Customer Reviews for

The Brass Verdict (Harry Bosch Series #14 & Mickey Haller Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 556 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(245)

4 Star

(191)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining Read.The Lincoln Lawyer Rides Again!

Michael Connelly's "The Brass Verdict" is a well-written, taunt, suspenseful read. Defense attorney, Michael "Mickey" Haller inherits his murdered friend's high profile law firm. This no doubt comes with a high price complete with the case of the decade involving a Ho...
Michael Connelly's "The Brass Verdict" is a well-written, taunt, suspenseful read. Defense attorney, Michael "Mickey" Haller inherits his murdered friend's high profile law firm. This no doubt comes with a high price complete with the case of the decade involving a Hollywood producer accused of murdering his wife and her lover. If that's not enough, enter Detective Harry Bosch who then squares off against Mickey Haller. It's Bosch versus Haller and neither is backing down. Haller then unwittingly becomes the bait and the story really breaks loose.

"The Brass Verdict" is an enjoyable read. The narrative is strong with an intriguing storyline and the characters are woven well throughout the book. It begins a bit slow up to about page 90 giving the reader a background of all of the cases. It feels at times that you're an employee at a law firm instead of a reader. If you are a bit bored, hang in there because it definitely picks up. I would consider this book a suspense or mystery instead of a thriller.

The only downside was that I guessed a major part of what was going to happen by page 100. However, there are still some great twists to give a satisfying ending to the story. Also, to all of you Bosch fans out there, beware; he is definitely a secondary character in this story. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a great suspenseful read.

-Jennifer Chase, author of thriller "Compulsion"

posted by Jennifer_Chase on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not the Michael Connelly writer I know!

As an avid mystery reader and placing Michael Connelly in my top five authors list, I was disappointed in all aspects of this book. The character development lagged, their was a lack of humor, and the plot was not suspenseful. Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly is one...
As an avid mystery reader and placing Michael Connelly in my top five authors list, I was disappointed in all aspects of this book. The character development lagged, their was a lack of humor, and the plot was not suspenseful. Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly is one of my favorite books. I have given it as gifts and reread it myself. Here's hoping Michael's next book is up to Lincoln Lawyer standards!

posted by NovelNomad on December 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 245 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    This book had me hooked from page one! The more and more I read the harder and harder it was for me to stop. The large number of twists and turns kept me reading until two in the morning. If you are a Connelly fan I urge...or rather...DEMAND that you read this book. You will not be disappointed.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2008

    Harry Bosch and Haller, Brilliant

    Michael Connelly's 'The Brass Verdict' is, in my opinion, an amazing feat. First, let me confess that I am not a huge fan of 'lawyer' novels. That aside, I read Connelly's 'The Lincoln Lawyer' last year and was completely bowled over. With super tight plotting and no obscure judicial rumblings, Connelly deftly sliced and diced his way through a gripping tale. Now with his new book, 'The Brass Verdict', I am standing up cheering for more... yeah, you heard right. And I'm the reader who doesn't like lawyer books!<BR/><BR/>His main character, Counselor Mickey Haller is twice divorced but not bitter; likable in a principled way but willing to bend the rules and finally, he's kind of a wuss when it comes down to violence and sometimes it does come down to violence. All the supporting characters like his ex-wives, his investigator friend and even his chauffeur read like real people who help drive the plot forward, not just clichés who hang like drapes in the background. <BR/><BR/>His villains have been done before but, but what villains haven¿t? At least they ring true in the context of the story and there are always a few clever red herrings or plot twists scattered throughout, plus a few classic OMGs at the end. However, in The Brass Verdict, there's another unique twist: Harry Bosch, Connelly¿s stalwart hero in a dozen previous books, shows up as the head detective investigating a studio mogul's wife's murder. What is unusual is that we see a completely new Harry Bosch through Haller's eyes, and believe me, it's not one we've seen before, what with the "flat, cold eyes" and a nasty bag of tricks he uses to try and trick Haller into betraying the hallowed lawyer/client privilege. Things get even edgier when Haller¿s little girl wants to know why he always trys to get the bad guys out of jail, something all of us sometimes wonder about defense attorneys. There are also subplots of FBI subterfuge, mafia involvement, surfer hijinks but thankfully, no gooey love story tagged on to appease the dewy-eyed reader. <BR/><BR/>Indeed, there are a lot of courtroom scenes in this book, but they dovetail nicely into the plot and Haller's superb first person narrative plants you firmly at the defense table with all the info you need to have a pleasant and not overly taxing read. I think the verdict¿s clearly in - grab The Lincoln Lawyer first, read it, then go out and buy The Brass Verdict. You won¿t regret it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Michael Connelly Never Disappoints and this book is no exception!

    This was the first Michael Connelly book I read where the main character was not only Harry Bosch but shared by another character. It just proved to me that Michael Connelly's books are just as good regardless who his main character's are. He keeps you on the edge of your seat, and keeps you guessing all the way through the book.

    He has become one of my favorite authors. After I read the 1st Harry Bosch novel, I was hooked and proceeded to read every one of his books prior to this one.

    I cannot wait for the next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    Back in the Court Saddle Mickey Haller has taken a year off fro

    Back in the Court Saddle

    Mickey Haller has taken a year off from practicing law for personal reasons, and he's just about to come back when he gets an unusual phone call.  His friend and colleague Jerry Vincent has been murdered, and Mickey has inherited his practice.

    While the police, lead by LA detective Harry Bosch, think that one of Vincent's cases might have gotten him killed, Mickey's focus is on picking up the 31 cases that have fallen into his lap, including this year's &quot;Trial of the Century.&quot;  Walter Elliot, chairman of Archway Studios, is accused of killing his wife and her lover.  Mickey is happy with the high profile case and the income, but he's surprised by just how much Elliot wants to run the case, right down to not delaying the trial at all.  Can he will the case?  Is he in danger from Vincent's killer?

    When I read Mickey's first case several years back, I always intended to read more of them.  Now that I've read the next, I wish I hadn't waited so long.  The plot is wonderful with some surprising and brilliant twists and turns.  The characters are equally well drawn.  I love Mickey and the rest of his circle of friends.  Bosch didn't come across the best here, which is interesting since I know he stars in author Michael Connelly's other series.  At some point, I'll have to get more background on him.

    If you just saw the movie and haven't moved on, don't hesitate.  This book will have you turning pages far into the night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    The brass Verdict

    By far the best noval of the whole series. As usual the ending had all sorts of twists and turns. Next up, The Black Box.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Can not put down any Michael Connelly book, period.

    I do not remember since Honore De Balzac," which I am fond of"
    will keep me sleepless to finish his master pieces. As a fact
    everyone of his books qualifies for this distinction.
    I live with the characters,I feel what they feel and they are
    so realistic the way presented to readers.
    Are we in heaven or what?.
    I have amassed all his books and proud of my collection.
    Any connection you may have with him,please give my utmost
    respects for the way he spins all his plots.
    Respectfully yours.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Another good one !

    Great plot, with a few interesting twist along the way. Well worth your time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This was an immensely enjoyable book . . .

    I would be willing to say that I think Michael Connelly is one of the best mystery/crime/courtroom drama writers in the world. His book are always well thought out, expertly written, and very engaging to the reader. I finished this book in record time as I was trapped between the pages from beginning to end. I almost feel like I need to re-read THE LINCOLN LAWYER to remember correctly what happened to Mickey Haller. I liked the suprise revealed between Mickey Haller and Harry Bosch near the books end. I am eagerly awaiting the author's next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    Connelly Does it again!

    I was asked to read an excerpt several months ago, and was so captivated that I could hardly wait for the book to be released. If you liked the Lincoln Lawyer, you will love this one. Connelly's characters are so interesting and off-beat, that it takes the reader on a great journey, both personally and story wise

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoyed the story as I have in all of Michael Connelly books. I would highly recommended "The Brass Verdict" It is hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Enjoyable and easy read

    Like this series, interesting legal ins and outs and not filled with graphic violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    loved this book.

    As always, Michael Connelly keeps me spell bound throughout the entire book. Read as fast as I can, and then am sorry when it is over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent story crafting and segue to the finish.

    Haller is a lawyer who has had some rough experience and come through it, ready to try again to be a defense attorney. His practice gets an injection by dint of a friend being murdered in the parking garage. His major case out of the batch he receives is one who insists on pushing for trial with no delay. Because he has no notes, Haller has to build the case file from the notes in the file on his client, and on interviews with the assistant and his client. With only two weeks to prepare, he has a tough job, and manages to come up with a viable defense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Great book

    Great read, fun having Bosch in story too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I read many of Michael Connnelly books and they are all the type of books that grab your attention right away. When I have to put them down, I feel like I am pausing a movie. Brass Verdict I read in mid August and here late September I have since read The Reversal, The Fifth Witness and The Drop. I am looking forward to Gods of Guilt coming out in December.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This was my first Michael Connelly book -- very good. Kept me interested, great characters and a story that kept me guessing all the way through!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Connelly does not fail

    This is an excellent, fast paced novel. Woven into the story is an insight into the legal practice and courtroom drama which Connelly keep moving and keeps your interest. Harry Bosch makes a cameo and reveals a twist at the end. Well worth reading - I highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Extremely well done. (I'll give it a twelve out of ten !).

    I've read quite few of Connelly's efforts including the Harry Bosch series and the Mickey Haller series. All great works.

    Now he's combined both of these characters; "the correct description for these two", and he's hit it out of the park.

    Connelly is one of my top half dozen favorite authors. As long as they continue to produce as they have been..., the rest can retire.

    As for the Writing Tips; Most adventerous men / I have / Certainly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Ass kicking super awesome story

    People who read this story will cbe aw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Great book

    Terrific story lots of surprises

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 245 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13