Customer Reviews for

Branded by Fire (Psy-Changeling Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    A Book To Remember

    Mercy Smith is the last unmated sentinel of the DarkRiver leopard pack and is afraid she will never find a male who she can live with for the rest of her life. However, Riley Kincaid, lieutendant of the SnowDancer wolves has other ideas. The chemistry between them is hot, emotional, and just plain smokin'... but there are other problems then just desire. The Human Alliance is causing problems in both SnowDancer and DarkRiver, attempting to upset the balance of power in their favor... and not the cold, emotionless Psy. As the liaisons of their pack, both Mercy and Riley must cooperate together to find a kidnapped changeling researcher...who may or may not be with the Human Alliance.

    *spoiler below*

    Hawke, the alpha of SnowDancer, and Sienna and Toby Lauren are shown in Branded by Fire. Also, Sascha and Lucas have a very special gift coming their way... a gift of life... a baby. Not to mention, the ruthless Psy Council takes another step to achieve pure Silence. Can an independent and dominant male wolf and female leopard ever mate and fall in love? Read it in July to find out!

    Nalini Singh has the gift for writing an individual book that also advances the overall series plot. This book just emotionally made me laugh, cry, then laugh again. 'Branded by Fire' wraps up the first part of the arc, and the next book brings back Dev Santos, the director of the Shine Organization. Can't hardly wait until November!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dueling Dominants!

    The cover on this one says it all...each previous cover of this series featured only the male character, but Branded concentrates on the mating dance between Dark River leopard sentinel, Mercy, and Snow Dancer wolf lieutenant, Riley, so it had to feature both! And oh what a dance for dominance it is. The strain of a romance between 2 different species of changelings would be tough enough without the worry of which one will have to break ties with their individual Pack to join their mates'. Of course, the ongoing plot of this series thickens as the weakest of the players in this burgeoning war, the human alliance, strikes at both the changelings and the Psy with terrifying results. Best of all we get to see all the characters we know and love from past books.

    Singh's world is unique amongst the paranormals with its fully realized world and the hates and loyalties building between the disparate parts. Her romantic pairs are unparalled in this field and it's the animal nature that makes it shine. No, there is no kinkiness or bestiality here; it's the loyalty, caring, and absolutely unshakeable strength of the Pack which makes the changeling world so superior to the emotionless Psy and the squabbling, power-seeking humans.

    Mercy's strength as a soldier in her pack is backed up by her compassion for Riley who still suffers from the abduction and recovery of his sister, Brenna, featured in book 1, Slave to Sensation, and book 3, Caressed by Ice, of the series. This series is the best of the best in ongoing paranormal romance and number 6 is a strong and emotionally satisfying follow-up to the other 5 (plus 2 short stories). Don't just enjoy, wallow in the romantic fantasy of it!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Team Alpha!

    Now, that's an alpha pair if ever I've seen one! Mercy (a leopard changeling) and Riley (a wolf changeling) are definitely time enough for each other, as they go through a series of challenges to their packs, to their lives, and to each other.

    It's bad enough to worry about the Psy attacking their homeland; now, they have to worry about the Human Alliance, and they've become just as vicious, if not more so, than the Psy. Double-dealing and intrigue abound, as well as a lot of mystery and some steamy scenes that will make you grip the book (or e-book) even TIGHTER!!! What happens at the end will make your jaw drop, as Mercy and Riley come to some realizations, in the midst of a death-defying incident.

    Great series!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!!! Exciting & Sexy!

    Another excellent book in the series. I can't say enough about Singh's Psy-Changeling series these books are Superior & an absolute must read in the paranormal romance world.

    I loved Mercy's femininity mixed in with tough female character. In most of the other books in the series there are very strong female characters that do not give up their identity for their men however, Mercy brings it to a whole new level.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    Another fabulous job!

    Nalini Singh has done another amazing job of bringing readers into the world of the Psy and Changlings. The supporting characters from previous books finally get their own happy ending without being trite or formulaic. Though I would recommend reading her books in order, each romance can certainly stand alone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing new author!

    I just discovered this author this year through a short story in an anthology I bought for another author. I immediately bought all her books and now eagerly await each new one. Her world of Psy, changling, and human characters and conflicts draws you in. There is intrigue, romance, danger, and a strong sense of community in each story. In this book, the romance and conflict involve Mercy and Riley, two alpha characters from different changling species. They have many issues to resolve outside of their mission to save an important researcher. Each story can stand alone, but after reading one I'm positive you'll do as I did and go back to start from the beginning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Excellent Installment in the Series

    Nalini Singh continues to impress me with her writing and story development. It was also pretty cool how this book is about a relationship between the shifters only. I really enjoyed this book and think it is one of the best in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Loved it

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    This is a really wonderful series.  In this book, we have two



    This is a really wonderful series.  In this book, we have two alphas trying to find balance between themselves and the demands of being
     cat and wolf shifters. They are both amazing leads. I have reread this book at least 4 times. 

    If you like,
    Alpha females, Alpha male, Cat shifters, Close families, Fated-mates, Funny, Gifted with power characters, Great world building,  
    Hero in pursuit, Kick ass heroine, paranormal romance series, Possessive hero,  Scarred, Shifters, Warriors, and  Wolf-shifters

    You will love this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Anonymous

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Very passionate from the beginning and I loved the ongoing tensi

    Very passionate from the beginning and I loved the ongoing tension but I felt there were a few things missing. I expected there to be more drama with the other guys fighting for Mercy. It would have made us desire the Mercy-Riley connection more if Riley had to fight more for her attention. That seemed a little under-played. In the other love stories, there seemed to be pretty compelling reasons that the main love interests shouldn't be together - either because of their differences (psy/changeling, human/changeling, etc.) or because of something one of them was dealing with (Tally's abuse or Clay's past). This story had a little of both - but only a little. Yes, Mercy had to overcome the fact that Riley was a wolf and that he was dominant. Yes, Riley had to get past his previous notion that he'd mate a submissive woman and had to overcome his issues with his sister. But, they both seem to have overcome the obstacles a bit too easily. Regardless of the things I would have liked more of, I still really enjoyed the story. It might be one of my favorite pairings in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    WOW! I mean WOOOWWW!

    I was hooked by the time I finished reading the first page! I have now read up to book 10 and out of all of them (believe me when I say that I like each and everyone of them in different ways) this is the books that just rock my world. I am an avid reader of romance novels, including paranormal romance stories. This story was just right. It wasn't forced and it wasn't lame. It was hot, action packed and moved at the right pace!

    WOW!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    must get

    story's the plots are great , it's a can't put down book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    My favorite!

    This was an intense book from the start. Mercy and Riley kept me enthralled! I loved this relationship plot and Cant wait to continue the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    Mercy was a fairly minor character, but the few chapters at the end of the last book that gave a little more info on her story were enough to get me interested in this next book. Although, it would have been nice if we could have seen a little more of Riley and Mercy's interactions prior. But DAMN did this one start out good. Way to not waste any time Nalini! I've commented in previous books from this series that they are missing something when the Psy is absent (ie: human-changeling relationship) but despite this one being changeling-changeling it definitely didn't feel like it was lacking. There wasn't as much drama either with the relationship or with the plot as in previous books, but it was a nice reprieve. The addition of the Human Alliance was an interesting twist, and although the resolution of everything ended up being pretty easy and simple, I enjoyed the couples interactions as well as the basic premise of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    Excellent...

    I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My first read of a Nalini Singh book and now I'm looking for more.

    I thoroughly enjoyed that combination of psychic and changeling genres created in this book and couldn't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    YUM

    I LOVE TO READ THESE BOOKS & SEE WHERE SHE IS GOING TO TAKE THE CHARACTERS NEXT

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Nalini's ablaze!

    A mating between a leopard and a wolf! Wonderfully and believably done. The passion is hot, the story is blazing, and this reader is thrilled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes me want to be in a character in one of her books, love it!!!

    This was the first of book from this author that i read and i love he style, had to read the five others before this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10