Customer Reviews for

Brand New Human Being

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Emily Jeanne Miller's debut novel tackles the meaning of fatherh

    Emily Jeanne Miller's debut novel tackles the meaning of fatherhood in the modern world, giving readers a flawed protagonist, Logan, who is doing the best he can to keep his family together. The scenes between Logan and his young son are heartbreakingly beautiful as Logan tries to be the kind of father he himself did not have, and yet he never quite hits the mark.
    Introspective and honest, this novel focuses on the small dramas inside Everyman's living room: the way all parents intend on being better than they are, the way a marriage can start to fray even with the best intentions, the way that love, however allusive it might be, is always worth fighting for. Logan, for all of his misunderstandings and mistakes, grows up himself over the course of the novel, and his journey is a worthy, exciting read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    I had no idea where this book was going or where it would take m

    I had no idea where this book was going or where it would take me, but I do know I couldn't stop reading it. The marital stress brought on by being parents was so relatable (scarily so!) and dead on. The characters were rich and real and evoked strong emotions that I found myself thinking about the wife when not reading the book and hating her while simultaneously understanding what she was going through. There's so much more I could say, but don't want to give away the complicated plot line which is FABULOUS. You won't be disappointed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Beetalclaw

    I vote yes! We must stay strong!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Shatterstar, Volcanofang, Nightstar, Sunrise, and Treekit

    All declare war on the "major" clans.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    3 rps

    Yes yes yes. This counts three times for three different cats.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    I make a point of reading new authors and, sadly, find many lac

    I make a point of reading new authors and, sadly, find many lacking. What I think Emily Jeanne Miller accomplished in her first novel was noteworthy for a number of reasons. In fewer than 300 pages, she managed to introduce the reader to characters who stayed with me and, in two cases, left me concerned about their futures. I finished the book wanting to know what would happen to Logan and his son and perhaps we will find out if the author decides to let us know in her next book. If not, I can speculate and, because they were so effectively presented, that option has its own appeal and is quite possible. I look forward to more from Ms. Miller, hopefully sooner than later.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    I DEVOURED this book. I literally couldn't do anything else bes

    I DEVOURED this book. I literally couldn't do anything else besides read it--I took it to work to read at my desk while I ate my lunch, and found myself sitting in front of a "sleeping" computer at 2:30 in the afternoon, Brand New Human Being in hand, deadlines looming. And even then, I couldn't put it down. This is the kind of book that leaves you feeling a bit depressed when you are done, but only because you don't get to read any more of it. And yet, the characters live on. Even months after finishing it, I find myself thinking about them and what they were going through, inexplicably wondering how they are doing now. The dialogue is pitch-perfect, real and unforced--the conversations read the way conversations actually sound. And in spite of the fact that the novel is about a difficult time in the main character's life, the author has created a nuanced story is funny and hopeful. She writes so well that I recall the book as if it were a movie: I can literally picture the people and the places she describes. I hope I won't have to wait too long to read another book by Emily Miller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book, and the characters have really staye

    I really enjoyed this book, and the characters have really stayed with me. The author was able to capture the male mind really well with Logan-- you really felt like you could get inside his head and see things through his eyes, through his marriage difficulties, his struggle against his father's memory, and his attempts to be a good father despite those things. And the female characters were really complex and realistic. I found myself really disliking Julie (the wife) at times, but at the same time I understood her perspective and felt for her. The writer was able to tell a meaningful, deep story that really engaged me. I found myself thinking about it even when I wasn't reading it, and I finished it in 2 days.

    I would really recommend this book and look forward to reading more from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    ????

    Strange, mismatched eyes peered through a window, then vanished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Jade

    Sits here in the nice house. Plenty of room.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Grace

    Walks to her game room and puts blavk ops 2 in her xbox and sat in her gamer chair. She started playing zombies when she got a phone call. "Can you see im busy killing zombies?!" She yelled at her phone.~Grace

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Flamekit

    Yes... i want lilypaw and nightpaw and me to have our own clan or make one up... we ha ve our rites

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Cats

    Yes! Stay strong!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Wllowheart

    The loner pads in. "Mousebrained fools. You might as well be destroying yourselves" she meowed. Even though she was quite young her eyes had the wisdom of age

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Skystep onetail willowkit rockkit spinkit echopaw sparrowpaw berryleaf and blossomwing

    Skystep onetail willowkit rockkit spinkit berryleaf echopaw sparrowpaw and blosomwing all say yes!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Darkturret

    War on the 7 clans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    All the cats i rp

    That counts as twenty say yes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Pebblestream

    Pebblestream: yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Strbucks

    Starbucks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1