Customer Reviews for

Brand Warfare: 10 Rules for Building the Killer Brand

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    great book

    This book is small but don't let that fool you, D'Alessandro does a good job of packing in the info. Also this is a great book to read for people and is suprizingly interesting. Its a book that is not just relevant to marketing people of a company, it explains the whole picture and clearly explains it. I'm not a business person of any sort and I haven't completed high school, yet but this book is a fluid easy read, and no confusing words that require me to pull out a dictionary. I wouldn't suggest this book to many of my friend but if anyone is starting a business and has some serious change I'd suggest this book to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Brand Warfare; Good Read

    I chose to read this book for my Economics class, as an assignment, at Santa Monica High School knowing very little about what it was about. Being the type that "Judges a book by its cover", i didn't expect to enjoy reading this book. It was surprisingly very informative, yet a fast and easy read. D'Alessandro shows the reader how to stand out from the crowd by developing your own personal brand. In ten rules he lays out the foundation in which a business can be successful. 3 Words will stick to you when having read this book, Develop, Build, and Defend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    Demystifying Brand Warfare

    If you ever wonder how great brands become great, this book will solve the mystery. It's a book about being tough and being focused and standing for something. I've read a lot about David D'Allesandro in the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times business section. Finally, an opportunity to see his view of 'brand warfare' first hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    I recommend this book

    This is a good read. I'm not a marketing person, but I enjoy reading business books. With 'Brand Warfare,' what I found especially enlightening were the passages on how to get value out of corporate sponsorships and avoid getting suckered, and how the networks overpay for the rights to big sporting events and then soak corporate advertisers by coming up with ingenious new ways to pass along to them the cost of their mistakes. Good stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    Your Brand is Everything

    I enjoyed reading Brand Warfare because it succinctly outlines key brand principles in building and maintaining a brand. Mr. D'Alessandro's examples and case histories were helpful in better understanding the principles. There were a few sections that were most interesting to me. First, the chapters on corporate sponsorships were enlightening. To learn how to choose sponsorships that support your brand, to understand how to deal with event producers and to recognize the importance of measuring the value to the brand was beneficial. While his examples pertain to large companies, it was clear that any size company could gain from the appropriate sponsorships. Second, rule number 8 was fascinating, 'Make your distributors slaves to your brand'. I thought Mr. D'Alessandro's decision in l999 to direct John Hancock to partner with online insurance aggregators was brilliant. This strategy showed great confidence in the John Hancock brand. Far too many companies set up their own website's to drive sales and don't have the success that John Hancock has had. Third, his insights on how the brand affects employee recruiting and retention was very relevant to me. Employees do want to work for the most successful brand. And I agree whole heartedly with Mr. D'Alessandro that employees should uphold the brand. They should be brand experts and consider the brand every step of the way. The CEO is not the only person who should be responsible for the brand. Overall, I thought this book was a good read for anyone in business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    A good read for businesses big and small

    As the owner of a small but growing technology-driven business, I have to make my company and my brand stand out in a highly competitive environment. At first, I wasn't convinced that this book would be helpful to me, since the author refers mainly on his experience building brands for large companies like John Hancock. But it's chock-full of insights that are relevant to businesses both large and small, whether they peddle life insurance, micro-brewed beers, sneakers or high-speed Internet access. The 'top 10' list-format breaks the daunting subject matter of how to build a killer brand into easy-to-read, manageable pieces. Sprinkled throughout the book are unabashedly honest, and at times, amusing case studies for companies like Orville Redenbacher, Old Crow Whiskey and Toys 'R' Us. It's one thing to be told how to build brands and be a successful leader. It's quite another to see how real, live companies have to deal with the consequences of their actions whether they sink or swim. Overall, a good read for anyone who cares about their company's image and wants to make their brand stand out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2001

    Great brands don't just happen, they are built

    Understanding branding, how brands evolve, and what it takes to build a 'recognized' brand are extremely important points for marketing managers to comprehend. Yet, branding is not the stuff of business school classes, at least not to the point it should be. Thus, I found this to be an excellent book to read to bring myself up to speed on the 'state of brand-building' today. I do wish the book spent more time on how to build online branding. Online companies exist in a high-flux industry where there is much lower brand loyalty. It's still not clear how online branding will shake out, and how it will differ, though some researchers are starting to make great in-roads into this type of research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2001

    Reputation Counts: Good Branding Principles Detailed

    Mr. D'Alessandro is the CEO of John Hancock, and rose to that position after starting with the company as head of communications. The many successes that John Hancock has enjoyed certainly relate back to good brand thinking and implementation. Although the book contains many details about John Hancock's experiences, it mostly recounts examples from other companies to provide a full perspective on the difficulties of establishing and maintaining a positive brand image and awareness. My only complaints about the book are that it would have benefited from more context about how branding fits with other critical activities for corporate success and more constructive metaphors than those of warfare and competition. Most students of marketing will scratch their heads at his list of 10 principles. Yet, I see these principles violated every day by dozens of leading companies. So, even if the rules seem obvious, it easy to go astray. For example, 'It's the brand, stupid.' Despite this, few CEOs spend time measuring and understanding what is happening to image and awareness of company brands . . . must less thinking about what needs to be done. Most spend more time in 100 other areas that are mostly unrelated to brands. Another good example is 'If you want great advertising, be prepared to fight for it.' I agree with his observation that many marketing executives and advertising agency people will tend to try to produce copy that will be easily accepted by company decision makers, rather than copy that will increase sales and profits. Many CEOs don't even realize how they have been maneuvered. Some don't care, like the CEO whose girl friend was in all of the company's ads. I meet CEOs who like to date the women who appear in the company's ads, so the problem hasn't disappeared. To my mind, Mr. D'Alessandro is probably best at thinking through event-based marketing. Most companies are horrible in this area. The book is well worth its price just for the sections that explain how to select events to sponsor, how to work with the event's organizers, and how to connect to the event for maximum advantage. The section on how you use advertising on how to create brand differentiation for relatively undifferentiated products was well done, but is probably too subtle for most to really understand. This section could probably have used some more details and

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1