Customer Reviews for

The Brass Verdict (Harry Bosch Series #14 & Mickey Haller Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 560 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(249)

4 Star

(191)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining Read.The Lincoln Lawyer Rides Again!

Michael Connelly's "The Brass Verdict" is a well-written, taunt, suspenseful read. Defense attorney, Michael "Mickey" Haller inherits his murdered friend's high profile law firm. This no doubt comes with a high price complete with the case of the decade involving a Ho...
Michael Connelly's "The Brass Verdict" is a well-written, taunt, suspenseful read. Defense attorney, Michael "Mickey" Haller inherits his murdered friend's high profile law firm. This no doubt comes with a high price complete with the case of the decade involving a Hollywood producer accused of murdering his wife and her lover. If that's not enough, enter Detective Harry Bosch who then squares off against Mickey Haller. It's Bosch versus Haller and neither is backing down. Haller then unwittingly becomes the bait and the story really breaks loose.

"The Brass Verdict" is an enjoyable read. The narrative is strong with an intriguing storyline and the characters are woven well throughout the book. It begins a bit slow up to about page 90 giving the reader a background of all of the cases. It feels at times that you're an employee at a law firm instead of a reader. If you are a bit bored, hang in there because it definitely picks up. I would consider this book a suspense or mystery instead of a thriller.

The only downside was that I guessed a major part of what was going to happen by page 100. However, there are still some great twists to give a satisfying ending to the story. Also, to all of you Bosch fans out there, beware; he is definitely a secondary character in this story. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a great suspenseful read.

-Jennifer Chase, author of thriller "Compulsion"

posted by Jennifer_Chase on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Michael Connelly writer I know!

As an avid mystery reader and placing Michael Connelly in my top five authors list, I was disappointed in all aspects of this book. The character development lagged, their was a lack of humor, and the plot was not suspenseful. Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly is one...
As an avid mystery reader and placing Michael Connelly in my top five authors list, I was disappointed in all aspects of this book. The character development lagged, their was a lack of humor, and the plot was not suspenseful. Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly is one of my favorite books. I have given it as gifts and reread it myself. Here's hoping Michael's next book is up to Lincoln Lawyer standards!

posted by NovelNomad on December 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 564 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining Read.The Lincoln Lawyer Rides Again!

    Michael Connelly's "The Brass Verdict" is a well-written, taunt, suspenseful read. Defense attorney, Michael "Mickey" Haller inherits his murdered friend's high profile law firm. This no doubt comes with a high price complete with the case of the decade involving a Hollywood producer accused of murdering his wife and her lover. If that's not enough, enter Detective Harry Bosch who then squares off against Mickey Haller. It's Bosch versus Haller and neither is backing down. Haller then unwittingly becomes the bait and the story really breaks loose.

    "The Brass Verdict" is an enjoyable read. The narrative is strong with an intriguing storyline and the characters are woven well throughout the book. It begins a bit slow up to about page 90 giving the reader a background of all of the cases. It feels at times that you're an employee at a law firm instead of a reader. If you are a bit bored, hang in there because it definitely picks up. I would consider this book a suspense or mystery instead of a thriller.

    The only downside was that I guessed a major part of what was going to happen by page 100. However, there are still some great twists to give a satisfying ending to the story. Also, to all of you Bosch fans out there, beware; he is definitely a secondary character in this story. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a great suspenseful read.

    -Jennifer Chase, author of thriller "Compulsion"

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    This book had me hooked from page one! The more and more I read the harder and harder it was for me to stop. The large number of twists and turns kept me reading until two in the morning. If you are a Connelly fan I urge...or rather...DEMAND that you read this book. You will not be disappointed.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    Harry Bosch and Haller, Brilliant

    Michael Connelly's 'The Brass Verdict' is, in my opinion, an amazing feat. First, let me confess that I am not a huge fan of 'lawyer' novels. That aside, I read Connelly's 'The Lincoln Lawyer' last year and was completely bowled over. With super tight plotting and no obscure judicial rumblings, Connelly deftly sliced and diced his way through a gripping tale. Now with his new book, 'The Brass Verdict', I am standing up cheering for more... yeah, you heard right. And I'm the reader who doesn't like lawyer books!<BR/><BR/>His main character, Counselor Mickey Haller is twice divorced but not bitter; likable in a principled way but willing to bend the rules and finally, he's kind of a wuss when it comes down to violence and sometimes it does come down to violence. All the supporting characters like his ex-wives, his investigator friend and even his chauffeur read like real people who help drive the plot forward, not just clichés who hang like drapes in the background. <BR/><BR/>His villains have been done before but, but what villains haven¿t? At least they ring true in the context of the story and there are always a few clever red herrings or plot twists scattered throughout, plus a few classic OMGs at the end. However, in The Brass Verdict, there's another unique twist: Harry Bosch, Connelly¿s stalwart hero in a dozen previous books, shows up as the head detective investigating a studio mogul's wife's murder. What is unusual is that we see a completely new Harry Bosch through Haller's eyes, and believe me, it's not one we've seen before, what with the "flat, cold eyes" and a nasty bag of tricks he uses to try and trick Haller into betraying the hallowed lawyer/client privilege. Things get even edgier when Haller¿s little girl wants to know why he always trys to get the bad guys out of jail, something all of us sometimes wonder about defense attorneys. There are also subplots of FBI subterfuge, mafia involvement, surfer hijinks but thankfully, no gooey love story tagged on to appease the dewy-eyed reader. <BR/><BR/>Indeed, there are a lot of courtroom scenes in this book, but they dovetail nicely into the plot and Haller's superb first person narrative plants you firmly at the defense table with all the info you need to have a pleasant and not overly taxing read. I think the verdict¿s clearly in - grab The Lincoln Lawyer first, read it, then go out and buy The Brass Verdict. You won¿t regret it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    "Brass Verdict" by Michael Connelly - review by Patti Phillips

    I discovered this book (and author) while at Thrillerfest, a thriller writers workshop held in NYC for the past several years. During breaks between sessions, Barnes and Noble opens a store for the guests, both writers and speakers. Last year, I rubbed elbows with bestselling author, Steve Martini, who was checking out the competition and buying books like the rest of us mere mortals. He picked up "Brass Verdict" and I followed his lead.

    "Brass Verdict" is a gritty legal thriller featuring a lawyer (Mickey Haller) and a police detective (Harry Bosch) who bring scum to justice. Each character has been featured in a Connelly series of his own, but in "Brass Verdict," the two work on the same case, not always together. Bosch is the investigating detective for the murder of a lawyer and Haller inherits the dead man's practice. That inheritance places Haller in danger and also gives him a chance to try his biggest case yet. Bosch will stop at nothing to catch the lawyer's killer and Haller just might be his prime suspect.

    Bosch and Haller are both flawed in their own grumpy, wrinkled way, each has interesting baggage and the pairing of the two characters is terrific!

    In the big reveal near the end of the book, we find out why they have been brought together in "Brass Verdict." The novel is so well crafted that I became a big Connelly fan and will now go back to the beginning of each of the series to find out how the characters may have changed in the intervening years.

    Great read!
    Rated R for mature readers

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    Not the Michael Connelly writer I know!

    As an avid mystery reader and placing Michael Connelly in my top five authors list, I was disappointed in all aspects of this book. The character development lagged, their was a lack of humor, and the plot was not suspenseful. Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly is one of my favorite books. I have given it as gifts and reread it myself. Here's hoping Michael's next book is up to Lincoln Lawyer standards!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Michael Connelly Never Disappoints and this book is no exception!

    This was the first Michael Connelly book I read where the main character was not only Harry Bosch but shared by another character. It just proved to me that Michael Connelly's books are just as good regardless who his main character's are. He keeps you on the edge of your seat, and keeps you guessing all the way through the book.

    He has become one of my favorite authors. After I read the 1st Harry Bosch novel, I was hooked and proceeded to read every one of his books prior to this one.

    I cannot wait for the next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    Must Read!

    The book was simply excellent; I was surprised by some of the negative reviews. This is not a Bosch book, it¿s more of a Haller book, HB is there as a supporting cast. However, it was nice to see how the story was woven with both characters in the book. The book reads like early Grisham, and then some. If there¿s a candidate for a movie from the Connelly series, this is it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    Mickey Haller and Harry Bosch together┬┐.

    Michael Connelly<BR/>Little, Brown, & Co., 2008<BR/>ISBN: 9780316166294<BR/>Reviewed by Debra Gaynor for ReviewYourBook.com, 11/08<BR/>4 Stars<BR/>Mickey Haller and Harry Bosch together¿.<BR/>Michael Connelly brings two of his famous characters together in one powerful mystery. Mickey Haller is a defense lawyer working on the biggest case of his career. Harry Bosch is a LAPD Detective investigating the murder of Jerry Vincent. When the killer goes after Haller, the two men join forces to solve the case.<BR/>Mickey is a lovable sleaze, and Bosch is abrasive; when paired together they are a dynamic duo. I do not usually read lawyer books, but I made an exception this time. I am glad I did. Connelly gives his characters depth. Their personalities are strong. The plot is multifaceted and stimulating. It kept me on the edge of my seat. The ending had a surprise twist. Fans of courtroom drama will not want to miss The Brass Verdict.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Haller and Bosch - together!

    Mickey Haller first appeared in Connelly's 2005 novel The Lincoln Lawyer. I had followed the Harry Bosch detective series ( 13 up to now ) since 1993 and wasn't too sure about a 'new' character, but was happily proven wrong. Haller is back in The Brass Verdict. The best part? Harry Bosch is featured as well!<BR/><BR/>Defense lawyer Mickey Haller inherits a dead colleague's law practice and with it what could be his biggest case ever. His client, Walter Elliot, wants the case to proceed quickly, so Haller is playing catchup. But is his client holding something back? The dead colleague, Jerry Vincent, was murdered and Detective Harry Bosch is on the case. Can Vincent's murder and Elliot's case be tied together? Haller and Bosch may have to put their heads together for this one. The ending was fantastic setting up what I hope will be many more books where both characters are featured.<BR/><BR/>Connelly's writing skillfully captures both courtroom and police investigation scenes and dialogue. The legal aspect is never dry and the investigation side always keeps you guessing. His characters are believable and human. The personal lives and relationships of the main and supporting characters greatly enhance the whole storyline. It was interesting to see Harry Bosch through Haller's eyes. It was a bit of a different Bosch than I have become accustomed to. But that too is part of Connelly's skill - keeping us on our toes and never, never letting us become bored of his writing!<BR/><BR/>I always anticipate starting a new book by one of my favourite authors and try to stretch it out and 'make it last'. But yet again it didn't work - I burned through this new release in just over a day. Sigh.....another year till the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing and Boring

    The Brass Verdict was so disappointing because it was so dull. Harry Bosch was barely in it and when he is there is always a verbal confrontation with Mickey Haller. The story should have been cut in half.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    Back in the Court Saddle Mickey Haller has taken a year off fro

    Back in the Court Saddle

    Mickey Haller has taken a year off from practicing law for personal reasons, and he's just about to come back when he gets an unusual phone call.  His friend and colleague Jerry Vincent has been murdered, and Mickey has inherited his practice.

    While the police, lead by LA detective Harry Bosch, think that one of Vincent's cases might have gotten him killed, Mickey's focus is on picking up the 31 cases that have fallen into his lap, including this year's &quot;Trial of the Century.&quot;  Walter Elliot, chairman of Archway Studios, is accused of killing his wife and her lover.  Mickey is happy with the high profile case and the income, but he's surprised by just how much Elliot wants to run the case, right down to not delaying the trial at all.  Can he will the case?  Is he in danger from Vincent's killer?

    When I read Mickey's first case several years back, I always intended to read more of them.  Now that I've read the next, I wish I hadn't waited so long.  The plot is wonderful with some surprising and brilliant twists and turns.  The characters are equally well drawn.  I love Mickey and the rest of his circle of friends.  Bosch didn't come across the best here, which is interesting since I know he stars in author Michael Connelly's other series.  At some point, I'll have to get more background on him.

    If you just saw the movie and haven't moved on, don't hesitate.  This book will have you turning pages far into the night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    The brass Verdict

    By far the best noval of the whole series. As usual the ending had all sorts of twists and turns. Next up, The Black Box.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Nookbook price?

    How is it possible that the NookBook is the most expensive format of this book? Wish I had a Kindle!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Can not put down any Michael Connelly book, period.

    I do not remember since Honore De Balzac," which I am fond of"
    will keep me sleepless to finish his master pieces. As a fact
    everyone of his books qualifies for this distinction.
    I live with the characters,I feel what they feel and they are
    so realistic the way presented to readers.
    Are we in heaven or what?.
    I have amassed all his books and proud of my collection.
    Any connection you may have with him,please give my utmost
    respects for the way he spins all his plots.
    Respectfully yours.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Little Disappointing

    I gave this book 3 1/2 stars. Connelly brings together two of the best characters in police and courtroom thrillers - Harry Bosch and Mickey Haller. I was expecting a lot more but was let down specifically because I did not see the necessity of putting Harry Bosch into the story as his role could have been filled by any no name detective. The book is totally a Mickey Haller story and is told from his perspective. Harry Bosch is a minor character without the normal Harry tenacity we have come to know.

    Mickey inherits a number of cases after one of his former law acquaintances is murdered. One of the cases is a high profile case involving one of the most powerful men in Hollywood. As things unfold, Mickey learns his predecessor was murdered because of this case.

    The book lacks the tension of The Lincoln Lawyer but does have some good if brief courtroom exchanges. I still give Mr. Connelly the benefit of the doubt and do look foreward to his next effort. I hope it is a lot better than this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Another good one !

    Great plot, with a few interesting twist along the way. Well worth your time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This was an immensely enjoyable book . . .

    I would be willing to say that I think Michael Connelly is one of the best mystery/crime/courtroom drama writers in the world. His book are always well thought out, expertly written, and very engaging to the reader. I finished this book in record time as I was trapped between the pages from beginning to end. I almost feel like I need to re-read THE LINCOLN LAWYER to remember correctly what happened to Mickey Haller. I liked the suprise revealed between Mickey Haller and Harry Bosch near the books end. I am eagerly awaiting the author's next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    Connelly Does it again!

    I was asked to read an excerpt several months ago, and was so captivated that I could hardly wait for the book to be released. If you liked the Lincoln Lawyer, you will love this one. Connelly's characters are so interesting and off-beat, that it takes the reader on a great journey, both personally and story wise

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    I love Harry and Micky, but this left me cold

    Let me begin by saying that I am a card carrying, dyed in the wool, Harry Bosch fan! I've read all of the series and couldn't wait for this one to come out. I was standing in the driveway waiting for "Mr. Brown" to deliver this book (audio book). That being said, I felt a little disappointed in this one. The plot seemed contrived to me and left me wanting more explanation. A superior court judge could pull $1000 bills out of her toilet and certainly wouln't threaten her livelyhood with the likes of Vincent. Come on, Mike! And while on the subject of believability, Hachett Audio, what ever made you think that the great Harry Bosch would speak with a lisp!!! Poor choice of reader for this genre. Not Michael Connelly's best effort in my opionion, with a focus on Mikey Haller and Harry Bosch, it just watered it down to no focus. Sorry, Michael, but I will still be waiting in the driveway for the next one so keep on keeping on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2014

    I wish I had been smart enough to start reading Mike Connelly's

    I wish I had been smart enough to start reading Mike Connelly's books in order. But not to worry, he teams them all up beautifully. I have to say with this book, I ACTUALLY figured out part of the plot which I ordinarily can't do, but in spite of this, I just love this book and when I read the negative reviews, can't understand them AT ALL. If you want a GREAT all-'round book, (which you can actually learn from), this is for you. If you want mediocre, well, what can I say??!! Go buy a romance novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 564 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29