Customer Reviews for

Brava, Valentine (Valentine Trilogy #2)

Average Rating 4
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

BRAVA, TRIGIANI!

......and I thought it couldn't get any better! VERY VALENTINE, this trilogy's first installment was definitely five stars-good but BRAVA, VALENTINE is at least a 7-plus-er!

Valentine Roncalli, "Angelini Shoes since 1903" entrepreneur crawls, walks and sometimes run...
......and I thought it couldn't get any better! VERY VALENTINE, this trilogy's first installment was definitely five stars-good but BRAVA, VALENTINE is at least a 7-plus-er!

Valentine Roncalli, "Angelini Shoes since 1903" entrepreneur crawls, walks and sometimes runs through life in Greenwich Village, Tuscany and Argentina. Along the way
life is interesting, insightful and entertaining. Her strong desire to survive in her chosen,
handed down career propels her to branch out into mass shoe production from her custom made wedding shoes line. In this novel Ms. Trigiani presents us with a multi-dimensional work of art similar to Val's shoes designs.

As in her other novels, or perhaps more so in this one, poetry abounds in this author's
description of everything we read except for the hilarious dialogue that goes on between the colorful characters in Val's life.

With a long lost cousin rediscovered in Buenos Aires intrigue is interjected in the story
line.

An affair and two potential divorces and Clickety Click's rant - or is it Cluckety Clack"? we have dra-ma! Adding to that is June, a treasured long time employee who
has at it with her direct assessment of the Roncalli family. She swings with both fists!

80 year old Gram's wedding in Tuscany to her long time love, Dominic, would have been relatively uneventful if not for her sister the lush, Aunt Feen.

We are privvy to Valentine's past love, Bret and to Valentina's present love, Gianluca. All things considered life would be easier with her "husband" Gabe who's a great decorator and cook and more importantly a trusted confidant. Gianluca is European but
unprogressive though maybe he's gettin' with it - he acquired a Blackberry the last time I looked. I'm not giving my blessing if she chooses Gianluca since he is old world
schooled and she is young, progressive, determined and focused. The ring is lovely but it's not too late to say, "No"!

When a man loses his job he becomes "nicer" and more cooperative it seems. Alfred, Val's brother and new business partner is no longer the domineering know-it-all. He's now an asset to the business but maybe not to himself.

I've said enough here and recommend you read BRAVA, VALENTINE for yourself. Trust
me, you'll love it!

posted by imarose on December 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing. Lacks depth and meaning.

This book is missing something, a lot. It lacks depth and meaning. Seemed rushed as the story and characters were severely underdeveloped. This feels like a placeholder for the third book and quite frankly commercial. Very disappointed. I was very much looking forward ...
This book is missing something, a lot. It lacks depth and meaning. Seemed rushed as the story and characters were severely underdeveloped. This feels like a placeholder for the third book and quite frankly commercial. Very disappointed. I was very much looking forward to the sequel as I loved "Very Valentine" and all of Ms. Trigiani's book. I have given several of them as gifts and am always hoping to discover a book I haven't yet read. Is this the last Adriana Trigiani book I read? Could be.

I think the sequel is riding the coat tails of "Very Valentine" and all of the other books. Sorry, this isn't worth the praise, attention or the read. I couldn't wait to find out what was next for Valentine, but I feel that reading the book didn't take us into Valentine's life, rather it was just an update that we could have gotten from reading a summary of the book. Unlike all of the preceding books, this book doesn't draw you into the characters or the story. There's no connection. I am no longer interested in Valentine's story.

Get back to basics - focus on the books and not the screen plays.

posted by mdlc on February 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    BRAVA, TRIGIANI!

    ......and I thought it couldn't get any better! VERY VALENTINE, this trilogy's first installment was definitely five stars-good but BRAVA, VALENTINE is at least a 7-plus-er!

    Valentine Roncalli, "Angelini Shoes since 1903" entrepreneur crawls, walks and sometimes runs through life in Greenwich Village, Tuscany and Argentina. Along the way
    life is interesting, insightful and entertaining. Her strong desire to survive in her chosen,
    handed down career propels her to branch out into mass shoe production from her custom made wedding shoes line. In this novel Ms. Trigiani presents us with a multi-dimensional work of art similar to Val's shoes designs.

    As in her other novels, or perhaps more so in this one, poetry abounds in this author's
    description of everything we read except for the hilarious dialogue that goes on between the colorful characters in Val's life.

    With a long lost cousin rediscovered in Buenos Aires intrigue is interjected in the story
    line.

    An affair and two potential divorces and Clickety Click's rant - or is it Cluckety Clack"? we have dra-ma! Adding to that is June, a treasured long time employee who
    has at it with her direct assessment of the Roncalli family. She swings with both fists!

    80 year old Gram's wedding in Tuscany to her long time love, Dominic, would have been relatively uneventful if not for her sister the lush, Aunt Feen.

    We are privvy to Valentine's past love, Bret and to Valentina's present love, Gianluca. All things considered life would be easier with her "husband" Gabe who's a great decorator and cook and more importantly a trusted confidant. Gianluca is European but
    unprogressive though maybe he's gettin' with it - he acquired a Blackberry the last time I looked. I'm not giving my blessing if she chooses Gianluca since he is old world
    schooled and she is young, progressive, determined and focused. The ring is lovely but it's not too late to say, "No"!

    When a man loses his job he becomes "nicer" and more cooperative it seems. Alfred, Val's brother and new business partner is no longer the domineering know-it-all. He's now an asset to the business but maybe not to himself.

    I've said enough here and recommend you read BRAVA, VALENTINE for yourself. Trust
    me, you'll love it!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I read the first Valentine book and couldn't wait to start Brava Valentine. It did not disapoint. I was laughing out loud and then a few pages crying real tears. The characters are wonderful. I miss them already

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    Love Trigiani!

    If you are a fan of Adriana Trigiani, this book will not disappoint! Everything she writes is rich, engaging and lovely to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    Love this one so much that I am hoping for a thrid!

    I couldn't put this or Very Valentine down. These are amazing books and Adriana Trigiani is an amazing author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I got to go to Gram's Wedding! You can Too!

    Who doesn't love the Roncalli and Angelini families? I was thrilled to find their return in Adriana Trigiani's new book, "Brava Valentine" and to wrap up some of the unfinished story lines from her preceding book, "Very Valentine".

    What a treat to go to Gram's lovely wedding in Tuscany, then back through the streets of Greenwich Village and Little Italy, and back again to the gorgeous Isle of Capri, and even an unexpected visit to Buenos Aires. You'll feel as if you just returned from an international travel adventure of your own with old friends and some new ones and your very own romance with GianLuca, the old school romantic that could only exist in a novel like this!

    You'll grow attached to this family and roll with laughter over the colorful dialogue and hilarious holiday situations. It's not all a fairy-tale though - you'll shed a tear or two as the family faces some of their own challenges and obstacles, love is challenged, and loss is encountered.

    You'll gasp, cry, and cheer out loud! You'll root for you favorite characters and their relationships. And if you're like me, you'll chant, "Bravo!" in the end. BRAVO! BRAVO! BRAVO! This book will not disappoint. Highly recommended. Can't wait for the third book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Waiting for the third in the series!

    Read this book - it is well written, has a believable plot and holds your interest. The first book in the series, VERY VALENTINE, was wonderful,too. I hope MS. Trigiani will finish the valentine series soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    A Fun Book

    I was not so crazy for the first book Very Valentine. Though I love all Ms. Trigiani's other books, especially Lucia Lucia. Brava Valentine was much more enjoyable. Ms. Trigiani developed Valentine much better in the second book. Valentine had more character and was much more interesting. She brought out the the brother Alfred more and less on the grandmother. Great interest with the lost family in Argentina. Thought was very interesting how Ms. Trigiani showed the prejudices of some members of her family. The second trilogy was much more interesting than the first book. Can't wait to see what happens next with Gianaluca. Also, I love her gay friend. Was sad to see what happened to June. Funny Thanksgiving scene.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it.

    Personally, I thought this sequel to Very Valentine was better than the first....I thought the main character (Valentine) brought a lot more insight into her developing character this time, and was sorry to see it end. I, too, hope there is a third novel installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    Touching and Romantic!

    I enjoy all of Adriana's books. She has done a lot of research in the making of shoes for both of the "Valentine" books. She has a special way of touching the human heart, with Grandma's marriage, and Valentine's struggle to find herself. I hated to see the story end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    Great Fun Reading - Loved It

    I loved this book, being of Italian American dissent, I could relate to this family. I read Brava Valentine first, now I'm reading Very Valentine. Love them both, can't wait for the third installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Brava Valentine is the second in her new series featuring Valentine Roncalli and the Angelini Shoe Company. It debuted at #7 on the New York Times Best Seller List.

    Welcome back to the bosom of the Roncalli's and to the Angelini Shoe Company. We start out in Italy where gram (Teodora) is getting married, and a miracle happened, it snowed, which rarely happens in Tuscany. But the good luck stops there when Teodora announces that Valentine's older brother and nemesis, Alfred will be partnering with her in the new era of Angelini Shoes. Life has a way of vomiting all over Valentine and this latest installation of her life under the microscope is no different. There are changes coming for Valentine, some good, some not so good.
    Adriana's second in the series of Valentine Roncalli will wow you. I think it's even better than the first, maybe because we already know the major players and are comfortable in the knowing. Her plot for this episode of the perils of Valentine is classic family drama but it's the way she tells it that makes it such a joy to read and experience. And you will experience it, with her unique form of entertaining and description her dialogue will effortlessly take you from the hills of Tuscany to the Island of Manhattan where she will captivate you with her amazing ability to make you laugh, cry and just simply participate in the lives of these amazing life like characters. And let's talk about her characters, we go from the bold and the beautiful to the bizarre and from the meek to the boisterous as she intimates us to them. And it's very obvious that she knows these people well by the way she makes them come to life for her readers. This is a love story as well as a dramatic piece of literary fiction and she handles the love scenes with finesse and charm.
    This is a must read on anyone's list who enjoys big time family spectacles, for anyone who enjoys going from tears to laughter in an instant and anyone who love well written fiction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    Something is missing

    I love Adriana Trigiani but something was missing from this book. It almost seemed as if she rushed the ending and skipped over parts to finish sooner. I'm assuming there will be another Valentine book to follow but Brava Valentine shouldn't have been rushed. The book was fun and lighthearted and if you are a Trigiani fan, worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I'm in love.....

    I must admit first off Adriana Trigiani is my favorite author with my heart belonging to Lucia Lucia, but this reminds me so much of that book its a very close second!!! I was so excited to read this book once I got into the first chapter I couldn't put it down but did not want to rush through and for the story to end. I think its the romance and the letters throughout that had me gushing over the characters. Such a great read, love the family, love the story, love, Love, LOVE IT!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Had to get this after reading Very Valentine

    I loved how the author tied in her heritage with beautiful imagery of Italy and Italian people. She gave me a view of the passion that goes with great craftsmanship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Good Read

    Found this to be a good read for a rainy day or a rerun night on tv. enjoyed it very much. It was the first time i have read this author and looking forward for many more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    rehash

    I loveed Very Valentine, but Brava Valentine was kind of a rehash of the original. Kind of a continuation without the character development. It was entertaining though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    Disappointing. Lacks depth and meaning.

    This book is missing something, a lot. It lacks depth and meaning. Seemed rushed as the story and characters were severely underdeveloped. This feels like a placeholder for the third book and quite frankly commercial. Very disappointed. I was very much looking forward to the sequel as I loved "Very Valentine" and all of Ms. Trigiani's book. I have given several of them as gifts and am always hoping to discover a book I haven't yet read. Is this the last Adriana Trigiani book I read? Could be.

    I think the sequel is riding the coat tails of "Very Valentine" and all of the other books. Sorry, this isn't worth the praise, attention or the read. I couldn't wait to find out what was next for Valentine, but I feel that reading the book didn't take us into Valentine's life, rather it was just an update that we could have gotten from reading a summary of the book. Unlike all of the preceding books, this book doesn't draw you into the characters or the story. There's no connection. I am no longer interested in Valentine's story.

    Get back to basics - focus on the books and not the screen plays.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    BRAVA, VALENTINE

    Only Adriana Trigiani can write a story as eloquent and real as Brava, Valentine. In this sequel to 'Very Valentine' the fun continues with the Roncalli and Angelini families who capture life in all its good and bad and brings together family, friends and lovers into the open and transports the reader into the pages and melts them into the words on the page.

    In the opening Teodora, Valentine's 80-year-old beloved Grandmother, marries her long time love, Dominic under the beautiful Tuscan sun. Following the wedding nuptials, Teodora drops the bombshell on Valentine that she has named Alfred, Valentine's only brother, as her new partner in the Angelini Shoe Company. Distraught and overcome with shock, Valentine turns to the sexy tanner Gianluca for comfort but soon realizes that a long distance romance between Italy and Greenwich Village will never work out and returns home to Greenwich Village.

    Once home, Valentine allows her best friend and confidante Gabriel Biondi to move in with her at the Shoe Company. Gabriel systematically begins to transform the home he's now sharing with Valentine into something resembling a home show photo shoot.

    In the meantime, Valentine flies off to South America to meet a cousin she'd never met before who owns and operates a shoe factory. While there she uncovers a long buried family secret that once revealed threatens to rip apart the Roncalli family, a family already adept at the game of argument. No one family is as skilled at arguing as the Roncalli's. Is this secret going to tear this family apart once and for all?

    This novel is like opening a box of chocolates then sitting down and savouring each and every single morsel. I can't wait for the next instalment!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    To princeton

    Hi im natalie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Interesting

    Not bad, not great... but an easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11