    Christmas 2009. It turned out to be the best Christmas gift. I took
    the book with me in January on a flight to Florida. Then in February,
    I was fortunate to take a trip to California. I again took the book.
    It is fun to do, and mind active. A great alternative to reading.
    Since then, I have purchased three more of this book. This is fun
    to do when patiently waiting for anything!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    Great book for group fun

    This book is great for testing your brain, or for a group to test each other. There are games and brain teasers for kids and adults at several different levels. There are some basic items in the book (like What does not belong in this picture or locate a list of items in a picture) that allow children 5 and up to participate. There are several visual puzzles that allow you to check the vision on someone you suspect might have a depth perception problem. I use this book in the classroom. When we are done with the lesson but there is still time in the class, I get the book out and test the kids. They think it is great fun and they try to see who can come up with the answer first. I recommend this book for teachers and for family fun. If you are someone who likes to challenge yourself, the advanced puzzles will appeal to you as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    These are very high quality.  Your kids will love them--unless t

    These are very high quality.  Your kids will love them--unless they are totally spoiled by computers and tv!  Why not try to get them engaged in something else for a change?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    Great For Sports Fans

    My husband loves puzzle games like Suduko and brain teasers and loves baseball add these two together and he is in heaven! It combines 2 great past times and putting your knowledge to the test!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun book

    This book is perfect for the person that enjoys playing soduko. I love the spiral notebook style because it allows the book to lay flat. The book starts out very easy so it makes the games fast. I play this game when watching television. There are over two hundred games to keep you busy in your spare time. I have also given this book as a gift. Even if they have never played this game it is a good book to start with because it starts out so very easy. Have fun playing this game. It keeps your brain young and spry which is very important when growing older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    A great activity book for all ages

    There is lots of fun to be found in this "spot the differences" puzzle book. I use it to keep my boys occupied while we wait for appointments and to keep them busy when we fly. This is an enjoyable activity book and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    WORD SEARCH

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! I PICK UP MY KIDS EVERYDAY FROM SCHOOL. I KEEP IT IN MY CAR SO THAT I HAVE SOMETHING FUN TO DO WHILE I WAIT FOR THEM TO GET OUT. THE PUZZLES ALTERNATE BETWEEN BASIC ONES TO ONES THAT ONCE YOU FIND ALL THE WORDS YOU PUT TOGETHER THE LEFTOVER LETTERS TO FIND A HIDDEN ANSWER. I ALSO LIKE HOW IT HAS A NOTEBOOK STYLE BINDING SO IT LAYS FLAT AND I CAN HOOK MY PEN ON IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    Food for the Brain

    I keep this book in my car; when I need something to fill the time--waiting for my daughter after practice, etc. I pull it out and do some of the puzzles. I like the variety this book offers. Some games are easy and some are very difficult. I like the challenge. I also like to use some of the games and puzzles in my classroom with my students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Can't put it down!!

    Love this book. There are so many different types of puzzles that it really works your brain. I liked it so much I bought two more (same book - different types of puzzles) for my older children. They also could not put theirs down. These books are well worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Brain games

    This book is pretty great to carry around. Its not too big and its spiral bound so its easy to lay it flat. If you've ever played the any type of brain game on your phone or game system this is basically the same. Every book goes from an easy level to progressively harder and each level includes the same kind of puzzles. It also has the answers at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    Great Fun

    I just love my picture puzzle book. It's a great way to stimulate the brain and have fun at the same time. My ten year old granddaughter was also fascinated by it and I purchased one of the books for her also. Sometimes we do the search together. Now that's great fun for grandma.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Brain Teasers

    Well, I found it amazing. At times complicated, but gets your mind going. I like it. Expecially necessary for long durations like a flight or long drives (if your not driving). ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    This kind of thing is critical for your brain

    I bought one of these for my wife and one for me. I research in this area, and this book includes some of the best work for keeping your brain sharp, young or old. It's even more critical to do this as you age, and doing this kind of variety, where you are forced to learn new rules for fairly complex games, is the best way to develop and maintain mental agility. Especially after your 30s, when brain cells are dying more quickly every day, this agility can help you be smarter with fewer brain cells.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Picture Puzzle series

    If you are a person of puzzles, I mean any kind of a puzzle you should try picture puzzle. I am so addicted to this kinda puzzles that I even bought a value pack of them the other day. You enjoy being challenged and your eyes become sharper. It is best if you are a very detailed oriented person, you will love this puzzle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I am enjoying Brain Games

    Brain Games was a gift from my son, for he knows I love puzzles of all sorts. This is a good choice by him, for it does have many types of brain games in it. An interesting feature is the 5 levels of games included. For instance, I can only do level 1 Sudoku, but can do higher levels of other games. And with practice, perhaps I will move up a level in Sudoku!

    I appreciate the hard cover on it and the spiral binding that makes it possible to work without a lapboard or desk. Fun for use in traveling by air, car, or train.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    Excellent for your brain!

    When these picture puzzles first appeared in Parade magazine each week, I couldn't wait to look at them & try out my observation powers. Then, when they came out in book form, I was absolutely thrilled. So, starting out as a puzzle/book that I fell in love with, I then bought this one as a stocking stuffer for one of my sons. It is so useful--anytime you just have a spare few minutes, you can pick it up & exercise your mental acuity ("bathroom" or "doctor waiting room" book; road trips, etc.). I have bought 4 so far, & plan on buying more.I highly recommend this series of books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    Pictures

    Great for waiting for appts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Happy I purchased this..so happy I bought another in the same series

    I most enjoy the word puzzles and crosswords. I still do not understand the sudoko puzzles, though there are some beginner puzzles I was able to complete. This would be a great present for a teen or adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    The Greatest Brain Puzzle Book

    The variety of puzzles found in this and in the rest of the "Brain Puzzles" series is fun, innovative, and unusual. The creative exercises are the best I have seen, and the vast types of puzzles never leaves room for boredom. The books also make good gifts as there are puzzles for all levels included in each volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2