Customer Reviews for

Brainwashed: Challenging the Myth of Black Inferiority

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    Communications Excellence to Black Audiences

    I was the Premire Creative Director for the CEBA Awards(Communications excellence to Black Audiences)during 1978-1983. We produced an annual 200+ page journal of postive Black images in advertising, print, radio, & TV. We presented at the NY Hilton a CEBA Award trophy to those agencies who went out of their way to project Blacks in positive, productive environments. Only 1 of 18 ads could be used for publication due to the woeful number of negative, conscienceless and overtly stereotyped black images.
    I welcome and support Tom Burrell's mission to wake-up our Black community to their true creative strengths. "Brainwashed" is needed now more than ever to salvage whats left our bright young men and women of Color.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read

    Anyone interested in understanding the root of many of the problems facing the Black community should read this book. Lest anyone think that it is simply a polemic on how the White man is to blame for everything, rest assured it is much, much more than that. The book looks at the degradation and humiliation faced by African Americans and traces the feelings, and indeed deliberate strategy of, Black inferiority back to the moment we set shackled foot on American soil. Not only does it look at the massive propaganda campaign waged against Black people like a marketing strategy, it provides sound tools, plans, and principles to combat the Black Inferiority Complex.

    Read this, share it and discuss it with your friends, but make sure you get a copy.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    A Must Read!!!

    If you are an African American who believes you are ready for a book of such truth, then I suggest you re-evaluate yourself because this is a powerful book.Even as a younger woman reading this book change my way of thinking about myself and the world.Please, read it with a passsion and and want for self enlightment. I really believe this book will change your life if you are ready for a change.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Highly Recommended - This is a must read!

    I think this book should be read not by every African American but all people. I took this book out at the library and I read it within 3 days. I couldn't wait to finish it because it was an excellent read. If anyone wants to expand their knowledge about black inferiority/white supremacy this book is a must, absolute must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    Inaccurate and unethical portrayal of my story as a black woman

    I am the Yejide quoted in this book,and my words have been misrepresented and misquoted. I don't appreciate that. My story has been used without my knowledge or my consent in what equates to at worst a literary banditry and at best a third person, reworked account that does not capture the essence of my message.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Must Read!!

    Amazing book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    When Her Mind's Controlled...

    I was personly not surprised. But by the look on Pain's face, he expected surprise. So i gave it to him. "Wow... did NOT see this comeing." I sure as he<_>ll didn't mention that i was already going with Alex. That would just pi<_>ss him off.<p> Add so would saying no.<p> Pain leaned forward and draped his arms around my stomach, resting his head on my shoulder. "Well? Im only hopeing Alex hasn't beaten me to it." <p> His breath...it was like a cool breeze... a breeze that had a string of mint to it's scent. I sighed and shrugged him off. "I...i'm already going with Alex. I'm sorry." At this point, i didn't even know WHY the he<_>ll i said those words. I was about to regret them unknowingly. Pain's eyes narrowed and he then swiftly grabed my hand. Tightly. "Come with me. Now!" <p> He squeezed my wrist so hard i thought i'd bruise right then. So i was unwilling draged all the way to as i later learned, his home. It was a decent place, with fadeing grey walls and barley any light in the inside. It smelled faintly of smoke, and no one was home. Which was the worst part.<p> Pain half dragged me downstairs to the huge, empty basement. Two chairs were in a corner eith wires and la computers on the other side. Only one small light slwas on over the chair. "If you won't love me, then i'll make you." Pain's words echoed in my ears. What was he planning to do, i wondered. I didn't want to find out, but i knew i was going to anyway.<p> Pain tied me down to the chair and placed a headset on me so head phones covered my ears and sensers pressed agansit the sides of my head. Duck tape was placed over my mouth and Pain got on the computer.<p> I could faintly hear him typeing, but soon i could hear "Mind in The Gutter" by Chris Crocker. Pain said something i couldn't catch and left, closeing the door and leaveing me to listen to that ga<_>y song over and over and over again.<p> To be continued at result three. Hope you like it so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    A must read!

    I loved the book and how the author gave suggestions on to change the behaviors in each chapter. I think every African American should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2