Customer Reviews for

The Brambles

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

terrific family drama

Their mother Florence died in a plane crash off of New England just a few years ago and now their dying father septuagenarian Arthur is relocating from Santa Barbara, California to live with his oldest daughter thirtyish mother of three Margaret in Magnolias Heights, Ne...
Their mother Florence died in a plane crash off of New England just a few years ago and now their dying father septuagenarian Arthur is relocating from Santa Barbara, California to live with his oldest daughter thirtyish mother of three Margaret in Magnolias Heights, New Jersey. Arthur┬┐s two other children, a single Edie and married Max live nearby in New York City. Margaret, who already feels trapped as a supermom fears she is not up to the task of nurturing her dad, but also insanely covets having another child. Edie seems to thrive on her swinging singles lifestyle and her work in television, but her loneliness compounds her eating disorder. Middle child Max produces infomercials and corporate videos, but broods over the fact that his dreams vanished until in frustration he quits, but hides the truth from his worried spouse. --- As his three offspring panic, Arthur in the final stage of cancer and his grandchildren seem calm. He especially feels at peace after he reveals a family secret shared only by his late wife to his children while they welcome grandpa even for a short time. --- This is a terrific family drama in which the three generations of Brambles (and spouses) cope differently with the impending death of the patriarch. The key to this insightful story line is that each of the four lead characters and the five prime support players (children and spouses) seem different yet fully developed. This is especially true of Arthur and his three children. Though the revelation seems insignificant and unnecessary to the characters┬┐ reactions, it adds to the belief that dying is a solo act as grandpa felt the need to come clean while his loved ones are support players on his stage. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not sure if I'd recommend it

I personally enjoyed this book because I like reading about marriage, motherhood, and family relationships (esp. when there's some dysfunction). So, I got all of that out of this book. However, I felt that the climax, the revelation of the family secret that was suppo...
I personally enjoyed this book because I like reading about marriage, motherhood, and family relationships (esp. when there's some dysfunction). So, I got all of that out of this book. However, I felt that the climax, the revelation of the family secret that was supposed to change the characters forever, was revealed and then the book ended about five pages later! There was no reflection by the characters on what they had learned about their family and no explanation of how they felt or reacted. So that was disappointing. Therefore, if that is what entices you about this book, I would pass it by, I'm sure there are more exciting ones out there. However, if you like to read about a short time period in characters' lives with no real resolutions, just to learn about what's going on with them, then go for it. I would not read another book by this author I don't think.

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Not sure if I'd recommend it

    I personally enjoyed this book because I like reading about marriage, motherhood, and family relationships (esp. when there's some dysfunction). So, I got all of that out of this book. However, I felt that the climax, the revelation of the family secret that was supposed to change the characters forever, was revealed and then the book ended about five pages later! There was no reflection by the characters on what they had learned about their family and no explanation of how they felt or reacted. So that was disappointing. Therefore, if that is what entices you about this book, I would pass it by, I'm sure there are more exciting ones out there. However, if you like to read about a short time period in characters' lives with no real resolutions, just to learn about what's going on with them, then go for it. I would not read another book by this author I don't think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2006

    terrific family drama

    Their mother Florence died in a plane crash off of New England just a few years ago and now their dying father septuagenarian Arthur is relocating from Santa Barbara, California to live with his oldest daughter thirtyish mother of three Margaret in Magnolias Heights, New Jersey. Arthur¿s two other children, a single Edie and married Max live nearby in New York City. Margaret, who already feels trapped as a supermom fears she is not up to the task of nurturing her dad, but also insanely covets having another child. Edie seems to thrive on her swinging singles lifestyle and her work in television, but her loneliness compounds her eating disorder. Middle child Max produces infomercials and corporate videos, but broods over the fact that his dreams vanished until in frustration he quits, but hides the truth from his worried spouse. --- As his three offspring panic, Arthur in the final stage of cancer and his grandchildren seem calm. He especially feels at peace after he reveals a family secret shared only by his late wife to his children while they welcome grandpa even for a short time. --- This is a terrific family drama in which the three generations of Brambles (and spouses) cope differently with the impending death of the patriarch. The key to this insightful story line is that each of the four lead characters and the five prime support players (children and spouses) seem different yet fully developed. This is especially true of Arthur and his three children. Though the revelation seems insignificant and unnecessary to the characters¿ reactions, it adds to the belief that dying is a solo act as grandpa felt the need to come clean while his loved ones are support players on his stage. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Duskshadow

    Sits quietly, wondering if the revolution will let him join...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Moonwillow

    Pads in( i need a mate)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Snaketail to skyheart and mothwing URGENT

    I saw a evil within cat. Well a tiger. I knew him when we were kits. He moved out as an apprentice. His name id darkness. And he's the one that killed bramble. Brambles a good friend of mine. I tryed.. i tryed. But i wrenched my paw saving him. Poor old friend. Poor bramble. Snaketail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    SKYHEART

    But where is his killer? I saw no post there about a killer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    MOTHWING

    BRAMBLETALON IS DEAD I FOUND HIM AT DEAD FIRST RESULT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Foxstrike

    She padded in. "I'm here to join." She meowed loudly and confiedently. With a flick of her tail and a snotty snort, she slunk into the warriors den, without even waiting for a response. ( hola!!!! I'm also lightningstrike!! (; )

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Warriors

    Redfang gets up. Oh my starclan! No one cares! Redfang thought. *redfang leaves forever*
    Redfang

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    bluelagoon

    blugoon- i would like you to meet goldentail. she has two kits grasskit and mistkit. please let her and her kits join or i will leave.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Your disguting

    First of all, you shouldn't be roleplaying on a book review, you people are obsessed and pathetic. Second, this is for reviews, not Warrior fantasy roleplay land. Third, people need to know if they are going to buy this book or not, they don't care about Forestclan or that other made up stuff. Fourth, all of you obsessive Warrior fans should roleplay in a chatroom online. These reviews are supposed to be for people who read the book and they want to say how the book was. Quit annoying other people and get a move on with life. There arevabout half of you that are 15 and still roleplaying these un-real characters. Your all disqusting, obsessive, abusers if these reviews. I look at most of these reviews that you dumb people write, its just plain dumb. Thats it, bye

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    I'm called brand by my humans

    Im a young white tom with a black dspot shaped like a B on my chest ive been plauged by visions iof strange cats telling me to save this clan from a danger in the shadows bof night

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    The beginning of this book was pretty good, but I got bored quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1