Customer Reviews for

Brand New Day

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    He Goes Where Others D(W)on't

    I'm still trying to figure out what it is about this album that angered or disappointed some critics. Maybe its the ease with which Sting moves from one genre to another, perhaps giving the impression that it's all a part of some contrived pretentiousness. In reality, I am constantly dumbfounded by the extraordinary variety of music that his writing encompasses, as it explores ever new and fresh vistas. On this album, among others he's tackled the Arabic medium with grace and verve. More impressive is his constant genius in being able to convert what could be the complex and esoteric into an understandable musical statement. A particular favorite on this entry, "Ghost Story," for example, may even be disguised by its apparent simplicity. Don't be fooled: it's a masterpiece. In sum, all of the selections on this album, embellished with superb production and accomplished musical accompaniment, push the boundaries ("Fill Her UP" moves blithely from country to gospel to jazz - and still gets the story told). Granted, this is not for the musically idle or indifferent. It beckons you to listen more than once-- but the ultimate reward is worth the investment. Let those without patience move on. This is to be savored over time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "breath of fresh air"

    Two words to describe brand new day= musical genius. this cd was like a breath of fresh air. I really enjoyed "desert rose" and the way sting incorporated french & indian music with his own style. I can listen to this cd from beginning to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unbelievably Excellent!!

    This album grew on me and became a part of my soul so quickly it took by breath away. Sting is definitly a master of his craft; able to capture the listener's heart upon first or second hearing. Advice: to get the full advantage of listening to Sting, read the lyrics along with the music. Its beautiful poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brand New Day

    oh i loved it! especially desert rose. somewhat comfortingly haunting. love it very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brand New Day

    i love it! it has a variety of different music styles, and is very cool! i totally recommend it to anyone who loves music!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Angelic Voice, Grandiloquent Performer

    Sting was only an artist I heard about. I never knew much about him until ''that'' commercial. You know the Jaguar commercial with Sting daydreaming, about Desert Rose, and Desert Sand. I had already walked out of the room when I heard the commercial. Instantaneously, I was drwan right back into the room. What a beautiful song! A song I ran to hear every time the commecial came on television. It took a while for me though to decide in my mind if I actually wanted to buy his cd, Brand New Day. Until, I went online to BN.com, and previewed the cd, and read the reviews posted. I almost jumped out of my seat, this cd is more than marvelous. This is the best music I have heard ever! I am only 19 and listening to Rock-Pop by an ''old guy'', is taboo. Sting is far from old or a guy. When you make music this beautiful you are vibrant and adroit; far above excellence.I went yesterday to buy this cd, and every store I went to was sold out!! I almost died, really! I rushed my sister to a local mall that was closing in less than fifteen minutes, I ran in like my life was in danger (which it was if I did not get this cd), and I bought Sting's cd, which was the last in stock! Sting has proven that with age and maturity, music icons can still win another fan or introduce someone as myself to their music. I will cherrish this cd and I have decided to build a Sting collection along with my Bob Marley. Sting, you are a wonderful, remarkable composer, artist, and human being. Thank you for creating great music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brand New Day

    I forgot to mention the classic Sting bass melodies on most of the tracks in my previous review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brand New Day

    Great mood music with oriental influences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    why cant all men be like him?

    I have only two words for you DESERT ROSE!! I have never heard a song like that before! I am a new fan of his,..im in high school..so of course im in love with him as well,(of cource.) this song truly has something different! So deep,emotional,and exotic! desert rose is by fare the best song on the track. hes a genius!! he has a way of getting to a girl...and that album gives me goose bumps! right on Sting! Can wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Falling in Love All Over Again

    I have always adored Sting's complexity with both lyrics and melody, but he outdoes himself on BND. From the profound emotion of 'A Thousand Years' to the wise counsel of 'After the Rain...' (listen up, those of you in unhappy relationships!), he balances intensity, morality and musicality so well that I feel like I've just been on a vacation to the Mediterranean, revived, restored and a little bit wiser for the adventure. Sting is almost frighteningly adept at painting vivid mental and emotional pictures with words and musical settings. I really think I had forgotten what a wonderful artist Sting is and what an all-encompassing, well thought out product he turns out. I hope you enjoy the emotional balm this title offers as much as I do/will. I'll be listening to it for a long time to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent!

    This album is simply amazing. Once again, Sting has pushed the limits of Pop further than humanly possible and he has delighted us with poetry, sound and visions of a Brand New Day! This is the CD I listen to the most next to John McArthur's H I D D E N album. A must for any Sting fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    STING YOU COULDN'T DO BETTER THAN THIS

    I COULD LISTEN TO THIS CD OVER AND OVER! THIS HAS TO BE THE BEST I HAVE HEARD FROM YOU. THE MUSIC IS SO CREATIVE, AND THE GUESTS ON THE CD ARE SOME OF MY FAVORITE. THERE IS A DEFINITE GROOVE HERE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1