Customer Reviews for

Brava, Strega Nona!: A Heartwarming Pop-Up Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    A work of art

    This pop-up should be sold with art books as well as with children's books, it is so incredible. The beautiful Tomie dePaola artwork is enhanced by the 3-Dimensional presentation. I heard dePaola's interview on National Public Radio, and learned that behind-the-scenes this book was the work of many others, including the 3-D specialists credited and hand-assemblers who get no credit. I wouldn't give it directly to a very young child, though: unfolding this glorious work needs to be supervised by adults. For both children and adults, familiarity with the Strega Nona picture book stories will multipy the appeal of this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bravo for 'Brava'

    Charming book. Excellent pop ups. My children are mesmoriezed everytime I read it to them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Awesome Book!!

    I wish that I had a pop-up book like this when I was little. My daughter loves it and I think it was well worth the money . I was very impressed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Great book

    What an amazing book. Great keepsake and book for the entire family to learn from.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Brava Strega Nona!

    Although this book was purchased as a gift, I could not part with it. The illustrations and the use of pop-up as an art is delightful and fantastical. A prize for anyone who loves paper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    Just a nadorable and sweet gift. Loved by the people who received it. A keepsake.

    Colorful and most entertaining presentation of this classic story with simple & interesting explanation of Nona's development. A fabulous gift & keepsake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    A great celebration of life

    I have given this book as a gift on a number of occasions and it is always a hit. It is full of wonder for adults let alone children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Always loved Strega Nona

    My children and grandchildren have always loved Strega Nona, but I bought this book for me. Sabuda and Reinhart have to be the Michaelangelos of the pop-up book genre, and this example is outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A beautiful work of art!

    I sent this book to a friend in Italy who collects the pop-up books of Robert Sabuda and Matthew Reinhart. He was extremely happy with this particular selection and highly recommends it to others who love good pop-up art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Brava Strega Nona

    Tomie dePaola has outdone himself on this one. What a team dePaola and Sabuda make. I've shown it to so many people already, I hope it's still in good condition to give as the gift I had initially intended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sabuda Does it Again

    This book is a great introduction to the paper pop-up creations of Robert Sabuda. Paired with Tomie de Paola's fascinating character Strega Nona this book is a winner for young and old. Taking us back to the basics of life and what is important. Brava Strega Nona teaches everyone important lessons about family, friends and community and how to become the best you can be. The pop-ups are incredible, talk about a familly tree or a village celebration. This book was loved by my son's class when he took it in for show and tell. His teacher especially enjoyed it. This book is enjoyable for anyone to read because the lessons we are reminded of can be appreciated by everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Bravo for Brava, Strego Nona!

    This pop-up book is incredible! It is intricate and complete. There is no upper age limit on this work of art, but probably is not for the very young child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Beautiful

    This is a book to share with your children, grandchildren, and all of their children

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1