Customer Reviews for

Brainwashed (Bonus DVD)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    This is a wonderful album.  I agree with the reviewer who said i

    This is a wonderful album.  I agree with the reviewer who said it gets better the more you listen to it.  The album has a lot of depth.  Of course there is a sadness to it, but this can't be helped.  The songs that were chosen were chosen well.  It has some of the best guitar ever on a George Harrison album.  Contrary to the prevailing opinion, my favorite GH album is "Living in the Material World."  I wasn't expecting something like that.  But I like this album a great deal.  I think my biggest surprise was that I actually liked hearing the uke.  I'm more of a guitar and bass fan, having played bass for many years.  But George did some interesting things on every instrument he played, going way back to the sitar on Beatles albums.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best work for along time

    Got to be his best album since All things must pass. He really hits the nail on the head with this one, no irritating songs or down moments. sadly missed guitaris

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Inside our heads

    His physical being is gone,but through his music and passion he lives for a lifetime. This CD belongs between "ATMP" and Cloud 9.Thank you George.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    That voice will be missed

    George has made me a ukelele fan. What a great way to say goodbye and let us have a glimpse (and some peace) about dealing with death. George was a fine musician and a better man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    respect

    This cd is very good and shows us how we will mis George in the future. Nico, Belgium

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finely produced swan song

    Great job, Jeff and Dhani. Understated, warm sound.. George's guitar is much more prominent here than on his last work, Cloud Nine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic Harrison

    This is a very good CD--classic Harrison: spiritual, playful and thoughtful. It's sad to realize that I'll never again experience listening to a new George Harrison CD, but reassuring to remember his wonderful music will live on forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Inspirational

    Everything you could ever wish for. A testament to a simple, lovely and inspirationally dignified human being.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    God bless George, Brainwashed is Great!!!

    I did not expect "Brainwashed" to be a post beatle masterpiece but Dahni and Jeff did a beautiful job with what George laid down and the new CD is wonderful!!! I LOVE IT. Mr. Harrison's songs are as fresh as the day's of the early Beatles. PLAY IT LOUD! LOUD Kelly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    beautiful song

    The song 'Rising Sun' is George's most beautiful. There is much bittersweet and beautiful music on this elegantly produced disc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brainwashed- excellent

    An exellent album. The more you listen the better it it gets.George has always been better post Beatle

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Harrison shines for his departure

    Brainwashed is filled with beauitiful melodies, delightful slide guitar hooks accompanied by a strong voiced Harrison. The use of ukelele on many of the tracks blends in splendidly. The non Harrison cut (Devil and the Deep Blue Sea)is fun and destined to be a sing-a-long. No overproduction ELO style here! Great album to keep fans reminded of an individual who loved life and music.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Isn't it a pity..........

    Bought this when it first came out for a professionally trained musician friend (who occasionally performs professionally); she gave it back a couple of weeks ago. Never heard the entire album and didn't understand why until I finally played it for myself; now, I'm giving it away (i've been a serious guitar "hobbyist" for 30+ years). With apologies to those who like the album, I just don't know what everybody sees in this, other than it being the swansong of one of the two (Lennon is the other) most talented, spiritual, intelligent and sensitive Beatles... The songs are mediocre at best and what redeeming values were there are ruined by the flat, overprocessed, cold digital sound quality. Jeff Lynn's overproduction kills what little warmth might have been left... Everything Lynn does sounds the same; he's no Phil Spector, that's for sure... The title song, "Brainwashed" had possibilities, but repeated plays leave me feeling it's kind of adolescent... This is not close to being one of Harrison's best works; "All Things Must Pass," both the original and the newer release, are the best, methinks.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1