Customer Reviews for

Brain Jack

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Brian jack

    Good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    "Brain Jack" by Brian Falkner is a story about a 17 ye

    "Brain Jack" by Brian Falkner is a story about a 17 year old boy named Sam Wilson who is a genius hacker who, after bringing "the United States of America to its knees," is recruited to work for Homeland Security.

    This book was a wild ride and a peek into the minds of computer geniuses. If you ever wondered how you can have an action thriller book about computers and hacking, then this is a good book for you. The book as well paced and the characters become people who you root for.

    I really enjoyed this book and it is relevant to our present day. Sam is presented as an intelligent and mature teenager and would definitely hit a note with teenagers reading the book.

    I will definitely be seeking out other books by this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Exciting to read

    It was hard for me to get into it at first, but about a third of the way into the the plot really started to form. Before that it seemed like a bunch of mosltly information that did not work with the plot, such as sams friend fargas who you do not see the rest the book. The ending seemed a bit quick also and i was hoping for something about meeting up with his family or with the other people he befriended a CDD.
    This was an amazing bok in all, and i hope that you read it sometime ( if you havent already).

    You may like it if you enjoy
    Science fiction
    Computors
    Action
    Hacking

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo

    Sam Wilson is a hacker; perhaps one of the best in the world. He can hack into any computer system, no matter what type of security is used. Your information is definitely not safe from him. The government knows this; their solution - put Sam on their team. Sam and his group of hackers work to keep "them" out of the United States Internet system. No one actually knows who "they" are, but they're out there and are constantly trying to get at classified information. One entity, known as Ursula, wants more than information. She wants total control of the human consciousness. Sam and his cohorts won't let that happen. Not unlike Cory Doctorow's LITTLE BROTHER and FOR THE WIN, Falkner presents a scenario that deals with cyber-terrorism/espionage. If you aren't a techie, don't worry; context clues are a wonderful thing, and Falkner makes the story accessible to all readers. Much of what he discusses read like Sanskrit to me, but it didn't matter because the story itself was so engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, and am excited to see what the author has in store for us next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    This book was very interesting and kept u wanting to read more,

    This book was very interesting and kept u wanting to read more, but the ending was very confusing and a little weird. Overall I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Great boofor geeks!

    Brain jack is a book witten for geeks. A must buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Amazing!!!!

    This book was so good!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    George

    Hi everbody

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Frank

    is this a party?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    All i have to say about this book is...

    Wow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is one of my all time favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Pen15

    Pen15

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Perfect

    Great book in all but for people who cant understand things about a computer just skip over it you will be happy you did because it is very action packed and well developed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Walker so awsome

    S o

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    This book was so awesome

    Im gonna read it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Fantastic read

    I am fifteen, and I absolutely loved reading this book. Some of the computer terms were difficult to understand at first, but the author made the book readable anyways. I would recommend this book to anyone who uses the internet and loves to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Best one yet

    This book was an awsom book. For the first time in my life, my heart was thumping really fast in the suspensful parts. This has never happened to me before. This book is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Gripping

    Great book, this guy knows what he is talking about!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Too technologic!!!!

    I hate this book!!! Soo confusing with all of that hard drive crap. Who would ever write a book this terrible? Brian falkner must be sick. For all of those people who think this book i good, they must be sick too. So i DO NOT reccomend this book to ANYONE!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Brain Jack by Brian Falkner (2009)

    This book was shortlisted for the 2010 Cybils which is why (as a round 2 judge) I read it.

    I can see how Brain Jack would have some appeal and could be great for teens who are into computers or are reluctant readers. That said, I personally wasn't very impressed with the book.

    I thought it was too technical. I know nothing about computers but a lot of the stuff sounded downright made up in places and in other places sounded like gibberish. It felt strange having people typing on a computer be high action and also Falkner at times made it seem like the characters were inside the computer which is jarring.

    I personally was irritated when New York's Avenue of the Americas was mentioned in the story, by a native New Yorker, when everyone who has been living here would only call it Sixth Avenue. Other elements also just felt out of place to me, like story threads that didn't feel vital to the plot. (Examples: Vegas, Fargas, Vienna, Dodge's dodgy tattoo ON HIS FOREHEAD.) Many of the characters also fell flat.

    The prologue was poorly done and off putting. I got my copy from a friend who I'm sure also didn't buy it. It was so strange having the prologue talk in depth about getting information from people who bought the book when I didn't (and I'm sure a lot of people didn't). Aside from completely disregarding libraries and borrowing books it brought me right out of the narrative since it was so not true for my experience. In tandem with the prologue I felt like the epilogue was too preachy and weirdly so. Neuro headsets don't actually exist and the book is fiction, but then he is telling us he'll be watching (much like Santa Claus)?

    It just didn't work for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4