Customer Reviews for

Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness

Average Rating 4.5
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

68 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

Profoundly moving, comelling ndconsuming

This is a profoundly moving, true story of a young woman who, over the course of a few weeks, spirals into almost total madness. Her loved ones stay by her side throughout her month long hospitalization watching doctor after doctor doing test after test handing down di...
This is a profoundly moving, true story of a young woman who, over the course of a few weeks, spirals into almost total madness. Her loved ones stay by her side throughout her month long hospitalization watching doctor after doctor doing test after test handing down diagnosis after diagnosis. When a doctor mentions a rare disease that may be the cause of the young woman’s illness, her parents are left to decide whether or not to allow a test that may cause permanent brain damage.
Susannah Cahalan’s account of her life before, during and after her battle with mental illness is very well written and surprisingly readable. As she delves into the working of the human brain the reading becomes a little dry but by the next paragraph, the reader is once again swept up into a story that is consuming and compelling.
I was extremely moved by this book and strongly recommend it.

posted by NJ-Nina on November 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

It gets old fast

After the initial wow and OMG it becomes repetative and I got bored and didn't finish it.

posted by voyager8 on December 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Told in an unforgettable manner, Brain on Fire will lead you rig

    Told in an unforgettable manner, Brain on Fire will lead you right down the rabbit hole into the Susannah's illness. It grips you from the very beginning and is impossible to put down as it leaves the reader wondering, "What could possibly happen next?". An excellent book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    This is a great book, very captivating. As a long time psych nurse it was a compelling story about a sudden psychosis followed by much unsuccessful treatments. I learned much from this book and encourage others to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    A must read if you love someone with an acquired organic brain injury

    This book was fabulous it really helped me understand better some of the frustrations I see in my daughter who also suffered severe viral enchepilitis . I read it straight through in 1 sitting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    This is a profoundly compelling true story. I would highly recom

    This is a profoundly compelling true story. I would highly recommend it to anyone, especially those who touch the lives of persons expressing symptoms of suspected mental illness. It is a striking reminder to not jump to conclusions. It is a compelling read...truely interesting and enlightening. Bravo to Ms Cahalan for telling her story, and allowing us all to learn in the process.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    It's amazing what your brain is capable of. a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Awesome

    Its so good, couldn't put the book away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    awesome

    I found this book to be very informative. mental illness is hard on the family as well as the person experiencing it. it is interesting how she was blown off by physicians in the beginning. thankfully someone cared what she felt and what she was experiencing. she was fortunate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This book was fascinating. I could not put it down. I am now having my husband read it and he is finding it equally mesmerizing. You are drawn in from the very first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    page turning book

    My husband and I are nurses. I try to read books written by patients to see health care through their eyes. This book is well written. I see the whole story of the terror her family and friends went through while they fight for a diagnosis. I am still reading her gripping story and have been recommending to my health care friends that this is a great read. Excellent research she has done to try to find some answers with the chaos at that time of her life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Page turning suspense and comforting all in read again

    Love this book so much i bought the hard copy. Ive read it twice. I dont do tht unless its five or more years have passed. I struggled with a very similiar experience with epilepsy. Recently diagnosed in my late twenties after what others percived as a nervous breakdown. I experienced alot of the delusions she did and even related to personal struggles with family friends and boyfriend that i had aftrr my full blwn seizure. Even reading the comments i feel understood through her and peoples reactions to her true story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Immersive memoir

    Enjoyed the use of perspective. Especially great read for class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Very interesting. Cahalan is a wonderful writer. The story stays with you for days afterwards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    Well documented and fascinating

    Very clear and poignant portrayal of a debilitating and confusing illness. Straight-forward and well-documented with fascinating medical explanations for the lay person. It is frightening to think that this could happen to anyone at anytime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Fantastic! Well-written, captivating and informative. Highly rec

    Fantastic! Well-written, captivating and informative. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    EXCELLENT

    EXCELLENT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    This book is an incredible story, I could not put it down! I fin

    This book is an incredible story, I could not put it down! I finished the book within 2 days because it was so compelling and a page turner! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Excellent

    Amazing and moving story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Compelling True Story

    This book starts off quickly and found myself turning the pages to find out what had happened to this young journalist. When Susannah wakes up in a hospital bed she has not idea how she got there.

    The story takes you through her descent into madness and wondering if she will ever regain her sanity. The story goes beyond just wondering if she will fully recover, but also regain her identity and the life she previously had. I definitely recommend if you are looking for an interesting memoir and learning more about a disease that is still being misdiagnosed in the medical industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Incredible

    This book is amazing. You have to read it and you won't be able to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Great book

    Thumps up to the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9